We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Queenstown accommodations

The Black Sheep Backpackers

13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
The Black Sheep Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    31
    16
    16
See reviews for
5
52
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 5 nights in a double room! Pros: good location (5 mins walk to city centre), clean rooms, tv in the room, free wifi, friendly staff (helpful for booking activities), quiet at night. Cons: there are no private bathrooms and you have to walk outside through the public area to have a shower, no doors (only shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brasilia, DF
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights in a double room with shared toilet/shower. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. They stored part of our luggage for 5 days and gave us great tips about the town. The free bike hire was also a plus. Everything was pretty clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, great you got to stay for a few nights to get a good overall view of our property. glad you found us helpful and friendly. always happy to store luggage and point you in the right direction in town. bikes are great and get well used, next summer we hope to add more to our fleet. we have... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to wait for 20 mins for check -in and the staff was telling us " you just need to wait " . Not professional at all.. very bad front counter customer service. Poor sound system kept us awake through all night when someone flushed a toilet..

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, sorry you had to wait to check in, 3pm in peak season is the check in time. we have just got a new sound system through reception, kitchen, lounge that gets turned off at night and quiet hours :-) thanks More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pretty loud(due to type of stayers), smokers claim the out door areas(right in the middle you can't avoid) and their smoke blows up the stairs, doors and windows. Also check out is crowded with only one desk worker. scrambler330

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks we have just added no smoking outside of all room areas top and bottom, and left an area in the garden for this as we agree it was entering the rooms!!! resolved and lots better thanks for help us to rectify this. As most backpackers of our size we would only have one desk worker. we are... More

Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled with three people and had couple and twin rooms. The rooms are clean, with TV´s, coffee/Tea facilities and towels. Unfortunately it was very load, you´re able to hear every noise on the corridor. Everywhere is (disgusting) carpet, the kitchen is too small for all the people and there were not enough refrigerator. Also at the shower or wash... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys thanks for the review we are please you found the rooms clean etc. all the carpets are cleaned regular and new ones in all private rooms over the low season this year, not sure which area you found dirty, apologies for that. our location tends to cater for a quiet crowd of guests. as we are not right... More

Nilai, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very bad front counter customer services. Never met such bad service provider before during our travels. We gotto wait until 3pm ++ to check in but found out that the room was actually not ready, it's messy!! Truely disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, sorry check in is 3pm, before if the rooms are ready! we have just changed to a more secure reservations system which did slow us up in Feb and March a tad, but we do have a window of 10am-3pm to get people to check out (usually on time lol) and then get in and clean all the... More

Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed just one night, but we were very satisfied. Staff were friendly, shover clean, room also clean with nice towels. We would defenitely recommend it, better than some 4 stars hotel in Queenstown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for your review, friendly, clean and enjoyed the fresh rooms which we are updateing and improving, sounds like you were happy with these...and rated us close to a 4 star thats awesome... see you next time :-) More

New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed in a double room at the Back Sheep for two nights recently. The room was OK with tea and coffee making facilities, tea, coffee, sugar and milk supplied, a small TV, good heating but the downside was very synthetic bedding. Yuk! Being the busy time of year it was nearly full and the kitchen couldn't cope with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for your comments, yes looks like you were here at our Peak of the year! lol, we have just installed a new check in system via ipad and also a new reservations/online system that will stream line things but of course with anything new we are still training all staff on this so we have been slower... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived early to check in, however the staff said we were still able to use facilities which was great! After a cold drive over a warm fire was very welcoming! We stayed in a bunk room which was comfortable and enough for what we needed! Wifi access was good and common area and film night was very much enjoyed!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for the great feedback. We have just installed a new High speed Internet connection for guests (and staff) lol. always welcome to use facilities before and after check in, so am glad that you enjoyed this bonus.we did have a cold snap so heating and the fire were cranking and great you were welcomed with this. Glad... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Black sheep for two nights and were greeted by what we witnessed to be the one & only person with customer service experience that worked at this hostel. She was an Argentinian woman who was extremely pleasant & was the epitome of politeness. Our rooms were clean and spacious & we were pleasantly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for your feedback and glad that you had a nice check in. and we are very happy you liked the rooms as well thats great. apologies for your negative feedback on other staff, we found this very strange as we constantly rate extremely high on customer service, so i'm unsure if you had something happen whilst here.... More

Been to The Black Sheep Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel
Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Black Sheep Backpackers to your Saves list