We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Queenstown accommodations

Southern Laughter Lodge

3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Southern Laughter Lodge to your Saves list
Southern Laughter Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Geneva L Queenstown, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
2
38
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel was conveniently located, however our room was a let down due to a lack of privacy as the wall and door facing the hallway had double windows. The hallway light was left on all evening for the duration of our six night stay meaning that our room was always bright and it was more difficult to sleep. People... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Homely little place with a nice reception and staff. Rooms however were a let down. Heaters were half useless as they were tiny and switched off automatically every 30 minutes. Showers were absolutely terrible. The water was freezing cold, easily my worst showering experience in NZ. Living room of the bunk smelt absolutely horrible. On the plus side, staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had issues with the shower in your unit, If you made us aware of it something could have been done to rectify it, The bathroom in your unit had been recently renovated and the hot water runs off mains gas and should provide unlimited hot water, if this was faulty we were unaware of it. I... More

Auckland, NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the location is amazing, only a couple of minutes walk into central Queenstown. It's also quite cheap which is great. Staff were friendly. We had a double room for a couple. Problems - a bit dirty - night-time noise (to be expected at backpackers) - it smells... like a toilet at times - pillows were terrible, twice the size and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Some of our bathrooms are currently under renovation. More

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing staff, especially Kayleigh and Cole! Everyone was very accommodating and flexible, which was a HUGE help considering the hostel was very busy during my time there, and my travel plans were very up in the air. They always found a way to help fit me in to a room somewhere even when I had no reservations and was looking... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review! We were glad to have you stay with us. Thanks for adding a great vibe to the place :) More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were friendlu and a definite positive yo our stay. Our room was just a bed and small tv in the corner which was all we were after (not the tv). There is so much going on in Qtwn I've never wanted to hang out in my bedroom. Facilities were sweet although one shower was crap but in all... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you found your room comfortable and our facilities satisfactory. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay, in a private double room. Bed was a bit average but definitely sleepable and fine for the price. Spa looked great but didn't get a chance to enjoy it. Very friendly and fun staff :) Good location, nice and close to town so could walk everywhere

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Southern Laughter and hope you continue to enjoy your time in New Zealand! More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Basic hostel but decent value for money, easily the cheapest we stayed in during our time in Queenstown. Wifi was very poor and the cleaning is done by residents which wasn't great - they did a basic clean and took your alcohol if it wasn't clearly labelled. Very lively social place to stay and an excellent location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry Southern Laughter did not fully live up to your expectations. Our free and unlimited wifi is available all around the hostel but definitely works best in the lounges. During peak hours the wifi can be a little slow as it would be at any hostel. There are notices saying that any food and beverage stored in the communal fridges... More

Kuala Pilah, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights,and the room is near spa area.traveller make lot of noise when using the facility.the twin room r small compare to others we have stayed during our trip.but the staff r friendly and helpful and with wifi at our room.if can just look for others backpacker hostel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry Southern Laughter did not fully live up to your expectations. In regards to your concerns about noise coming from the spa, we lock it up every night at 9pm so the noise shouldn't have been a problem after then. I'm glad you enjoyed some of the amenities we offer such as the free unlimited wifi. Hope you have a... More

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Really liked this hostel. Staff were friendly, bed was comfy, free wifi and v close to the city centre. The showers was really powerful which is always a bonus! Loved the outdoor balcony outside my bedroom - would highly recommend staying here :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Aotearoa More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

One of the issues I had was the lack of bathrooms. Fair enough, the shower on our floor was being refurbed but the toilet didn't even have a working light. The other bathroom was upstairs in the middle of the kitchen/lounge which I didn't like. I went up to the toiletin the middle of the night and there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you bought these issues to our attention we could of resolved most of them for you by moving you to a different section of the hostel away from the balcony and t.v lounge and nearer to the other bathrooms. A full refund for any unstayed nights is always given... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Southern Laughter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Laughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Lodge

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Laughter Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Southern Laughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer