We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Anau Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
52, Howden St, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Te Anau Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Looking forward to the charmingly described property we were taken aback by the small room we were allocated, that is The Music Room. The space was tiny, the bathroom minute, and get few amenities provided. Slightly made up by the kind hospitality of Karl,the manager, and there was tea, coffee, cakes and wine complimentary. However, notices of plumbing and doors... More 

Helpful?
Thank GurdonGolfer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were quite taken aback by how basic and tired this lodge was. We were surprised that their was no shampoo or conditioner in the bathrooms but there were ear plugs! We went to bed early as we had an early start the next day and discovered why we needed earplugs. You can hear everything the people in the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathyt1961
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Pro This is a very old building - former convent with original pieces and parts including furniture. Hence the charm. The dining hall is very special and unique. The caretakers are most helpful, friendly and kind. Breakfast was ample and good. Wine and cake for tea time and evening are available for free. It is well located and a 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel4Joy
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This warm and inviting former convent provides a gracious and welcoming atmosphere in which to relax and enjoy this beautiful area. The hosts went way beyond expectations in helping with activities and schedules. There were always sweet treats and coffee/tea and even wine available in the library, true home-like touches. Our room had lovely views and a comfy bed; the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jules33450
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! More 

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent two weeks driving around South Island for our honeymoon and the Te Anau Lodge was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Every single thing about it, from its super friendly manager Karl Lamb to its vintage-chic living room upstairs to its precious little rooms just drips with old world charm. Let's not forget... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnThangaraj
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

John thank you for such a wonderful review. The lodge values are traditional hospitality in a tranquil environment. Your description of your stay shows we met them during your stay with us on your honeymoon. More 

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrific! After traveling around NZ for three weeks, staying at this lodge was a treat. Carl and George could not have been more helpful. They are truly gracious hosts. We stayed in the Bishops Retreat which is not in the main building. Very clean and comfortable for three nights. Convenient to Milford and Doubtful Sounds as well as an excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy011351
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you with us and it is always nice when guests are able to stay for several days as they get the most both out their stay at the Lodge and in all the activities that can be done on the Te Anau & Fiordland area. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just spent four nights here and it was a great experience, Carl the manager made us feel most welcome and was always on hand to offer advice and suggestions . His restaurant recommendation was spot on . Our room in this converted convent had a stunning view over the lake and mountains. Breakfast was freshly cooked and each day... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueE794
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review at Te Anau Lodge we always feel like we have succeeded when a guest says that they felt at home while staying with us. Sharing our local knowledge be it a restaurant recommendation or what a trip might offer you is all part of the service. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This spot is a hoot! It is an old nunnery, converted to a B&B. We stayed in the Mother Superior's old room, which is right by the front door - so she could hear anyone coming in or out late at night. They have wonderful grounds. Great time. Wonderful breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us. The history of the Lodge is part of what makes the Lodge so special, many guests have made comments about it's past and enjoy the chance to say they have stayed in a convent. More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here while visiting the sounds. Unfortunately we were super busy but did get to experience the fantastic facilities that is the te anau lodge. The rooms were comfortable and after a busy day was exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms in the lodge are amazing. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Karl... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Luke for your kind words, our team at Te Anau Lodge do enjoy helping our guests make the most of their stay, even if it is only a short one. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon in New Zealand. We had to postpone for an emergency, and ended up in New Zealand in September, right when the ski season was winding down and right before Spring/Summer season was picking up. We got very lucky with the timing - we were not generally impeded by weather, and we didn't have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Stephanie for your wonderful review we did enjoy helping you both have a great honeymoon stay with us at the Lodge, and the quiet time in September is a great time to stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay