We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Te Anau B&Bs / inns

House Of Wood

44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 , New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
House Of Wood
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House Of Wood to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
REK66
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a 2 day stay in November 2014. Merle & Cliff welcomed us with coffee and cake and were friendly and helpful, offering useful information about the local tourist attractions. The House of Wood (built completely of wood as you would expect) stands out from all the other properties around. Our bedroom with en-suite was very comfortable and met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A big thankyou to hosts Merle and Cliff for a welcoming stay. Merle cooked a lovely brekky and she really went out of her way for me with a little personal issue I experienced. We were downstairs in a room with a queen bed which was much too firm for us, the bathroom was upstairs but was just ours and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gympie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a tour of South Island as we were going to Doubtful Sound. On our arrival Merle greeted us and showed us to a double room with on-suite. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Merle invited us to dine with them as it was a quiet time and no other gusts were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I want to pre-empt this review by saying that the owner of the House of Wood is lovely. Unfortunately, it's a bit harder to find something nice to say about this accommodation... We had high hopes for the House of Wood - the place looks amazing on the website. When we arrived, we were completely underwhelmed (not a plank to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Merle665, Owner at House Of Wood, responded to this review

I am upset that the visitors did not mention any of these problems to us at the time and that it took them 11 months to write the review. I think calling it the "murder" house was harsh. We didn't kill the bird. We had a problem with rain water coming into the house in places and had it fixed... More 

Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wee recently had the opportunity to stay in Te Anau for 3 nights. The House of Wood proved to be a very nice Bed and Breakfast with fine owners who were very helpful with our travel arrangements. Breakfast was always great and were very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I’m so glad we booked House of Wood. It was our first time in NZ and after a very long flight from England and a two hour car drive House of Wood, Te Anau was the first stop of our holiday. Meryl is a lovely lady, and even though she was rushed off her feet cooking for other guests, she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the House of Wood. Merle gave us lots of helpful info, including info on a short drive up to a viewpoint over Te Anau and surrounding areas which was truly beautiful. Breakfasts were yummy and we could choose what we wanted on our cooked breakfast. The room was more than adequate for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a very nice B&B with 3 different room configurations. We had a double with ensuite - big comfortable bed, lovely linen, good bathroom with lovely soft towels. Merle does all her own laundry including ironing the sheets, so it was all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with several choices and home made bread - pity I am gluten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved coming back again to this very nice B&B. Very friendly hosts and nice and clear rooms in a quite area of the village. Only a very short stroll to the shops and restaurants. Looking forward to be back when we are next in Te Anau

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were only able to stay one night at the House of Wood but wish we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds, lovely backyard, great location, delicious breakfast and great value. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to House Of Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Wood

Address: 44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your House Of Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Wood Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay