We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine View Motel

#17 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Special Offer
FREE UNLIMITED WIFI
Alpine View Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
kristien17 Estepona, Spain
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Each room has heater, but the heater will be shut offed during night (by the motel). There are so many rooms in the unit, but less space in each room. We travelled in group of 5, No one can connect any devices to the motel wifi. Old furniture. Good bye. No more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was booked and paid in advance via an online travel website. When we arrived we were told a room with three beds was not available. So we were given a trundle bed, sheets and a blanket which we had to set up ourselves. We didn't get any extra pillows or bathtowels and we were reluctant to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Keely S for your words of wisdom. As you correctly pointed out your room was booked through Expedia and the booking company placed you in a room with sleeping arrangements for two people -- probably becaused there is only two on the booking slip as well. However when you arrived and had three people in the group there... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was shocked to see the room which has smell of old furniture...There are not many facilities like internet...It never works when you close the door..no heating ...can't make tea as kettle is broken ...cooking pans are not great ...shower is very poor with slow water flow....linen is not good either...overall, not recommendable. Spend bit more and get a better... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

I had asked tripadvisor to consider removing this review because it was inaccurate but they will not police this site correctly so therefore I have decided to reply with some facts about the unit you stayed in and correct the fabrication of untruths you put forward under the mask of presumed anonymity. Thank you for your review -- you should... More 

Estepona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I passed a wonderful night in Alpine View Motel . The owners were very helpful with giving me tips of the area and sort out my excursion of the following day . The room was spacious and very clean . Wifi connection was a bit slow . The apartment was foreseen for 3 persons although I was on my own... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kriestien17, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on you "excursion" into the Fiordland National Park. It is always great to assist wonderful people and you were a pleasure to have a s a guest. Hope the rest of your trip went well and we look... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, 5minutes walk to the lakeside and 10 minutes to the town area. Room was neat and tidy and equipped with heaters, kitchenette (with microwave) and clean bath. Ooh...and free wifi! Recommended to stay at the upstairs room with balcony where you can sip your tea, read a book, gaze at stars and enjoy the view. Steve and Rowena... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello AnneLiyen, WOW you certainly packed a lot into your short stay with us!!! If we could rate guests you would get 5 Stars -- great to deal with and really out to make the most of every minute here in Te Anau. I am pleased you enjoyed the walks I pointed out and that you were lucky with the... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We had an upstairs room with an excellent view over the lake. Motel is an easy walk to the town centre with excellent shops. Normal motel facilities but it was a little tired. Outside shared barbecue was very old although functional. Reception not very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi VincentW and thanks for your review. I apologise if you felt you received poor service. We try our best to accommodate everyone who stays with us and (to be honest) can barely remember who you were). I hope you had a great visit in our area and hope whatever was lacking from our service did not ruin your holiday.... More 

Hawarden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Stayed here in March to explore the sounds. Room was large and clean and the motel is just a short walk from the lakes and town. The owners Steve and Rowena had emailed in advance, answered questions and booked tours for me. Their advice was really helpful and supplemented end what you can find on the web. A good place... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello again Mr Edwards1, It was great to help you explore the wonders of Fiordland and with the e.mails etc and pre planning your trip seemed to go very smoothly. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to hosting you again when you return. Thank you for the kind comments and for being such great guests. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Nice family accommodation with heated beds and multiple bedding configuration available to suit my family with 2 kids. Kitchenette is well equipped. There is a note though in the kitchen which says "No cooking in strong spices and curries, room needs to be free of strong smells or else you may be charged" :) The kids play area is almost... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi imranys, thank you for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a variety of units available with various bedding configurations to cater for most families and yours was a family apartment which is designed to sleep up to five people in two sleeping areas. The more modern rooms you speak of are... More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The hotel is in a good position, a very short walk to the lakeside and not far from the shops and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and it was very spacious, as it was sized for more than two people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello Mizzer-ee-guts... Thanks for the comments and positive attitude during your stay. We certainly hope you enjoyed yourself an definitely would love to host you again. It was great talking to you during your stay and I hope the rest of your New Zealand visit went as well as the Fiordland leg of the journey. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We had an excellent stay . Spacious well appointed apartments with good amenities . Nice open plan layout with good ventilation and lovely picnic tables in the garden outside each apartment. Owner was kind enough to offer to pick us up from the Inter City Bus Stop as also help us book tours , give local tips etc. Very Good... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Rupa S for your comments. We often pick up travelers arriving on the bus as it is a bit of a hike with baggage to the motel -- even though we are one of the closest to the town centre. Sometimes we can arrange transport back to the bus terminal on your day of departure as well but... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question