We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Village

643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Alpine Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Michael S Denpasar, Indonesia
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    10
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best place we have stayed in Queenstown. The apartment was very well equiped and the views were stunning. The overall layout was also impressive, a very well designed space with the gas fire place being the highlight for us, a wonderful place to sit with a bottle of wine after a days skiing. Many thanks to Pete and Michelle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 years ago and happy that we came back. Check in again a flawless process even when management aren't on site. Stayed in 1 bdr this time, 14A. Great view (again) of lake. Apartment always warm with electric blankets on bed and floor heating on bathroom. This time unfortunately we did come across some dirty bowls with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Cleanish, bed comfortable. No coffee plunger, dirty cutlery and were given disabled access unit without being advised. Curtains in lounge coming off broken tracks. Very very basic and certainly over priced for what was on offer. Would not consider a repeat visit. Has to be zero for service as there was none. Not an office or person in sight

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Overall, we had a good stay, bed extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. !! That is your opening line in your email you sent to me prior to going on Tripadvisor, then you went on about how a disabled apt upset you, ( I wonder what Disabilty NZ would think of those comments) hinting that even though you only paid $159... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Nicely furnished apartment that made us go wow when we entered and saw the view. The location is good. 5 min drive to Queenstown, 5-10 min drive to the supermarket near the airport and walk down a few steps to a nice leafy walkway along the lake. The room felt like a nice place to be and spend some time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for wonderful comments, it is greatly appreciated. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed in a studio apartment which was large enough for what we wanted. Loved the large balcony with terrific views. We were metres from the lake. Short distance to Queenstown and airport. Not having a reception was no issue, value for money. Bed I think was 2 beds zipped together so ridge in the middle, not very comfortable. Would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, the Waterfront studios are great, it almost feels like you are hanging out over the water. You are correct the beds are split kings, so they can be made into two singles. They do have another top mattress on them plus mattress protector so can only guess the lump in the bed may have been... More 

Kilcoy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived in Queenstown not knowing the area we were worried about the location of the property however we soon realised if you want a nice relaxing time this is the place. It is not in walking distance to the cbd however it is a huge party town with heaps of backpackers, it would be very noisy staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, it is so refreshing after a series of moaners. The views are spectacular and I agree it is very peaceful but close enough to enjoy the day and night lights of downtown, we try to keep our rates competitive compared to the other lakefront properties, hope to see you back again very... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
393 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

There is not much "Alpine" about the Alpine Village. The batch of apartments is squeezed in between the Frankton Main road and the lake. If you are unlucky and get too close to the road you will find it very noisy, and most locations in the congested site only get glimpses of the lake. The airport is just to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

One of the main reasons that our rates are so low for waterfront apts is that we do not have the expense of running an office on site and staff etc, and I am sure the room rate was part of the motivation to book with us. No Holiday apts are in the back row near the road they are... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed at the Alpine Village apartments for three nights in January with friends staying in a nearby apartment - same complex. The facilities look great on the website and the view from the apartments is impressive overlooking the lake and the mountains. A short distance to drive into Queenstown and in the direction to the airport makes this a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

One of the main reasons our rates are so good is the fact that we don't have a reception on site, although our contact numbers are posted everywhere should there be a problem, The beds are split king beds, with Mattress comforter, Mattress protector and electric blanket, our bedding rating is 4.5 out of 5 so I can only assume... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights and were happy most of all with the views over the lake and access to the Frankton walking track. A few things that weren't major but did make our stay a little uncomfortable included the tight parking spaces in front of the apartment, the wifi (it was very glitchy and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, apologies for the pillows, they are such a personal item it is not always easy to have ones that suit everyone.. I have looked through our web sites and I can't see anywhere we say free Wifi... We do say Wifi is available and we do give guests on arrival the first 250 mb for... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

After reading everyones reveiws its clear that the world is full of precious guests "no dishwasher etc....". If you dont know how to make a bed and run some hot water in the sink, you probably should still be living with parents. The location of these apartments were perfect for us. We didnt notice any noise from other apartments or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#30 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goldridge Resort
Goldridge Resort
#41 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay