We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Village

643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Alpine Village
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
MACS77B Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cleanish, bed comfortable. No coffee plunger, dirty cutlery and were given disabled access unit without being advised. Curtains in lounge coming off broken tracks. Very very basic and certainly over priced for what was on offer. Would not consider a repeat visit. Has to be zero for service as there was none. Not an office or person in sight

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Overall, we had a good stay, bed extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. !! That is your opening line in your email you sent to me prior to going on Tripadvisor, then you went on about how a disabled apt upset you, ( I wonder what Disabilty NZ would think of those comments) hinting that even though you only paid $159... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nicely furnished apartment that made us go wow when we entered and saw the view. The location is good. 5 min drive to Queenstown, 5-10 min drive to the supermarket near the airport and walk down a few steps to a nice leafy walkway along the lake. The room felt like a nice place to be and spend some time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for wonderful comments, it is greatly appreciated. More 

Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed in a studio apartment which was large enough for what we wanted. Loved the large balcony with terrific views. We were metres from the lake. Short distance to Queenstown and airport. Not having a reception was no issue, value for money. Bed I think was 2 beds zipped together so ridge in the middle, not very comfortable. Would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, the Waterfront studios are great, it almost feels like you are hanging out over the water. You are correct the beds are split kings, so they can be made into two singles. They do have another top mattress on them plus mattress protector so can only guess the lump in the bed may have been... More 

Kilcoy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived in Queenstown not knowing the area we were worried about the location of the property however we soon realised if you want a nice relaxing time this is the place. It is not in walking distance to the cbd however it is a huge party town with heaps of backpackers, it would be very noisy staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, it is so refreshing after a series of moaners. The views are spectacular and I agree it is very peaceful but close enough to enjoy the day and night lights of downtown, we try to keep our rates competitive compared to the other lakefront properties, hope to see you back again very... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
86 hotel reviews
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

There is not much "Alpine" about the Alpine Village. The batch of apartments is squeezed in between the Frankton Main road and the lake. If you are unlucky and get too close to the road you will find it very noisy, and most locations in the congested site only get glimpses of the lake. The airport is just to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

One of the main reasons that our rates are so low for waterfront apts is that we do not have the expense of running an office on site and staff etc, and I am sure the room rate was part of the motivation to book with us. No Holiday apts are in the back row near the road they are... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed at the Alpine Village apartments for three nights in January with friends staying in a nearby apartment - same complex. The facilities look great on the website and the view from the apartments is impressive overlooking the lake and the mountains. A short distance to drive into Queenstown and in the direction to the airport makes this a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

One of the main reasons our rates are so good is the fact that we don't have a reception on site, although our contact numbers are posted everywhere should there be a problem, The beds are split king beds, with Mattress comforter, Mattress protector and electric blanket, our bedding rating is 4.5 out of 5 so I can only assume... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights and were happy most of all with the views over the lake and access to the Frankton walking track. A few things that weren't major but did make our stay a little uncomfortable included the tight parking spaces in front of the apartment, the wifi (it was very glitchy and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, apologies for the pillows, they are such a personal item it is not always easy to have ones that suit everyone.. I have looked through our web sites and I can't see anywhere we say free Wifi... We do say Wifi is available and we do give guests on arrival the first 250 mb for... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

After reading everyones reveiws its clear that the world is full of precious guests "no dishwasher etc....". If you dont know how to make a bed and run some hot water in the sink, you probably should still be living with parents. The location of these apartments were perfect for us. We didnt notice any noise from other apartments or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I just saw another review that sums up my experience quite well but noticed the managers response was very harsh saying that the person 'must have a lot of time on their hands', which is not professional. I agree on some of the points but my main critique is the beds. We were told we were getting a double and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

I will be very gentle so you do not believe that I am also being Harsh to you, I have looked all through the web sites where we advertise and no where do I see that the two bedroom apts come with anything but 1KING BED AND TWO SINGLES, so not sure why you thought that there would be any... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wonderful lake views, we were lucky enough to have a washing machine in our apartment (very handy). Apartment had everything we needed, very nice bathrooms, comfy beds with electric blankets. Parking outside the apartment garage is a hassle as people just park anywhere and can block you in (not a big deal though). Our room did have condensation issue in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities