We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
2abc switzerland
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    60
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
155
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Central Ridge is a Country Lodge style B&B with 12 Rooms, some of them with small balconies ( ground floor ) or garden seating ( lower level ) or just large windows on the 1st floor are decorated in a sleek minimal country home style with comfortable king beds, a lounge corner, work desk and a 26" flatscreen TV,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location, friendly staff, spacious room, close to town - we took our own bike and stored in their garage (garage was filled with other stuff, but it was good they could still fit out bikes) - had an awesome time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No, you can't see the lake from here, but you can walk through a lovely park to the centre and you'll get a clean, warm and quiet room. There is not much to say about this hotel: it is just a 'normal' hotel. We had a quite spacious room in a corner (T2) which was nice. It is definitely not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmette IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two days in February, 2015. The place was billed as a luxury hotel, I considered it closer to an average Hampton Inn. Our room was large, but sparsely furnished. It faced a street, and with the window open, we could hear the partiers in the building next door talking into the wee hours.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Central Ridge Boutique Hotel was a very pleasant way to visit Queenstown, New Zealand. This boutique hotel is located one block from the downtown tourist area. We stayed 3 nights in two different rooms. The rooms were large, with glass doors that opened onto a small, private balcony. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Although breakfast is usually at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The Good: The location of this hotel is excellent. It's only a 3 minute walk from the hotel to the main drag in Queenstown. Staff is knowledgable regarding local cuisines and activities, and goes the extra mile to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The Bad: The rooms have very poor air circulation because the hotel does not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

It's so hard to wrote a review of this hotel. The location was fantastic! The staff some of the friendliest we encountered. Really just wonderful accommodating people. The rooms spacious but bare bones dorm like decor. if you happen to stay on a warm/hot day there is no ac. I had no idea. One night I couldn't sleep and almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel based on the rating for three nights and although the staff were very friendly the hotel was of poor standard and the hotel costs were extremely over priced for the substandard accommodation. In fact the staff informed me that they rarely get any repeat business, so it does bring into question how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CentralRidge, Guest Relations Manager at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you time to write a review about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you were happy with our staff. However, we are very sorry that your opinion of us was affected by a false comment made by a junior staff member who was unable to provide you with accurate information. Due to you extending... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed just one night here in a delux room, with breakfast and free wifi. It was quite an expensive choice for us on this trip but it was in a great location in the town which is a tourist must-do if you are in New Zealand. That said, Queenstown is an expensive place and we felt we had chosen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CentralRidge, Front Office Manager at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Central Ridge Boutique Hotel for your stay. We thank you for the high rating for the hotel’s location and rooms. It is wonderful to hear that your enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff so friendly and helpful. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings at check in from our staff when you check in.... More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The Good: - Extremely friendly staff, they make it feel like home - Homey, cozy ambience - Great location, very central - All the little extra touches that made the stay more special The Bad: - The place feels a little bit old and worn out, almost like an old boarding house - There is a strange smell the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CentralRidge, Manager at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Clarinta, thank you for a very clear and constructive feedback. We are glad that we made you feel like at home. That is what we hope to achieve and it is a great compliment from you. Your other points give us a great lead on what to improve. I am sorry to hear we did not provide the value... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
2:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question