We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau accommodations

Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers to your Saves list
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty lodging in Te Anau
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014
Eefni Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There are soooo many nice places and nice people in NZ, avoid this backpacker where the lady at the reception has been extremely rude when we stayed there in February this year. We were 6 of us traveling together in a van and had booked for one night for only 4 of us (the 2 others were sleeping in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

I am not entirely sure of the circumstances surrounding this situation you describe after discussing your review with Staff. Staff do have a duty to insure that all guests on the property are valid customers and that the information required on check in is given honestly by guests. If you were offended by this request , it was definitely not... More

Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is definitely worth visiting. The beds are comfortable and you have your own fridge and bathroom ensuite. The hostel is looking out on the lake and everybody staying here is friendly and helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank for your review and we are pleased everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Despite the good reviews we have seen from TripAdvisor we were disappointed to find out our booking through the phone was not confirmed. We called the office and were promised a room for three nights and we were waiting for an email which never came through. We called to get a confirmation of the booking and the lady said the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

We apologise that there was an error with your reservation. On investigation it appears that your booking request was taken, but inexplicably the computer did not assign a room to the booking as it should have. The Manager apologised several times for the error which was most unfortunate and disappointing as you say . She promptly arranged alternate accommodation for... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed only one night. Wouldn't return to this lodge. The dorms are ok. But the place lacks atmosphere and is very messy. The kitchen is smelly and to small for the number of guests. The place looks outdated. Still if you just want to spend one night you will be fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Welcomed most warmly. Had a double cabin and it was lush. Clean, lovely, all facilities fab. We were going on the Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise and because we stayed there the night before, they allowed us to leave our hire car there whilst we went on cruise. Beautiful scenery and one of our favourite places to visit and to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will visit again in the near future. More

Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We just wanted to stay for two nights but we had to extend because we liked that place so much. Our four bed room had an own bathroom, kitchen and normal beds (no bunks, which is quite luxurious as a backpacker^^). The hostel was clean and safe and the managers offered many activities to do in Fiordland. Not to mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all was to your satisfaction More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Te Anau lakefront backpackers was a pretty average experience. It wasn't bad. We had a private double room with shared ensuite and kitchenette. It was decent value but nothing special. Tiny room. To get to the main kitchen you had a 100-200m walk outside to get there. Staff were quite nice and accommodating though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Many of the rooms have their own kitchenette (as you have described ) and for the others there is a short walk to one of the two communal kitchens. We are pleased the staff were accommodating to your needs More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

An average backpackers with shocking wifi, cardboard beds and average facilities. Nothing that was "shocking" but overall just a forgettable backpackers. I wouldn't really recommend it but there's bugger all else in the town so it's slim pickings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

We were disappointed you found the property " forgettable" Te Anau has in excess of 3000 beds including Holiday Parks, Backpackers, Motels and Hotels, so hardly "slim pickings" for accommodation choices. More

Laindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions and had a great time. The staff were really friendly and were very welcoming. The kitchen was a large area and catered for several people making a meal at one time. There is a small room dedicated for the TV and a seperate room for computers. The hostel gives wifi but the connection is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Within a 5 minute walk of the towns centre opposite a stunning lake that offered great views. On the two occasions we stayed there we couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff or the cleanliness of the hostel. The kitchen was a large size that meant making a meal easy and with your own space. The only downside was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We shall continue to work with our service provider to speed up internet service for our customers. Very frustrating I know !! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer