We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Village Inn Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Village Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
avoca063 nz
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
nz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay at the Village Inn - room was quiet, clean and spacious with comfortable bed and easy chairs. The room also had a useful kitchenette and an office desk. Pleasant staff. Location was quiet but only a 4 minute walk to the lake or through the park to the main street. We will definitely return next time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you very much for your glowing review of the Village Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us, your room was all that you required it to be, and yes, the proximity to the town center and the lake are a definite bonus. We will look forward to meeting you again if you are ever... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cute place with themed buildings. Front desk staff helpful and have gone extra mile to help resolve a booking/payment issue with the booking company. Clean and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. Laundry washer and dryer very old. Also there was a queue to make use of the one machine. When the dryer didn't dry our clothes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks so much for the kind comments regarding the Village Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable. Sometimes when the hotel is quite full we do get a bit of a line up for the guest laundry, and if you had mentioned to reception that the dryer did... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst road tripping to and from Milford Sound (which is outstanding). Pros: friendly staff, clean room, reasonably spacious, parking, Walking distance to the lake and amenities. Cons: very dated, no kitchenette which would be beneficial in such a remote little town, no free wifi, staff didn't advise over places to eat,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

hi thank you for your positive comments regarding the Village Inn, and for taking the time to post them. We do have a few units with kitchenettes and if guests request these we do our utmost to make sure they are accommodated with these extra facilities. Usually when guests check in we do offer them a town map and point... More 

singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious but the entire place has a ghost town feeling. Really scary to stay alone but I have a large family so was alright. The toilet was not cleaned when we check in and it still had human bowels in it! By the way, my TV was a pathetic small little CVT! Ancient man! I can't believe it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Village Inn, and I am also as aghast as yourself that your bathroom was not cleaned properly. I did talk with the receptionist that was on shift when you arrived and discovered this, and she did say that you were offered another unit, but chose not to change.... More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our coach trip around New Zealand. As mentioned some of the rooms have a frontage to resemble on old Wild West town although ours was not as it was at the back. Good size with all amenities but somewhat tired and not up to the standard of most other hotels we stayed in. About... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Village Inn, as you said the units are of a good size, and that is a positive that alot of our guests do comment on. Some of our standard units, which I presume is what you were accommodated in, will be receiving a much needed face lift during... More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed at the village inn before our hike in nov 2014, it is a simple but nice hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is also nice and they offered to cook our eggs to our liking. Friendly staff. I would recommend and come back anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

average room with paid wifi as is usual in nz. breakfast was ok toast and cereal. walking distance to town. its an ok choice. the hotel is a theme hotel with old shops as the front. the doo to your room is a unsecure slidig glass door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is a rather run down group of buildings designed to resemble an old wild west town. However, it needs to have some money spent on it as it looked very seedy when we we stayed there . Unfortunately we were booked for two nights, in a 'Superior Room' The rooms however were clean and I can't complain about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unique concept that is 'The Village Inn'. Thankfully you did have a couple of comfortable nights inside your unit. kind regards Anita More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This is probably one of those places you either like or hate. We loved it. It looks like it was built in the 70's or 80's. The rooms have a verandah frontage which is in the shape of an old town. Our frontage was for a Saddlery. The main complex has a dining facility and bar, although we didn't use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your review, you are so correct in saying that guests reactions do differ when they first see 'the village', but I am glad you did enjoy the fun nature of our concept. thank you for your positive comments on the unit you stayed in and please look us up if you are ever back in Te Anau. kind... More 

Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore the area and it was comfortable without being really good. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the heating was efficient and the room's lighting was well thought out. On the down side, the kitchenette was supplied with a toaster, electric frypan & crockery that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for submitting a review on your stay with us. we do appreciate your negative comments as these are the ones we use to help make our place better for our guests, but we love the positives. kind regards Anita More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay