We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Te Anau B&Bs / inns

House Of Wood

44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 , New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
House Of Wood
Ranked #19 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A big thankyou to hosts Merle and Cliff for a welcoming stay. Merle cooked a lovely brekky and she really went out of her way for me with a little personal issue I experienced. We were downstairs in a room with a queen bed which was much too firm for us, the bathroom was upstairs but was just ours and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gympie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a tour of South Island as we were going to Doubtful Sound. On our arrival Merle greeted us and showed us to a double room with on-suite. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Merle invited us to dine with them as it was a quiet time and no other gusts were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I want to pre-empt this review by saying that the owner of the House of Wood is lovely. Unfortunately, it's a bit harder to find something nice to say about this accommodation... We had high hopes for the House of Wood - the place looks amazing on the website. When we arrived, we were completely underwhelmed (not a plank to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Merle665, Owner at House Of Wood, responded to this review

I am upset that the visitors did not mention any of these problems to us at the time and that it took them 11 months to write the review. I think calling it the "murder" house was harsh. We didn't kill the bird. We had a problem with rain water coming into the house in places and had it fixed... More

Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wee recently had the opportunity to stay in Te Anau for 3 nights. The House of Wood proved to be a very nice Bed and Breakfast with fine owners who were very helpful with our travel arrangements. Breakfast was always great and were very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I’m so glad we booked House of Wood. It was our first time in NZ and after a very long flight from England and a two hour car drive House of Wood, Te Anau was the first stop of our holiday. Meryl is a lovely lady, and even though she was rushed off her feet cooking for other guests, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the House of Wood. Merle gave us lots of helpful info, including info on a short drive up to a viewpoint over Te Anau and surrounding areas which was truly beautiful. Breakfasts were yummy and we could choose what we wanted on our cooked breakfast. The room was more than adequate for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a very nice B&B with 3 different room configurations. We had a double with ensuite - big comfortable bed, lovely linen, good bathroom with lovely soft towels. Merle does all her own laundry including ironing the sheets, so it was all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with several choices and home made bread - pity I am gluten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved coming back again to this very nice B&B. Very friendly hosts and nice and clear rooms in a quite area of the village. Only a very short stroll to the shops and restaurants. Looking forward to be back when we are next in Te Anau

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were only able to stay one night at the House of Wood but wish we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds, lovely backyard, great location, delicious breakfast and great value. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Merle and Cliff run a professional wooden B&B, with comfy beds, a wonderful breakfast (homemade bread, jam and marmalade, even rhubarb!), and very practical advice on what to see and do there. Although, when it rains in Te Anau, the options are somewhat limited…

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage House Of Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to House Of Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Wood

Address: 44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Also Known As:
House Of Wood Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added House Of Wood to your Saves list