We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast

228 Milford Rd., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

My Japanese wife and I stumbled on this little piece of heaven when visiting Te Anau in the lower South Island The hosts Keiko & Kevin were the friendliest couple we met during our entire stay in beautiful NZ, nothing was a problem to them, their suggestions for Fiordland excursions were perfect and arranged to miss the busiest times, listen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We were staying in a cottage with 1 bedroom for a night in January 2015. Our cottage is surrounded by beautiful flowers. The cottage is very clean and homely feel. Our 2 kids below 8 were sleeping in the big living area with 2 single beds. The beds were so comfy that I felt asleep right after we checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

This is a well-kept place. Hosts were helpful. It was a bit expensive, and you have to pay for extra things like you get some wifi free but then have to pay for more, have to pay to use the hot tub. The only breakfast available was the $25 Japanese breakfast, and nothing else close by, though the rooms do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Just need to correct a few things here. These people stayed in the lowest priced self contained accommodation available-that's why they booked with us. We do charge for the hot tub and make no apology for doing so. We don't charge for wi fi but if you use up the data on the access voucher we provide(200 MB) and pay... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I stayed here for three nights, in the Bara Cottage, as part of a 29 day trip on the South Island. The Bara cottage is ideal for a solo traveler or a couple; it has a private entrance and is quiet and peaceful. The hosts are casual, friendly, and helpful. Kevin is also a booking agent for local tours (including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

The issue with our 'overgrown driveway' is probably more of a case of the reviewers driving ability-you could drive a 10 tonne truck up our drive! It's the 1st time that we've heard of the Zenbu internet access vouchers being 'unwieldy & clunky to use' You are given a voucher with an access code that you enter into the sites... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We were delighted with our stay at Keiko's Cottages. Both our hosts - Kevin and Keiko - could not have been more helpful and between Keiko's fabulous Japanese breakfast and Kevin's organizing our our day trip to Doubtful Sound (and his great advice on where to stop during our car ride to Milford Sound) we were in good hands! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Jerri D, nice to have guests that appreciate our efforts in our small piece of paradise. Hope to see you back again sometime. Keiko & Kevin More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed our stay, clean rooms, good location and Kevin and Keiko really went out of their way to help us. Kevin helped organise lots of things for us which he didn't have to do so massive thank you fro me and Emma and we would definitely stay again. Our only regret is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Emma & Daniel, nice to have you stay with us and hope you enjoyed the cruise and walking the Routeburn Track. Love to have you back. Keiko & Kevin More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Staying at Keiko's B&B was the highlight of our honeymoon. We loved Keiko and Kevin. They were so warm and fun to talk with and above all such characters. :) I could talk to Keiko for hours (although it may help that I speak Japanese as well). I looooooved the Japanese breakfasts that Keiko made. They were really incredible -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Lovely guests that trusted us to book some different excursions that are a little off the mainstream but are really quite special. We had a great time with you chatting over a few glasses of wine. See you soon Keiko & Kevin More 

Raymond Terrace, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

What an experience. Local knowledge and hospitality are a hallmark of Keiko and Kevin. Made our stay so easy with excellent accommodation and recommendations of things to do and see. After our first breakfast we wouldn't go anywhere else. Transportation to where we wanted to go was organised and they know the locals so we had a ball with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, it pretty well sum's up what we offer here. Keiko & Kevin More 

Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We spent three nights in Keiko's Cottages during an unseasonably cool late spring when we were the only guests 2 of the 3 nights. The gardens are exceptionally lovely; we wished the weather had been better so that we could have enjoyed them even more. The cottages are not new or modern, but rather comfortable. Our's had a very large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that Elaine found her accommodation here lacked 'charm' and wonder what we can do to improve things to her standard. The 'pricey breakfast' was Keiko's beautiful Japanese style and we charged Elaine and her partner $26 pp, if served as a dinner in a restaurant it would be considered outstanding value-just show's you can't please everyone. If... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Our stay here was lovely. Our room was very tidy and the bed super comfy! We enjoyed sitting in the little courtyard outside our room in the sunshine It is very quiet and peaceful here and walking distance to the township and lake. Keiko and Kevin were very kind, sweet and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeikoandKevin, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Always nice to have Kiwi's staying with us, thanks Keiko & Kevin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Blue Ridge Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#6 of 29 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities