We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    180
    54
    23
    10
See reviews for
137
602
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (953)
  • Mar-May only
    (282)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (228)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (210)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (233)
All months
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Sofitel in Queenstown for two nights. We had a lovely big room on the 6th floor was warm and cosy and had everything we needed. The bed was huge and so comfy! Staff were really helpful - big thanks to the young guy who tried to book me in for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NZ_Scooter, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a joyous experience during your stay in the hotel and that you enjoyed your room and our central location. Our Ambassadors are committed to our guests during their stay and approach our service in a very tailored and boutique manner. We thank... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we travelled a lot and we can say this hotel is the best. the customer service n staff is 6+. they treat you like a king and queen. They are very helpful and will do anything for you. Specially Ogi from the lounge n also Simon from concierge. We stayed in executive floor n everythings is very best. The cleanest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear loveinpeace We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay during your time in Queenstown. Our Ambassadors are committed to our guests during their stay and approach our service in a very tailored and boutique manner. We therefore appreciate your comments about both Ogie and Simon, they are very vital members members of our team. We look forward... More 

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are the moment in Queenstown in New Zealand at the Sofitel and I would like to recommend this hotel, it is lovely location and the staff are really wonderful, nothing is trouble, they do anything for you. I like to mention a great service from Nolito, head waiter which is always happy to do anything for you, wonderful asset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear YolandaP266, We want to thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful comments about our Ambassadors, in this particular case Nolito. He is indeed a prized asset, we are very lucky to have him on our team. We appreciate... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 2 nights in April. Our room- Prestige Suite- overlooked the city. It was very spacious and clean. Circular room layout with one of the largest parts being the bathroom. We didn't make use of the spa bath, but looked lovely. Breakfast was simple and fresh. We enjoyed evening canapés and drinks in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MissMarie95503, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you Sofitel experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt so special during your stay. We appreciate your comments about our room, executive lounge, our breakfast and especially our LeSpa. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the... More 

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is right in the thick of things in downtown Queenstown. Literally a 30-second walk to all the restaurants and shops. I stayed here for 4 nights in total and it's an amazing oasis to come back to after a day of strenuous hiking/rafting/activities around Queenstown. Staff are super friendly and catered to your every need. Rooms are plush,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear SheldyC, First of all we appreciate you taking the time out to share your Sofitel Queenstown experience, also thank you for bringing the issue with the showers to our attention.We apologize for this and are taking measures so that such a problem does not happen again. Please feel free to contact me on nicolas.soutot@sofitelqueenstown.com if you would like to... More 

Timaru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived for a 3 night stay and staff greeted us with bonjour. Exceptionally friendly staff and extremely attentive. Concierge took us to our room and showed us around. Bags were delivered to our room while we parked our car. Breakfast was superb, beds are super comfortable and bathroom is spacious and lovely large shower. This hotel is the best place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lynnelivsey, Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you had a nice stay with us. Our Ambassadors are committed to our guests during their stay and approach our service in a very tailored and boutique manner. We really appreciate your comment which is a true testament to the passion of our... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

very good service but noisy hotel,even though we requested a quiet room and it was away from the bars around the corner,every night until 3.00am we had the noise from the street,also they need to install better room doors on framework as everyone who goes in and out of there rooms it is so noisy,my wife is a light sleeper... More 

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Bonjour tim1106, Thank you very much for your candid review about the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your honest feedback about the noise disturbance. It allows us to improve our service. Rest assured that myself and the management team have taken your feedback on and we will evaluate the different points. We do have special doors installed in... More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sofitel is centrally located in Queenstown and offers quick access to the downtown or to the gondola that takes you up Bob's Peak overlooking the town. Well laid out bathroom. Closet, safe, shower, and Jacuzzi tub. In the bathroom, there is a tricky sidestick controller for the faucet that takes a bit of practice to master, but it makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Bonjour RebelVirginia, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are truly delighted that you had an unforgettable stay with us. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our French decor, our unbeatable central location and your room facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Sofitel... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed several times at this hotel, great location, concierge was fantastic and nothing was a problem. Had breakfast 1st morning ordered Al a carte apart from the eggs the rest was terrible, told the waiter he said he will pass it on to the chef, I dont think that there was a proper chef on that morning, Which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Bonjour 375davidm, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. Recognition is very important to us and we are pleased to read that our Ambassadors exceeded your expectations providing the personalized service that we pride ourselves on. We are sincerely sorry to read that you didn't fully enjoy your stay in our hotel.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the buffet breakfast although it took a very long time to receive the eggs benedict we ordered and the wait staff cleared our champagne off the table when we went to the buffet - we had just sat down! Room was immaculate, lots of amenities, great coffee machine but this time there was no turn down service, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NicolasSouto, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Bonjour apricots9, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We really appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to improve our service to our guests. We are pleased to read that you had another comfortable stay with us and that on your 4th visit you enjoyed the facilities and service received from our Ambassadors. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (212)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question