We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Te Anau hotels

Alpine View Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE UNLIMITED WIFI
Alpine View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine View Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
pmsh2015 Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff very friendly, lots of smiles and helpful with organising some space in washing machines after a long hike thoriuyugh Fiordland.The only issue is the rooms look a little tired, however they were very comfortable and clean and served the purpose that we required of them at the time. Quiet place to rest after a long trek. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi PMSH2015, Thank you for the review and the honest comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back any time -- especially when Aussie get better at cricket :-) Great to hear you were comfortable during your stay and the rooms were warm and user friendly. We hope to have some of the more tired... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Te Anau is always on our list of places to visit with visiting family. Unfortunately on this trip, our stay was a little dampened by the quality of our accommodation. I have read many of the reviews of this motel and agree with comments about the motel being tired. However, if this were the only issue that wouldn't have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello Sally B and thank you for your comments. We unreservedly apologise for the poor quality of the room you stayed in at our motel and we can guarantee such a happening will never be repeated. Your stay was booked with us despite us not really wanting to let that room out. There was absolutely no other accommodation available in... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beware Room 11. We stayed 2 nights at this motel. The location is one street from lake and close to shops & restaurants but probably requires a drive unless you want to eat at the hotel. The room was spacious but quite musty and very hot as afternoon sun incomes in. No fresh milk was provided and rooms not serviced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello Mary S and thanks for the comments you make on our motel. We appreciate constructive criticism but would like to correct a few of the untrue claims you make in your review. Our location is one street back from the lakefront (approx 100 metres) and a short stroll across the park or around the street for a block to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so lucky to find this place! Clean, sizable rooms with all the amenities you need - good size bathroom, soaps, good towels and even a detachable shower head! When you've been trekking for days on end, that's a beautiful thing. There's a kitchen with fridge in the suites and they have various room types for all size groups.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kennedy517, Thank you for the wonderful comments and we are happy to host fun guests such as yourselves. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to help and recommend other great sites to visit or stay throughout the country. I am hoping you had a great time on the Milford Cruise we... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights to do a trip to Doubtful Sound, Milford Sound and the Glowworm Caves. It's in a good location within easy walking distance of the town centre and they provided us with helpful tips on where to eat and where to shop. The room we were given, no.7, is probably the least attractive of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello Dbonners... I am sorry the entrance to your room was not as tidy as it should have been and that you had no views but someone has to get the room next to the office. The entrance was not as good as it usually is die to the strong winds blowing the fluffy seeds from trees over the road... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

*********The owner is very helpful and friendly. We surely enjoyed our stay and trip here. Love it. Surely will go back for a stay again. High;y recommend for family. *********************************

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you EileenY and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. You were a pleasure to have around the place and we are all looking forward to you returning for another visit. We enjoy meeting such awesome people and will be proud to host you again on your next trip. Safe travels. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dated but clean and has everything you need. 5 mins to town and 2 mins to lake. Owner very helpful. Couldn't complain about anything. Good price for this location. Entry point for Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lyndy2015. It is always good to hear that someone comments on the cleanliness of our property as we do pride ourselves in it being clean and functional -- even though not the most modern as you mention in your review. We try our best to accommodate all of our guests so are very happy when you mention there was... More 

Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This motel can be considered old fashioned style, but offers everything what you need. The staff was very friendly, indeed, the guy from the reception (I guess he was the owner) gave us an upgrade room (number 14) with a fully kitchen, two rooms and open views. The wifi is free, but doesn´t work properly. The location is great, a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we could assist in making it a little more enjoyable with assistance in booking trips and tours. We are still working with our resident expert on getting the WiFi operating correctly and hopefully it will be sorted soon. At least we have coverage... More 

Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice motel, though above the average price we pay (Te Anau is more expensive in general I guess). Well situated near the lake and town centre (10 minute walk to town centre). Comfy bed and a quite location. Outside seating area available. On the down side, the wi fi was inconsistent (though free) and was everything from non existent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi LincolnshireBilly, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially your trip into Milford Sound. The ongoing problem of inconsistent WiFi still seems unresolved and despite hours of work from our technician the problem is not any better. We are treating it as a work in progress. We agree the decor of the rooms is a bit dated and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Te anau is a very expensive place to stay. So this place was good value and a stop over for the night after visiting Milford Sound. It is however a little tired and dated but close to the lake and shops. Handy location and wide streets and spaces.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve M, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hello Teresa L and thank you for your comments. Te Anau is an awesome place to visit and the costs here is about the same as any other town -- considering it's remoteness most people think it is great value for money. We are sorry you did not appear to like our motel and that it was not modern enough... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine View Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay