We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Village Inn Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Village Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
gijadenyc nyc
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

average room with paid wifi as is usual in nz. breakfast was ok toast and cereal. walking distance to town. its an ok choice. the hotel is a theme hotel with old shops as the front. the doo to your room is a unsecure slidig glass door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a rather run down group of buildings designed to resemble an old wild west town. However, it needs to have some money spent on it as it looked very seedy when we we stayed there . Unfortunately we were booked for two nights, in a 'Superior Room' The rooms however were clean and I can't complain about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unique concept that is 'The Village Inn'. Thankfully you did have a couple of comfortable nights inside your unit. kind regards Anita More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This is probably one of those places you either like or hate. We loved it. It looks like it was built in the 70's or 80's. The rooms have a verandah frontage which is in the shape of an old town. Our frontage was for a Saddlery. The main complex has a dining facility and bar, although we didn't use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your review, you are so correct in saying that guests reactions do differ when they first see 'the village', but I am glad you did enjoy the fun nature of our concept. thank you for your positive comments on the unit you stayed in and please look us up if you are ever back in Te Anau. kind... More

Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore the area and it was comfortable without being really good. On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the heating was efficient and the room's lighting was well thought out. On the down side, the kitchenette was supplied with a toaster, electric frypan & crockery that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for submitting a review on your stay with us. we do appreciate your negative comments as these are the ones we use to help make our place better for our guests, but we love the positives. kind regards Anita More

Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place looks a bit silly on the outside, but the rooms are quite nice. The dinette was nice to have with a couple of burners to use. The room itself was quite spacious. The lakeside is just a short walk away as well as town center. You have to pay for wi-fi, which we found to be very common... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bendigo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a nice surprise the Village Inn was, lovely and clean and a massive room that I stayed in, clean facility and nice and close to town. Had a lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Convienent for tour company to pick you up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for the great review. More

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

stayed 3 nights, great location being just one street over from the town center. Good size room, bed & Bathroom. Although the bathroom is a bit dated the shower was excellent. Unfortunately we didn't know the restaurant was closed for the entire easter weekend until we arrived except for breakfast which finished at 9am (bit early for those who like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review The Village Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your easter weekend with us, and yes the proximity to the town centre is always a handy draw card. Alot of people are pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of our units. We would be very pleased to welcome you back on another occasion. kind... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This motel looked a bit quirky from the outside - like a wild west town, but the rooms were spacious and well equipped. The cleaning was fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant. Location is good for Milford Sound and Te Anau lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am glad that the hotel had the facilities to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our main purpose was to visit Milord Sound and I really expected this accommodation to be a bit tacky. Perhaps the general old time village theme reminded me of an Orlando theme park! How wrong; after a warm welcome we discovered our truly delightful room. Large, light and airy with a large, very comfortable bed and small kitchenette with microwave,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for taking the time to put in a review for The Village Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your accommodation exceeded your initial expectations. And in Fiordland we know the importance of having electric blankets on our beds, it can get very chilly at times for... More

Woy Woy, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place is done up like an old time NZ goldfields village. We stayed in the police station (Room 813 ). Two double beds and spacious enough. Bathroom was basic and the water pressure when demand was high could be improved. Fittings include a fridge and tea making facilities. No free wifi. Comfortable enough and I would recommend this place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillageInn003, Front Office Manager at Village Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Village Inn. We are glad that your room was comfortable and suited your needs. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay