We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Village Inn Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Village Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Village Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
VeggieScramble Silverthorne, Colorado
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place looks a bit silly on the outside, but the rooms are quite nice. The dinette was nice to have with a couple of burners to use. The room itself was quite spacious. The lakeside is just a short walk away as well as town center. You have to pay for wi-fi, which we found to be very common... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bendigo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a nice surprise the Village Inn was, lovely and clean and a massive room that I stayed in, clean facility and nice and close to town. Had a lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Convienent for tour company to pick you up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for the great review. More

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

stayed 3 nights, great location being just one street over from the town center. Good size room, bed & Bathroom. Although the bathroom is a bit dated the shower was excellent. Unfortunately we didn't know the restaurant was closed for the entire easter weekend until we arrived except for breakfast which finished at 9am (bit early for those who like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review The Village Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your easter weekend with us, and yes the proximity to the town centre is always a handy draw card. Alot of people are pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of our units. We would be very pleased to welcome you back on another occasion. kind... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This motel looked a bit quirky from the outside - like a wild west town, but the rooms were spacious and well equipped. The cleaning was fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant. Location is good for Milford Sound and Te Anau lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am glad that the hotel had the facilities to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our main purpose was to visit Milord Sound and I really expected this accommodation to be a bit tacky. Perhaps the general old time village theme reminded me of an Orlando theme park! How wrong; after a warm welcome we discovered our truly delightful room. Large, light and airy with a large, very comfortable bed and small kitchenette with microwave,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your accommodation exceeded your initial expectations. And in Fiordland we know the importance of having electric blankets on our beds, it can get very chilly at times for... More

Woy Woy, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place is done up like an old time NZ goldfields village. We stayed in the police station (Room 813 ). Two double beds and spacious enough. Bathroom was basic and the water pressure when demand was high could be improved. Fittings include a fridge and tea making facilities. No free wifi. Comfortable enough and I would recommend this place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Village Inn. We are glad that your room was comfortable and suited your needs. More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for just one night during our coach tour of the South Island and were pleasantly surprised by such a lovely place. It was decorated like an old town in the bush. Rooms excellent. The restaurant served a superb dinner and breakfast and all the staff were friendly. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at "The Village'. We do appreciate your positive comments. Thank you. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Poor value for Money NO even charges for 0800 numbers wifi they aren't even in the real world charges are over the top unit old outdated cutlery not even enough for two in the unit booked toaster out of the ark fabric cord showing it's age took forever to cook the toast restaurant closed paint on buildings peeling and old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you found your unit so lacking. I do know the one you were booked into and this unit has actually had an upgrade except for the bathroom which we will be upgrading this off season. If any of your concerns had been mentioned at the time we would have done our best to either rectify... More

Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were directed to the Village Inn by another motel, most hotels and motels were full in Te Anau. We were not expecting much and were just glad to have a room for the night. The surprise was a nice large room that was clean with an updated bathroom. I thought the shower was one of the best we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate the time you took to give us a such a great review on Trip Advisor. thanks. More

X
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This room was spacious, comfortable, plenty of parking. The interior seemed a bit dated but this kind of added to charm. No nice views but on the doorstep of paradise it doesn't matter. It was good value and I'd stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review 'The Village'. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent in Fiordland. It really is a special place. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Village Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

See which rooms travelers prefer