We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

3.0 of 5 48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
28
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very clean hostel with good kitchen facilities. The staff was helpfull. The rooms was large and with good space for the luggage. Great location right out to the lake, with a beautiful view. I could recommend this hostel to other backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel was located at a really nice place just down to the lake. The kitchen was really clean and had all what you needed. The view from the kitchen was to the lake were there was a balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puerto Varas, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. This is the cleanest hostel I Have stayed in. The kitchen is a pleasure with a comfy dining and lounge area attached. There is also a balcony overlooking the lake, perfect for sipping wine. The gardens are quiet with plenty of sunny and shady areas, and washing lines in each. Despite being in the bottom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a double with shared facilities - bathroom and kitchen shared between two rooms. This meant less competition for facilities but the kitchen and common area was a bit small for up to four people. We managed though, and the rooms were quiet and clean. Not enough parking so we had to park on the street. For the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayed here twice on my travels (on the way and back to milford sounds) and first time it was okay, share with three others but kitchen area was a little small, only complaint really. Second name was very cool, got to stay in the milford room in a 6 bed dorm which is actually above reception. Spacious kitchen, living room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I came across from Dunedin on the Intercity bus, and this backpackers is only a few minutes walk from where the bus drops you off in the centre of town (easy to walk with your backpack or wheel a suitcase). The backpackers is right on the waterfront of the lake; excellent views! I stayed in the Hollyford room (which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We stayed in a lot of spots in New Zealand, but this one wasn't our favorite. It was fine for a couple nights as it was close to the city center and the lake. One entire wall of our room was glass, which unfortunately faced the parking lot. Because of this the room was chilly and it felt like you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There are soooo many nice places and nice people in NZ, avoid this backpacker where the lady at the reception has been extremely rude when we stayed there in February this year. We were 6 of us traveling together in a van and had booked for one night for only 4 of us (the 2 others were sleeping in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

I am not entirely sure of the circumstances surrounding this situation you describe after discussing your review with Staff. Staff do have a duty to insure that all guests on the property are valid customers and that the information required on check in is given honestly by guests. If you were offended by this request , it was definitely not... More 

Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is definitely worth visiting. The beds are comfortable and you have your own fridge and bathroom ensuite. The hostel is looking out on the lake and everybody staying here is friendly and helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank for your review and we are pleased everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Despite the good reviews we have seen from TripAdvisor we were disappointed to find out our booking through the phone was not confirmed. We called the office and were promised a room for three nights and we were waiting for an email which never came through. We called to get a confirmation of the booking and the lady said the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

We apologise that there was an error with your reservation. On investigation it appears that your booking request was taken, but inexplicably the computer did not assign a room to the booking as it should have. The Manager apologised several times for the error which was most unfortunate and disappointing as you say . She promptly arranged alternate accommodation for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay