We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Caples Court to your Saves list
Caples Court
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011
james_b_1980 Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Caples Court
See the most recent reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Caples Court is decent, but not excellent. It's reasonable value, the rooms are pretty spacious and the facilities are reasonable. We were in room #9 with a small balcony overlooking the gondola, which was quite nice. As someone else has noted, the car park is quite tight so be careful when parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Caple Court is not a huge motel and is on a small site close to the town, though up the inevitable hill. Fairly small but comfortable and well-equipped unit. Manoeuvrability in the car park is a bit tight so if you have a large vehicle or are not a confident driver, this could be a problem. Owners are friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed two nights ,wish it could have been longer.Great unit had everything we needed including comfy bed and wall heater.Very friendly staff,lovely Italian girl made us feel most welcome.City centre just a short stroll away and fabulous views over the water and Gondola. Would recommend to anybody,first class.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Central Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in #7 which, although furnished very basicly, had no unit directly above and was quiet with great views of the wharf area and the Skyline Gondola. Towels were changed and garbage was collected daily. Situated up the hill from the center of Queenstown, the 10-minute walk to and from the motel could be a bit challenging for out-of-shape... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We just walked in and there was one room left in the basement. Two rooms, one bedroom and a livingroom/kitchen. It was very clean and nice all the time, except I think the staff forgot to clean our room one day - but for us it was ok! Washing machine for free, tumble 2NZD/30min. Good location, close to the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the harbour and the funicular. It was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and had everything we needed for a short stay - we would have been equally happy to stay longer. The staff were friendly and helpful and showed us two rooms to choose from - we chose the more expensive one which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I had a garden apartment, which meant no view but no noise, either, and that was fine with me. I had plenty of room, a comfortable bed (always a plus, never a given), and I thought the place was clean and well furnished enough. I wanted a convenient place from which to go hiking without a car, and this motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Very disappointing. Owners very offhand, room was not clean and also a bit shabby. Wouldn't recommend it - lots of other better places nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

In response to your complaints-. Firstly regarding 6.30pm arrival- on your confirmation it is written reception hours are at minimum 6pm and to inform us of your estimated arrival time as after hours arrival instructions are given- no on-site management. Secondly- you booked directly via booking page and on the conditions it clearly states "we cannot guarantee requests". Unit 9... More

4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We chose this place because of it's proximity to the city centre and for the views, as we are both photographers. We booked and prepaid unit 5 for our 4 teenages and Unit 9 with its own private balcony overlooking the mountains for ourselves. When we arrived it was about 6.30 and although still daylight reception had closed and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Hi there We honeymoon'd NZD in May this year. We spent 10 days in the south islands. The worst part of the honeymoon for us was the Caples Court Motel. Their service was horrible and the rooms were small and suffocating....compared to rest of NZD, where people were incredibly polite and friendly, these guys were not!!! The view from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Caples Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Caples Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caples Court

Address: 20 Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caples Court 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caples Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caples Court Hotel Queenstown

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (11)
Room/suite (3)
Dining (1)
Hotel & grounds (4)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (3)
Other (3)


Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer