We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine View Motel

#17 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Alpine View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015
Janlynnz Whangarei, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    42
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Room was fairly dirty, generally bad conditions. Found way nicer places in NZ for much better price. Owner seems to attack everyone who leaves a negative review instead of addressing the issues. Do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Very friendly place, excellent for the price. Handy to everything. Clean and tidy. Nice outlook on to autumn colours. The kitchen cupboards were too high. Why do motels never leave enough toilet paper?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Friendly and helpful manager. We booked three bedrooms for 5 people. Nice, neat and clean. Kitchen well equipped. The bathroom are out dated with plastic curtain to pull across the shower, no fans in the toilet just a large open window. Even though it's summer the weather can be cold & windy. Heater on at 7pm and off by 6am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We booked into this motel as a stopover on the way to Milford Sound. It was a long drive in snow and we were glad that the owners had warmed up the room ahead of our arrival. The room itself was a little dated, although obviously with renewed fixtures. It was very clean and the beds were extremely comfy. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Our room was clean. It was handicapped accessible, so it was quite large. There wasn't any great view of the mountains or lake, but there was a nice little yard outside of the sliding glass doors. The kitchenette had a fridge, microwave, toaster, a few dishes. The bathroom had a heater. There was no noise -- the whole town was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Each room has heater, but the heater will be shut offed during night (by the motel). There are so many rooms in the unit, but less space in each room. We travelled in group of 5, No one can connect any devices to the motel wifi. Old furniture. Good bye. No more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

You stayed in our family apartment which has three bedrooms and as you correctly pointed out there are heaters in each room as well as heaters in the wardrobes which you can plug in. All of our heaters are run off the same radiator system and come on at night to warm rooms. They switch off during the small hours... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

The hotel was booked and paid in advance via an online travel website. When we arrived we were told a room with three beds was not available. So we were given a trundle bed, sheets and a blanket which we had to set up ourselves. We didn't get any extra pillows or bathtowels and we were reluctant to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Keely S for your words of wisdom. As you correctly pointed out your room was booked through Expedia and the booking company placed you in a room with sleeping arrangements for two people -- probably becaused there is only two on the booking slip as well. However when you arrived and had three people in the group there... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I was shocked to see the room which has smell of old furniture...There are not many facilities like internet...It never works when you close the door..no heating ...can't make tea as kettle is broken ...cooking pans are not great ...shower is very poor with slow water flow....linen is not good either...overall, not recommendable. Spend bit more and get a better... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

I had asked tripadvisor to consider removing this review because it was inaccurate but they will not police this site correctly so therefore I have decided to reply with some facts about the unit you stayed in and correct the fabrication of untruths you put forward under the mask of presumed anonymity. Thank you for your review -- you should... More 

Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I passed a wonderful night in Alpine View Motel . The owners were very helpful with giving me tips of the area and sort out my excursion of the following day . The room was spacious and very clean . Wifi connection was a bit slow . The apartment was foreseen for 3 persons although I was on my own... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kriestien17, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on you "excursion" into the Fiordland National Park. It is always great to assist wonderful people and you were a pleasure to have a s a guest. Hope the rest of your trip went well and we look... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Good location, 5minutes walk to the lakeside and 10 minutes to the town area. Room was neat and tidy and equipped with heaters, kitchenette (with microwave) and clean bath. Ooh...and free wifi! Recommended to stay at the upstairs room with balcony where you can sip your tea, read a book, gaze at stars and enjoy the view. Steve and Rowena... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello AnneLiyen, WOW you certainly packed a lot into your short stay with us!!! If we could rate guests you would get 5 Stars -- great to deal with and really out to make the most of every minute here in Te Anau. I am pleased you enjoyed the walks I pointed out and that you were lucky with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay