We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (224)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    67
    17
    14
See reviews for
32
130
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove to the BBH hostel (closed for the winter?!) while looking for the YHA. As we walked around we found the Kingsford which wed seen on booking.com and decided to check it out. We were met by the friendly Donna (who was great our entire stay) who was happy to chat prices and find out about the various relax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found Donna friendly and helpful and will have pleasure in passing on your comments to her. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour package. The hotel is across the street from Lake Te Anau and it's about 20 minutes walk to the Town Centre. It is pretty safe to walk at night to the restaurants in town and the streets are well lit up in the evening. Our room is comfortable and clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast and the view from the restaurant. I will pass onto the staff your comments that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Kind Regards... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here with a friend just for one night. we had a standard unit with one double and one single bed. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the car park, nice and comfortable beds, and old TV, but we did not go all the way to Te Anau to watch TV so it did not matter to us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. I am not sure about your comment regarding old TV's as we installed new flat screen TV's in the hotel in December 2013. Kind Regards Anita Brown... More

Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stayed here for a night and arrived later in the evening but the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed had a heated blanket but only one side worked. The staff was friendly and our room had a tv. It was a nice stop over before we headed back to Queenstown. Free parking but I cant remember... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you found the room clean , comfortable and quiet and also the staff friendly. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I arrived in New Zealand with my mother the Monday before Anzac weekend, to visit my sister and her family. They came across the Kingsgate Hotel, three days before the start of the long weekend, it was one of the only hotels left in Te Anau that still had vacancies for that weekend, and with the best prices! After about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that the staff looked after you and you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our room was big, comfortable and very clean with a view of the lake. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The food we had from room service was good and the service was quick. Definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive reply regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff. Kind Regards Anita Brown general Manager More

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

At just NZD 89 and given its location right on the shore of Lake Anau, this place is great VFM. Additional pluses are that the city centre is just about 400m away, where one can find cafes and restaurants offering almost all cuisines. The rooms have a large French window and comfortable beds, a bath tub, kettle, refrigerator, tea, coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

mosgiel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a warm welcome when we arrived. We stayed 3 nights. We needed two rooms and they gave us these right across from each other that was good. We did get an okay deal but paying over $500 for this eats into the budget. But overall we all enjoyed it. The only disappointment was how bad the internet is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and pleased that you had a good family weekend away. The internet service and pricing is as per our company policy, and will pass on your comments. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

we had a lovely weekend 25th april 26th april 2014 the room was lovely clean and big the bathroom was lovely we enjoyed the dinner at night it was really nice and breaksfast in the morning was great the staff were good and we found it really quite even as it was full it was a nice walk to town

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

booked into this hotel for 2 nights we had traveled all day and arrived at the Hotel at 1 pm told our room was been serviced and we could not get in until 2 30 When we were taken to our room it was small and like a back packer accommodation i went to the bath room and found hairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was aware of incident regarding your check in to your room and deeply embarrassed of your findings regarding the cleaniness of the room. Housekeeping ahve been spoken to regarding this matter and I do offer my apologies as this should never have happened. Kind Regards Anita... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
105

See which rooms travelers prefer