We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Certificate of Excellence
Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    28
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Skokie, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel because of it's fantastic TripAdvisor reviews and I'm so glad I did. I am a hotelier and this hotel is capable of living up to anyone's standards. Service- the owners are fantastic and super nice. There is more hospitality that comes from these two than most luxury hotel chains. The big companies should take a page... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 3nights for a 1bedroom apartment. Check in was easy with Wayne. He's bright and very cheerful and its refreshing to have such exciting welcome. Wayne showed me the room and give me a quick intro on the do and don'ts. The room has an amazing view, big space in the living area and a decent kitchen space. There's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
73 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second stay at Whistler, our previous visit was five years ago. From the moment we arrived we knew that this was going to be a revival of our previous wonderful vacation in Queenstown. We were welcomed by the owners like we were long lost friends and immediately we caught up on all our news and felt at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wayne was really friendly on our arrival & checked us in to apartment 22. Was larger than expected with a double & single bed in bedroom. Large bathroom & great kitchen. Balcony had a view of the Gondola & paragliders. Nice chairs & TV with DVD player. Was only 6 minutes to town so can park your car & walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The position of the apartments in the near centre of Queenstown was ideal, the apartments were spacious, exceptionally clean, quality equipment and a delight to stay at! shall be back with the grandchildren in a few years. Jan & Wayne were very helpful on all occasions. David Marsh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What can I say about Wayne and Jan - fantastic hosts, so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Our apartment was perfect, super clean and had everything we needed. This is an ideal location for Queenstown activities and I loved sitting on the little balcony with a glass of wine watching the world go by. We stayed here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been staying there so many times over the last 6 years, but what happened this time? Wayne (the manager) was so offensive, so unprofessional, there is little chance I can ever respect him again. He basically accused me of bringing a prostitute as my travel companion and he clearly expressed his concerns for the reputation of his motel. How dare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown, responded to this review

I did not and would never use the word or “blatantly insinuate” your travelling companion was a “prostitute”. I’m sure you would not have actually stayed on this occasion if I had as you say offended you to this extent. You made no mention of this whilst you were here so it is very surprising you chose to articulate your... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is so well set up and exactly what we needed without breaking our budget. Location was excellent, being close to everything but not too close to the busy town centre. Lovely view of the mountain and gondola too. The apartments are well laid out, clean and comfortable. During a brief cold snap we experienced we discovered that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely lived up to expectations, up to date, clean comfortable and very well set up. Convenient to town and also only a short walk up the road to the supermarket if you want to do a little cooking. Staff very friendly and helpful, no issues. Stairs could be a problem for some.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This was a good choice and lived up to the other reviews. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The apartment was very comfortable and roomy. Very convenient location, just a 5 or so minute walk to restaurants, a few minutes up the hill to a big grocery store. Good views. Good setup for the apartment, the bedroom was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities