We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

314 Palmerston Street | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Vista Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    25
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
32
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove into westport late and this was the first place we dropped into. They gave us a two bedroom apartment for the fir of us. It was warm and comfortable a welcome site after a long wet drive. The owners were lovely and when they dropped fresh milk in they also fave us a plate of yummy homemade shortbread.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello We think you have reviewed the wrong property and that you stayed at another motel, can you check your receipts as to where you stayed. Marilyn Bella Vista Motel Westport More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight business trip, me and a small overnight bag. Greeting was welcoming and room clean but far too small for todays standards. Tiny work space and 'kitchen' area, small chair, cupboard and bed took up the room. No place to put my small bag except the chair. The room felt cramped just with one person. Heater... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to make a comment. Some of our studios are compact and don't suit everyone's needs, we do have larger units with cooking options. Our guests sometimes use the wardrobe to put their bags/cases in. We look forward to having you stay again in the future. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Very average. To be fair we arrived on a wet day - and cold for us. The room was extremely cold and gloomy so we turned the heater on. This was rather old and noisy and right next to the bed ...roared away and then the thermostat kicked in ...then it would roar away again etc. etc .... When the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We understand the heater issue. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Nice tidy motel as you arrive into Westport.Good Reception with good advise of what to do.Very clean Unit with Microwave etc.A bit noisy during day but by 6pm very quiet.Walking distance to the township of about 5 minutes.On main street close to all shops and Restaurants .Close to takeaway shops and supermarket.Overall very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Graeme, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated. We look forward to having you stay again sometime. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Run of the mill motel, nothing to complain about but on the other had nothing to rave over. Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable. However do not take the breakfast option as this is delivered to your room and is vastly overpriced. Several motels in the area for meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Maurice, thank you for your comments, we appreciate any feedback. Beds are a personal choice, we all have different opinions on which is the right bed. Your comment about the breakfasts we always give our guests the option to have breakfast at a café if they do not want it delivered to their unit. With your last comment did... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

Beautifully clean and well presented rooms. We had a spa bath suite and there was lots of space, good accessories too. The owners were very helpful pointing out local restaurants and a takeaway shop. Would certainly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are only to happy to be of assistance in some way if we can. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This has to be one of the top 4 of the 15 Bella Vista motels we stayed at during our recent tour of the South Island. The welcome we received from our hosts was very genuine. The units were not only clean and comfortable but were also bright and airy and they contained everything, and more, than one would expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Your kind comments are much appreciated and we look forward to having you stay again one day. Here's hoping you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We weren't expecting to stay in Westport a second night but drove back from visiting waterfalls in the north and went to Bella Vista because we wanted to stay somewhere different from the night before (Spa Motel). Our room was surprisingly large for a Bella Vista. All the usual quality/service we expect from the chain. We walked to dinner from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Pleased we were able to have you stay another night in Westport. Hoping the remainder of your holiday was enjoyable. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We booked in at very short notice for an overnight during a brief trip from Christchurch. Wonderful welcome and a most clean and comfortable unit with a separate room for our travelling companion. Would recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Was a pleasure having you to stay with us, we do appreciate your comments. Happy New Year Marilyn & Trevor More 

Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was a long day travelling to Westport from Kaikoura, but it was great to get to our motel, the Bella Vista. We were just staying one night, but for my wife and I plus our 3 children it was a great motel and very good value. It is located right near everything in town and the staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. Very much appreciated. We hope the rest of your journey was enjoyable. Marilyn & Trevor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Westport Motor Hotel
Westport Motor Hotel
#10 of 10 in Westport
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#1 of 10 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#4 of 10 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Buller Court on Palmerston
#2 of 10 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bazil's Hostel
Bazil's Hostel
#1 of 8 in Westport
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay