We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppers Beacon

33 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beacon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Peppers Beacon
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    176
    65
    41
    29
See reviews for
152
211
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (519)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (176)
All months
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights in a 3-bed/3-bath apartment...huge and very comfortable. Downside was location just next to the entry which meant we had to keep curtains drawn for privacy and noise. Staff were friendly, especially at breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room was comfortable enough but that's about the only good thing I can stay about our stay. We stayed in the studio style rooms at the front of the hotel. Walls were paper thin, alarm clock was broken (unable to change time), gym was a joke and the toilet brush... oh, the toilet brush must have been an original... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Kia Ora Ryen P, Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed where possible. You will be pleased to know that since... More 

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a family ski trip. It's in a great location with a short and flat walk to town. The ski hold area was easy to access and the mountain shuttles left from the Rydges about 100 metre walk. The continental breakfast was a fantastic start to the day before hitting the slopes. We were fortunate to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Dear Nic N, Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed where possible. Thank you very much and kind regards, More 

Tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent five nights at this hotel haven't got a bad thing to say about it. Beautiful location only a short walk to town center and staff greeted you with a smile everyday. The rooms were great I thought I was only getting a double room but I ended up getting three bedrooms all with ensuites there was a great sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Dear whiskersTasmania, Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues. It was great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and would like to come... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We treated ourselves over the Easter weekend and stayed in a one bedroom suite at Peppers Beacon for three nights. We researched a lot of hotels and eventually chose this one because of the close walking distance to town, the free underground parking and breakfast included in the morning. We received a friendly, efficient and helpful check in from Vinod... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Dear MooseandBok Thank you very much for staying at Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and I will forward on your great feedback to our team members. This wil assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed... More 

Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartment had the most stunning view of the lake from the 4th floor. The lounge, dining and kitchen were very spacious . Everything in the kitchen we needed. The projector room was wonderful. Very quiet at nigh - slept very well. Large deck with a 8 person spa pool. Absolute pleasure to stay for 5 days. Every bedroom had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Dear Karen F, Trip Advisor.is a great way to express your feedback about the time you spend in various locations and is a good way to log your travel adventures. I hope you had a great time exploring Queenstown the rest of the South Island. Regards, More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the Sleep & Go Hotel room knowing that it had "limited lake or mountain views". We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we had a (small) view of the lake, and a small balcony as well. The room itself was lovely, however we were also disappointed by the lack of free wifi and air conditioning. We visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Kia Ora Marie P Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon during your recent visit to Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stime with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed where possible. Thank you very much... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleased to stay on the 9th floor for our first visit to Peppers, of 3 days, and the room and view across the lake to the Remarkables were stunning. Our second visit was for 1 night in a 'junior suite', on the 10th (and top) floor with no lift. Crazy! We don't recommend this. It is at upper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Dear Jandghubbard, Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed where possible. Thank you very much and kind regards, More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best feature of Peppers is the location. The staff were friendly but honestly a little razzled from the previous customers giving them a hard time about their room. Unfortunately we were given a street level room (with lake views) despite requesting a higher room when we booked in Jan 2015. They were kind enough to change our room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

KiaOra Ella001 Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues and that all areas are addressed where possible. Thank you very much and kind regards, More 

Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right across from beautiful Lake Wakatipu, we stayed here two separate times on our trip. Great rooms - awesome beds, showers and room amenities. And the location cannot be beat. I would highly recommend staying here if you get to Queenstown. My only criticism is that in this day and age, I believe all hotels should offer their guests free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley G, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review

Kia Ora TravelLady143 Thank you for choosing to stay and Peppers Beacon in Queenstown and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to see that you loved your time with us! Your feedback was most appreciated and will assist us to ensure that the quality service we offer continues Thank you very much and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question