We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House Of Wood

44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 , New Zealand
House Of Wood
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Downham Market, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We have stayed in House of Wood twice. We chose it the second time because the owner Merle was so nice and helpful, and the place so unusual and comfortable. This time I had just broken my wrist the week before we arrived there, and Merle couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Merle is such a lovely lady, she was so understanding when we turned up late on our first night (all due to a mix up with lost luggage by flight company), and she was up at first light the next day to serve her amazing breakfast with home made bead which is so nice, just so we could catch our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015 via mobile

Hosts, Merle and Cliff, were the best part of the stay. They are extremely nice, friendly, and were helpful with suggestions. The room was extremely small and basic but clean. There was no room to put anything, so quite inconvenient for a two night stay. Locations great for walking to towncente.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Returned back to see Merle and Cliff after 3 year break.Great to see them again but could only stay 1 night as they were fully booked.We had tried to book more in August 2014, which show how Popular it is.Had a lovely en-suite bedroom and even better Dinner with them again. Yummie. Yummie.Once again a very enjoyable evening with Cliff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Admittedly this was the busy tourist season but the price $165 for a very basic room was excessive and certainly not worth it. Scarcely room to swing a skinny cat and the bathroom was up the stairs. It did include breakfast but as someone who travel up to 8 months a year I have stayed in many other motels/b& B... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We enjoyed a 2 day stay in November 2014. Merle & Cliff welcomed us with coffee and cake and were friendly and helpful, offering useful information about the local tourist attractions. The House of Wood (built completely of wood as you would expect) stands out from all the other properties around. Our bedroom with en-suite was very comfortable and met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A big thankyou to hosts Merle and Cliff for a welcoming stay. Merle cooked a lovely brekky and she really went out of her way for me with a little personal issue I experienced. We were downstairs in a room with a queen bed which was much too firm for us, the bathroom was upstairs but was just ours and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a tour of South Island as we were going to Doubtful Sound. On our arrival Merle greeted us and showed us to a double room with on-suite. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Merle invited us to dine with them as it was a quiet time and no other gusts were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I want to pre-empt this review by saying that the owner of the House of Wood is lovely. Unfortunately, it's a bit harder to find something nice to say about this accommodation... We had high hopes for the House of Wood - the place looks amazing on the website. When we arrived, we were completely underwhelmed (not a plank to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Merle665, Owner at House Of Wood, responded to this review

I am upset that the visitors did not mention any of these problems to us at the time and that it took them 11 months to write the review. I think calling it the "murder" house was harsh. We didn't kill the bird. We had a problem with rain water coming into the house in places and had it fixed... More 

Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wee recently had the opportunity to stay in Te Anau for 3 nights. The House of Wood proved to be a very nice Bed and Breakfast with fine owners who were very helpful with our travel arrangements. Breakfast was always great and were very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Birchwood Cottages
Birchwood Cottages
#4 of 25 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities