We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Village

643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpine Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cleanliness was lacking, the heat-pump (Air conditioner) looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months (You could see the built up dust from the opposite side of room). The bathroom vent was also disgusting. Drawer fronts on kitchen joinery were loose and almost falling off. Advertising said TVs in unit were 42 inch where as the one in the unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank wazznz
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After we booked the accomadation, we saw some bad reviews on trip advisor, re slow wifi, getting a disabled room and needs a clean, so we wondered what to expect. On arrival the key safe worked well, the apartment was a disabled one but how this is a problem I have no idea, bigger doors, who cares, a bigger shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feed back, I agree how a disabled apartment is an issue is beyond my understanding.... We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully next ti,e your berth the boat up and come and stay again. All the best and Thanks. Regards, Pete More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Expected it to be noisy but double glazing eliminated this. We were given a disabled one bedroom apartment but not sure why. The bed was far too big for the room which made accessing suitcases difficult. The bathroom was dominated by the washing machine for which it was not designed. Two good size sofas in the living room and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PuhoiRiverLady
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

It never ceases to amaze me that people can be offended by a disabled apartment, i can't understand why and extra wide shower with a seat in it would upset anyone or maybe its that the doors open the out instead of in..... Apologies for the washing machine, it is the only one bedroom apot with a washing machine and... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

On first sight this apartment complex is not very attractive, but once inside the building our one bedroom apartment was a very pleasant surprise. It was enormous with lovely lake views. I thought there might be traffic noise but there was none, nor any noise from other apartments. It included an integral lock-up garage. There were a few small things... More 

Helpful?
Thank LizfromNSW
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Stayed in apartment 11A - a two bedroom one - for three nights. No problems with the key collection from the box. Spotless on arrival and advised by the manager of a hob ring not working which was fine by me as I was only doing basic cooking while on holiday. Being the Friday night of the Queenstown Marathon weekend... More 

Helpful?
Thank holly-t69
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Over the previous 5 years we have had three visits here at these apartments bringing more people each time-enough to warrant paying for the penthouse for our three nights this year. The views are spectacular, really amazing and the place extremely warm. We self catered for the majority of our stay (with the exception of our visits to Fergburger, Gibbston... More 

Helpful?
Thank amandajayne81
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, while the self check in system is not your usual system it does allow us not to have an office on site and all the associated costs involved which in turn means a a much better room rate for our guests. Hope to see you back for your fourth visit. Regards, Pete More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Unfortunately we booked this stay without first reading the reviews, by the time we did it was too late to change our choice. When I contacted management re: what to expect about disabled room (due to the bad reviews floating online) they were rude and very defensive, not friendly people at all, glad they aren't based on site! We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misbah S
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review

You called twice about the disabled room, difference as I explained was a larger shower, handle beside the toilet and doors that open out not in, why that would upset you is beyond my understanding, I was not rude it was you who was rude, I called your partner/ husband and said that you could cancel for no penalty as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

The best place we have stayed in Queenstown. The apartment was very well equiped and the views were stunning. The overall layout was also impressive, a very well designed space with the gas fire place being the highlight for us, a wonderful place to sit with a bottle of wine after a days skiing. Many thanks to Pete and Michelle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago and happy that we came back. Check in again a flawless process even when management aren't on site. Stayed in 1 bdr this time, 14A. Great view (again) of lake. Apartment always warm with electric blankets on bed and floor heating on bathroom. This time unfortunately we did come across some dirty bowls with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shang80
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Cleanish, bed comfortable. No coffee plunger, dirty cutlery and were given disabled access unit without being advised. Curtains in lounge coming off broken tracks. Very very basic and certainly over priced for what was on offer. Would not consider a repeat visit. Has to be zero for service as there was none. Not an office or person in sight

Helpful?
Thank MACS77B
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Overall, we had a good stay, bed extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. !! That is your opening line in your email you sent to me prior to going on Tripadvisor, then you went on about how a disabled apt upset you, ( I wonder what Disabilty NZ would think of those comments) hinting that even though you only paid $159... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goldridge Resort
Goldridge Resort
#43 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood, Queenstown
Sherwood, Queenstown
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay