We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Vista Motel
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice tidy motel as you arrive into Westport.Good Reception with good advise of what to do.Very clean Unit with Microwave etc.A bit noisy during day but by 6pm very quiet.Walking distance to the township of about 5 minutes.On main street close to all shops and Restaurants .Close to takeaway shops and supermarket.Overall very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Graeme, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated. We look forward to having you stay again sometime. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Run of the mill motel, nothing to complain about but on the other had nothing to rave over. Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable. However do not take the breakfast option as this is delivered to your room and is vastly overpriced. Several motels in the area for meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Maurice, thank you for your comments, we appreciate any feedback. Beds are a personal choice, we all have different opinions on which is the right bed. Your comment about the breakfasts we always give our guests the option to have breakfast at a café if they do not want it delivered to their unit. With your last comment did... More 

Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifully clean and well presented rooms. We had a spa bath suite and there was lots of space, good accessories too. The owners were very helpful pointing out local restaurants and a takeaway shop. Would certainly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are only to happy to be of assistance in some way if we can. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This has to be one of the top 4 of the 15 Bella Vista motels we stayed at during our recent tour of the South Island. The welcome we received from our hosts was very genuine. The units were not only clean and comfortable but were also bright and airy and they contained everything, and more, than one would expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Your kind comments are much appreciated and we look forward to having you stay again one day. Here's hoping you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We weren't expecting to stay in Westport a second night but drove back from visiting waterfalls in the north and went to Bella Vista because we wanted to stay somewhere different from the night before (Spa Motel). Our room was surprisingly large for a Bella Vista. All the usual quality/service we expect from the chain. We walked to dinner from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Pleased we were able to have you stay another night in Westport. Hoping the remainder of your holiday was enjoyable. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Christchurch
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We booked in at very short notice for an overnight during a brief trip from Christchurch. Wonderful welcome and a most clean and comfortable unit with a separate room for our travelling companion. Would recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Was a pleasure having you to stay with us, we do appreciate your comments. Happy New Year Marilyn & Trevor More 

Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was a long day travelling to Westport from Kaikoura, but it was great to get to our motel, the Bella Vista. We were just staying one night, but for my wife and I plus our 3 children it was a great motel and very good value. It is located right near everything in town and the staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. Very much appreciated. We hope the rest of your journey was enjoyable. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We love Bella Vista Motels, we always stay with them as our first choice, the rooms & comfort are consistent and the Hosts are always welcoming and helpful. Bella Vista Westport was no exception, the room was so nice, furniture comfortable and shower awesome, thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to you visiting again. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked a Compact Queen Studio room and compact it was!! We first had to put a small bed table into the bathroom and the Office Chair on the spot of the bed table before we had room to store our suitcases in the little room. Then we had to pick the necessary stuff out of our suitcases and stored... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for staying with us on your visit to Westport. As you have said the Compact studio is compact, these studios do not suit everyone's needs. While we do not have luggage racks in these studios the wardrobe is large enough to take a suitcase and there are drawers for storage. We do offer some free internet to... More 

Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The place is conveniently located and has plenty of easy parking space. All the facilities I needed were here and the hosts were pleasant. However being on a main intersection the room at night was noisier than I recalled from my last visit. The water pressure in the shower was very good and a big plus. A minor point but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your kind comments, we were pleased to have you stay with us again. We do have breakfast menus in the back of our compendiums in each unit. Generally we do mention breakfasts on check in. We look forward to being of service to you again sometime. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question