We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58%
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014
Bruce M Dunedin, New Zealand
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    68
    17
    14
See reviews for
32
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice welcome and rooms. The restaurant was good though it was surprising that there was no venison on the menu. Lots of channels on the TV. However what made it a poor stay was the hassle over wifi. Compared to other stays the need to register and get a restricted short term access just took the gloss off it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. During the winter season the dinner menu has a smaller selection of items available. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay . Kind regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We drove to the BBH hostel (closed for the winter?!) while looking for the YHA. As we walked around we found the Kingsford which wed seen on booking.com and decided to check it out. We were met by the friendly Donna (who was great our entire stay) who was happy to chat prices and find out about the various relax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found Donna friendly and helpful and will have pleasure in passing on your comments to her. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour package. The hotel is across the street from Lake Te Anau and it's about 20 minutes walk to the Town Centre. It is pretty safe to walk at night to the restaurants in town and the streets are well lit up in the evening. Our room is comfortable and clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast and the view from the restaurant. I will pass onto the staff your comments that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Kind Regards... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here with a friend just for one night. we had a standard unit with one double and one single bed. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the car park, nice and comfortable beds, and old TV, but we did not go all the way to Te Anau to watch TV so it did not matter to us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. I am not sure about your comment regarding old TV's as we installed new flat screen TV's in the hotel in December 2013. Kind Regards Anita Brown... More

Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stayed here for a night and arrived later in the evening but the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed had a heated blanket but only one side worked. The staff was friendly and our room had a tv. It was a nice stop over before we headed back to Queenstown. Free parking but I cant remember... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you found the room clean , comfortable and quiet and also the staff friendly. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arrived in New Zealand with my mother the Monday before Anzac weekend, to visit my sister and her family. They came across the Kingsgate Hotel, three days before the start of the long weekend, it was one of the only hotels left in Te Anau that still had vacancies for that weekend, and with the best prices! After about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our room was big, comfortable and very clean with a view of the lake. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The food we had from room service was good and the service was quick. Definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive reply regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff. Kind Regards Anita Brown general Manager More

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

At just NZD 89 and given its location right on the shore of Lake Anau, this place is great VFM. Additional pluses are that the city centre is just about 400m away, where one can find cafes and restaurants offering almost all cuisines. The rooms have a large French window and comfortable beds, a bath tub, kettle, refrigerator, tea, coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

mosgiel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed 3 nights. We needed two rooms and they gave us these right across from each other that was good. We did get an okay deal but paying over $500 for this eats into the budget. But overall we all enjoyed it. The only disappointment was how bad the internet is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and pleased that you had a good family weekend away. The internet service and pricing is as per our company policy, and will pass on your comments. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

we had a lovely weekend 25th april 26th april 2014 the room was lovely clean and big the bathroom was lovely we enjoyed the dinner at night it was really nice and breaksfast in the morning was great the staff were good and we found it really quite even as it was full it was a nice walk to town

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Te Anau with
any amenities