We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Albury hotels

Rydges Albury

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Chifley Albury Hotel )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rydges Albury to your Saves list
Rydges Albury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
49%
Ranked #22 of 31 hotels in Albury
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
RookyLakeBolac Lake Bolac
  • Overview
  • Reviews (229)
  • Photos (51)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    82
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
32
71
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bolac
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here 3 nights last week.Renovations nine to five are totally intrusive, maybe wait until they are finished. I have stayed at this hotel for over 35 years under various names. Also the parking area needs attention and some sort of security.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here the last 2 nights on the top floor, known as the executive floor. This was our 2nd visit. We had a nice view from the room, and the location is excellent, located near the local shopping centres and restaurants. Our only complaints are the parking. I understand it is at your own risk, however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical of what one would expect with Rydges. That is, you know what you are going to get generally. Clean, comfortable rooms and decent restaurant / bar in the lobby. Very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. The rooms are starting to look a bit tired, but still clean and comfortable and a good size. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Rydges Albury. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the friendly service from our team and that you enjoyed being in the heart of Albury. The views from the 6th or 7th floor rooms overlooking Dean Street are wonderful aren't they!... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. The furniture has just done its job and doesn't owe the owners a single dollar... They have gotten their money of that investment 20-30 years ago. The soft furnishings are just dated...clean but from another era. It's a very noisy property with lots of door banging and voices from the corridor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rydges Albury. It is true, the hotel is tired as you mentioned and for this reason we are thrilled to announce that since your stay, we have commenced a full refurbishment of the ground floor and guest rooms due to be completed in December this... More

Riverina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is based more on the package deal we got through Wotif - it was $239 for a queen room, 3 course meal in the restaurant and full breakfast. I thought this was pretty good value. We enjoyed our meal, there were only about 6 of each course on the menu but it was very hard to choose and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rydges Albury. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the dinner, bed and breakfast package we offer and the friendly service and food from our team during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again next... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly you expect your heating to work at the temperature you want. Reception control the temp of your room so no point in having a control panel in the room. What? Approaching staff at reception does not work. Do not stay here. They do not deserve anyone's hard earned money. Woeful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rydges Albury. I am shocked to hear of your disappointing experience during your stay with us. As I am sure you can appreciate, Rydges Hotels pride themselves in going above and beyond for our guests and sadly we have not done this for you this time.... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last Monday night on our way back from Victoria. Once I walked in I wanted to leave but since the room was prepaid, I tough it out. Staff were ok, not rude or anything but on check in gave the opinion they didn't want to be there. The lifts are slow and took several attempts to leave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Rydges Albury. With regards to the hotel being tired as you mentioned, we are aware of this and hence are thrilled to announce that we are currently in the process of undergoing a refurbishment of the ground floor and guest rooms due to be completed... More

Melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can't believe Rydges put their name to this tired, clapped out property. The rooms are like stepping back into the early 1990's, with the exception that the TV is thinner! The bathroom is outdated and dirty, with stained tile grout, and on old fashioned shower over the bath, complete with shower curtain! Carpets are worn, and the lift foyers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at Rydges Albury. Firstly, I am shocked to hear of your disappointing experience during your stay with us. As I am sure you can appreciate, Rydges Hotels pride themselves in going above and beyond for our guests and sadly we have not... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

family get together, started well with happy hour, went out for tea the club bed and breakfast next day. great location walked everywhere. rydges staff great and friendly, very helpful with recommendations on places to eat. john eccleston

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you kindly for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Rydges Albury, we really appreciate it - I am very pleased to hear of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon! Warm regards, Jodi Brown General Manager More

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel on my way down to Melbourne to catch the Spirit of Tasmania. The hotel staff were friendly and the service was good. My room was comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is located across the road from the Commercial club. This is good as you can either dine at the hotel (which looked inviting) or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodi B, General Manager at Rydges Albury, responded to this review

Good afternoon! Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Rydges Albury. It is wonderful to hear of your experience and lovely feedback on the staff here - I will be sure to pass this on to them. You are correct, we are thrilled to be commencing our refurbishment next month... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rydges Albury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Albury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Albury

Address: 648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Chifley Albury Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Albury 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Albury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel Albury

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Albury with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Albury is located just off the main highway in the central business district of Albury. It is within walking distance from licensed clubs,restaurants and shops in the CBD. For those seeking a bit more adventure, wineries, golf courses and History and Cultural Trails are all close at hand. Offering comfortable accommodation in the Albury-Wodonga area, the hotel features outstanding facilities and services including on-site dining, around the clock room service, heated swimming pool and Complimentary WI-FI in every guest room. The complimentary WI-FI is also available in all conference rooms and public areas within the hotel.For those planning a conference or meeting, the Rydges Albury can accommodate events from 12 – 200 people, with banquet seating up to 150. Let our expert catering staff prepare specially themed dinners or a relaxing lunch poolside. Guests travelling for leisure appreciate available off street parking and 24 hour reception making us the ideal stop over for the late visitor. Rydges is also the only Hotel in Albury with 11 am checkout times, which will assist with those who like to sleep in. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
140

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Albury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer