We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Club Resort

171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Club Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Club Resort
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    88
    39
    17
    9
See reviews for
83
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (288)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great 4 days right on Lake Wakatipu, the room with the best view, very spacious and clean, all you could ever want, a short walk to town along the foreshore was amazing, just the right thing before breakfast. The staff were very helpful with what to do in Queenstown, nothing was to much trouble. We will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful. Place, amazing view from the room . Perfect location. Comfortable beds, loads of space in the room, close to the city center , free laundry fascility, helpful staff, loads of sightseeings places

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bea0309, Thank you for providing your much-appreciated feedback. I was thrilled to read that you had such a fantastic experience in your comfortable and contemporary apartment with lake and mountain views. I'm also pleased our friendly front desk team were able to help you plan an adventurous time in Queenstown. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a retired couple who booked through wotif and received an end room that had hardly any views and was DIRTY and noisy. $350 per night for 2 night stay at the end of our 3 week NZ holiday.(We were told it was expensive because we booked late and it was Chinese New Year so the town was busy)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi John W, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. As discussed with you during your stay, I am deeply sorry for the issues present in your hotel room upon check-in - there is no excuse for cleaning and maintenance oversights. Our hotel rooms are not advertised with views, despite having partial lake views, so as not to mislead... More 

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Oaks Club is an interesting place on the shores of Lake Wakatipu. When we first arrived we were offered a room over the drive into the car park. It was very dark and claustrophobic. However we asked to be moved and for a small fee were given a room overlooking the lake. It is very clean and well cared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi Helen B, Thank you for providing your much-appreciated review of your stay at Oaks Club. I appreciate that your initial hotel room allocation was not to your liking but am thrilled you took the opportunity to upgrade to one of our lake-view apartments! I’m also very pleased you saw that your apartment was very clean and comfortable. Our location... More 

Southern Highlands, NSW
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked through wotif and were given the worst room in the resort, on the driveway Into the parking area, the balcony actually looked into the underground parking. When we complained we were moved to another room on the ground floor overlooking the pathway into town. Not very private but Ok until the people in the adjoining room came home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi ROBYN5406, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Club. It’s very disappointing to read that you were not pleased with the location of your initial room allocation and I sincerely apologise this room was not to your liking. However I am pleased our helpful front desk team were able to move... More 

glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and it was about a 20 minute walk into Queenstown which suited us as it was lovely and quiet. We had an amazing size of balcony looking out to the Remarkables and the view was stunning. Only complaint is that although the size of these apartments are big there is only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi nosniktal, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Oaks Club. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views from your apartment and the scenic stroll along the Frankton Track into town. I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding limited storage for stays of a longer duration and am working to address this in our... More 

Basingstoke
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a very smart place with excellent views over lake Wakatipu. Like other reviewers though I would agree with the odours in the corridors. Probably due to our neighbours cooking Chinese food. The room we had is usually used as an annexe room so we didn't have a balcony or a view of the lake, but a small stroll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi grubbytech, Thank you for providing your highly-valued feedback. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views from the property and it’s surrounding areas. Although it is concerning that you experienced a strange odour throughout your corridor – please do not ever hesitate to contact reception in this scenario so that one of our friendly front desk... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

If you're just looking for a place to sleep with a good view, this place will suit you. The rooms are very standard and not homely like. Parking is tight and reception is not open very long. Wouldn't stay there again. Very commercial business with little personality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brooke A, Thank you for providing your highly-valued feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Club. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic view from your room however am disappointed that you found your room to be standard and "not homely like" as this is an extremely rare comment. We are currently planning a refurbishment of our rooms in... More 

Dunedin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The hotel is new, clean and spacious with superb views of the lake and mountains. Given that it's expensive we thought there were some basic things that could be better. Only 30 minutes free wifi per day was stingy. Telephone extensions not the same as room numbers was inconvenient. No mirror in bedroom was awkward. Some of the living room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi MikeAtkinsonDunedin, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Oaks Club. I was thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your contemporary, clean and spacious room with magnificent views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range. I appreciate your comments regarding wifi and am working to incorporate free wifi throughout the entire property in the immediate future. Your personal... More 

Hartland, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The view from our room was nice otherwise not great. There was an odor to the hallways and room. No air conditioning- room too warm. No fan. Coffee pot in room but no coffee. No one at the desk after 8 pm. Would be nice to have suitcase racks. Place was clean

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review

Hi Smerkow, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Club. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the spectacular view from your clean room. I am, however, extremely concerned to read that you experienced an odour in the hallways and room. This has not been reported by other guests or hotel staff but... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question