We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Queenstown hotels

Oaks Shores

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 5%!
Save Saved
You added Oaks Shores to your Saves list
Oaks Shores
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #42 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (429)
  • Photos (323)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (92)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    141
    54
    41
    18
See reviews for
133
181
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay two night in two bedroom apartment. The apartment facility is brilliant and decoration is sweetly and beautiful. Room have washing mashing and dry machine, which we clean most of cloths there. Lake just at front us and they have a small walk pass can go through to lake side. Staff are friendly as well. nice stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for two nights, but wish we could have stayed longer! We had a lake view, two bed apartment (on double, and one twin room), each room having its own bathroom. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we could need, and it was nice and warm. The best part though was the view! We could see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a two bedroom Lake view apartment. We had the one on the end of the block so it was lovely and full of light (except for the second bedroom) as it had extra windows and was really spacious. The outlook is fantastic and it's a pleasant 40min walk along the lake track into town. 40mins is at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views from your apartment and the beautiful walk into town! It is a lovely walk where some of the best photos of Queenstown can be taken! It is great to hear that your apartment had everything your family... More

Christchurch
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here many times but this will be our last time. The rooms are tired and dirty - stains all over the walls, dishwashers that don't clean properly, cleaners that don't care and staff that are unhelpful. We had a miscommunication and booked two rooms instead of one and rang straightaway to cancel one and were told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am sorry to hear about issues you have mentioned in your review. I spoke with you at reception when one of your later arrival rooms was checking in. Although you did note you had some issues when I asked for further information about this you did not want to explain... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have come back to Queenstown and The Oaks! Our stay in Jan this year was great and my partner wanted to experience Queenstown in the winter! Everything at the hotel was as good as last time! They have redone the reception and restaurant and let’s face it - it needed doing! But the outcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your second visit with us! Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the recently refurbished reception and restaurant. I will certainly be passing this onto the staff! It is great to hear that you noticed our recent upgrades which did include... More

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my wife and 3 kids (9 yrs, 6 yrs and 20 months) and booked a 2 bedroom apartment. We had a lake view room and the views were amazing. The apartment had a room with queen bed and another with 2 twins and a cot - set up for 5. However everything else in the apartment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views from your apartment! Our two bedroom apartments should always be set up with 6 of everything - plates, glasses, cutlery, etc. I apologise that this was not the case during your stay. Please do let us know in future and... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

extremely incompetent staff at check in. Allocated me wrong room TWICE. almost walked into someone else's room! waited half hour in the hall way while they sorted it out discovered that they had double charged me. once from the actual hotel oaks shores and then once from their sister hotel oaks club resort (which i never booked or stayed in).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am sorry to hear about the two incidents you have mentioned in your review. I am aware that our front office accidently charged your credit card and on realising their mistake, refunded the card at a later stage. I do apologise for this and I can assure you that this... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had actually booked into the Mantra Marina but were "upgraded" to this sister apartment. 3 double bedrooms for a family of 4 - 2 adults and a 16 year old and 15 year old boys. Fantastic size of apartment with gas log fire,central heating and underfloor heating. Fantastic lake and mountain views. Easy 25 minute walk into town via... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the space and features of your apartment! They really do provide everything you need during your stay! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the magnificent views offered at Oaks Shores and made use of the free shuttle service! I... More

Darwin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall hotel was nice Had to pay $85 for 7 days of Wifi if you didnt want the free sporadic wifi turn on and off when it suited Car parking was lacking making cars park allover the place Hotel in good location with a short 30 minute walk into queenstown or 3km

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Shores overall and liked the location of the property! It certainly is in a handy location, especially with our free shuttle service operating from 9am - 11am and 4pm - 9pm! Unfortunately, at peak times of... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed at this resort recently it has the most beautiful view but the overall service was disappointing . The cleanjng staff were struggling throughout the day that by the time they came to service our room we felt sorry for them so only took towels. Other days when the room was attended too it was well below our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jaimee D, Manager at Oaks Shores, responded to this review

Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Shores! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the views from you room! I am sorry to hear your feedback in relation to the customer service and room servicing you received during your stay. This is not the standard service we provide to our valued guests. I would welcome... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oaks Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oaks Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Shores

Address: 327 - 343 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Shores 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oaks Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Shores Queenstown
Oaks Shores Hotel Queenstown

323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (314)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
View from room (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#38 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the very scenic Lake Wakatipu, Oaks Shores is a luxuriously appointed Queenstown apartment-style hotel in the most popular New Zealand’s ski resort town, Queenstown. Each spacious apartment is impeccably appointed with chic, contemporary furnishings and balconies, most with stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges (Hotel Rooms do not have views). This perfectly located Queenstown accommodation includes 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments, all with under floor heating, double glazed windows and superb kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

See which rooms travelers prefer