We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau accommodations

Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers to your Saves list
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
50%
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Melissa H Indianapolis, Indiana
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in a lot of spots in New Zealand, but this one wasn't our favorite. It was fine for a couple nights as it was close to the city center and the lake. One entire wall of our room was glass, which unfortunately faced the parking lot. Because of this the room was chilly and it felt like you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There are soooo many nice places and nice people in NZ, avoid this backpacker where the lady at the reception has been extremely rude when we stayed there in February this year. We were 6 of us traveling together in a van and had booked for one night for only 4 of us (the 2 others were sleeping in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

I am not entirely sure of the circumstances surrounding this situation you describe after discussing your review with Staff. Staff do have a duty to insure that all guests on the property are valid customers and that the information required on check in is given honestly by guests. If you were offended by this request , it was definitely not... More

Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is definitely worth visiting. The beds are comfortable and you have your own fridge and bathroom ensuite. The hostel is looking out on the lake and everybody staying here is friendly and helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank for your review and we are pleased everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Despite the good reviews we have seen from TripAdvisor we were disappointed to find out our booking through the phone was not confirmed. We called the office and were promised a room for three nights and we were waiting for an email which never came through. We called to get a confirmation of the booking and the lady said the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

We apologise that there was an error with your reservation. On investigation it appears that your booking request was taken, but inexplicably the computer did not assign a room to the booking as it should have. The Manager apologised several times for the error which was most unfortunate and disappointing as you say . She promptly arranged alternate accommodation for... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed only one night. Wouldn't return to this lodge. The dorms are ok. But the place lacks atmosphere and is very messy. The kitchen is smelly and to small for the number of guests. The place looks outdated. Still if you just want to spend one night you will be fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Welcomed most warmly. Had a double cabin and it was lush. Clean, lovely, all facilities fab. We were going on the Doubtful Sound Overnight Cruise and because we stayed there the night before, they allowed us to leave our hire car there whilst we went on cruise. Beautiful scenery and one of our favourite places to visit and to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will visit again in the near future. More

Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We just wanted to stay for two nights but we had to extend because we liked that place so much. Our four bed room had an own bathroom, kitchen and normal beds (no bunks, which is quite luxurious as a backpacker^^). The hostel was clean and safe and the managers offered many activities to do in Fiordland. Not to mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all was to your satisfaction More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Te Anau lakefront backpackers was a pretty average experience. It wasn't bad. We had a private double room with shared ensuite and kitchenette. It was decent value but nothing special. Tiny room. To get to the main kitchen you had a 100-200m walk outside to get there. Staff were quite nice and accommodating though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Many of the rooms have their own kitchenette (as you have described ) and for the others there is a short walk to one of the two communal kitchens. We are pleased the staff were accommodating to your needs More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

An average backpackers with shocking wifi, cardboard beds and average facilities. Nothing that was "shocking" but overall just a forgettable backpackers. I wouldn't really recommend it but there's bugger all else in the town so it's slim pickings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

We were disappointed you found the property " forgettable" Te Anau has in excess of 3000 beds including Holiday Parks, Backpackers, Motels and Hotels, so hardly "slim pickings" for accommodation choices. More

Laindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions and had a great time. The staff were really friendly and were very welcoming. The kitchen was a large area and catered for several people making a meal at one time. There is a small room dedicated for the TV and a seperate room for computers. The hostel gives wifi but the connection is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback More

Do you own or manage Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers