We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

4.0 of 5 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bella Vista Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Vista Motel
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    68
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
128
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this Motel for our final 3 days in New Zealand and were not disappointed. The cleanliness of the room was excellent and it was very spacious - more than enough for our requirements. We found the small kitchenette to be an ideal facility, as we had started to become a little bored with "eating out" and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ray Thank you for your great review of Bella Vista Te Anau. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and enjoy the fantastic scenery we have in Fiordland. I will see what I can do with the weather next time so you can enjoy Milford Sound as well. Sorry to hear that it was a little... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't let the word 'motel' throw you off. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon before heading into the Milford Sound and it's much more than your average hotel chain. It is very clean, has a partial kitchen with everything you need for breakfast and the current manager is so pleasant. It's a short walk into town or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Annie Thank you for your nice review on Bella Vista Te Anau. We hope your have great memories of your honeymoon here. At Bella Vista Te Anau we have free Wi-Fi and don't use a voucher system so you may have mistaken us for somewhere else. We hope you may return sometime as there is a lot to offer... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

THE ROOM: We stayed in a king room and it had been recently redecorated, so everything felt modern and fresh. The bed was quite comfortable, probably one of the better ones we slept in on our trip. Power outlets conveniently located throughout the room. THE BATHROOM: Unlike some motel bathrooms, this one didn't feel like a small closet. It wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jae B Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and are sorry you didn't feel comfortable in the shower. The shower head in all our units are set at 1.8m (6ft) (I have just measured them) and are probably above the standard height (not sure how tall you are) Due to environmental requirements... More

Washington, DC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our hosts were very warm and welcoming and our room was clean and aesthetically nice. The Bella Vista Motel is also the closest motel to the town centre area, which makes it very convenient to walk to the lakeshore and all the restaurants in town. The primary downside was that the AC/heating unit was set using a pre-determined program; and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Don. Unfortunately your comments are extremely disturbing to us and I feel we need to set the record straight. Firstly you booked into a compact queen and we had upgraded you to a brand new refurbished superior queen room at no extra cost (you were the first to use it). We do this automatically depending... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped overnight at Te Anau en route to Milford sound during April 2014. Was initially hesitant to stay at a motel but the BV Te Anau has really surpassed my expectations! Owners Selby and Janelle operate the motel and it is obvious the care and level of service that they have put into their own business. My only regret... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Pingu-V Thank you for your great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The names you mentioned were the previous managers(Selby & Janelle). Trish (nurse) and Warwick (coach driver) bought the motel in January. Janelle used to provide muffins from time to time but we have replaced these with the lovely biscuits you had. Since you stayed... More

Oamaru, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last week in an upstairs queen studio room which had just been redecorated, absolutely lovely! (Every room is currently being updated with lovely, modern colours and fittings). Everything in the room had been thought of, great lighting, heating, the best cookies & hot chocolate I have ever tasted. Ensuite bathroom was nice and newly decorated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi akta01 Thanks for your fantastic review. It is such a pleasure to receive a great review from people who appreciate what we do to make our guests feel at home and in pleasant surroundings. It was a pleasure to give you the chocolate chip biscuits and we hope you have tried the recipe. We hope to see you back... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great stay at the Bella Vista, host were nice and helpful, breakfast was great and informal where you are able to chat to other guests, walk to shops and water, easy drive to Milford Sound from Te Anau, highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ross Thank you for your review. Not sure if you have the right place as we are a motel not a B & B. You may have meant Bella Rosa B&B. You are welcome to come and stay with us next time More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first experience at a Bella Vista Motel and we were very pleased. The hosts introduced themselves (sorry don't remember their names, it's been a while but their cute dog's name is Baxter), asked us what type of milk we wanted and then took us to our room. They were very friendly and helpful with local restaurant suggestions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Byedlin Thank you for your great review. Baxter says Hi and is still looking after the office. We hope you are able to make it back again sometime, Warwick & Trish More

Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the 3rd Bella Vista Motel we have stayed at during our Kiwi trip.All three maintain a high standard and level of service.The only differance being the owners.Warwick and Trish are an exceptional couple,they run a excellent business,seeing to the needs of their customers.The motel is clean and tidy,at all times. We stayed here for two separate nights, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It is our pleasure to look after our guests and make them feel welcome. We are pleased you had the trip of a lifetime and maybe you will decide to repeat it sometime. We look forward to looking after you again sometime in the future. More

Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hosts at Bella Vista were wonderful. We arrived prior to check in and they allowed us to leave our bags in the office while we explored the town. The hosts were also very helpful with giving recommendations for restaurants and activities. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has a coffee pot, hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Bella Vista. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (57)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay