We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Laughter Lodge

4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Southern Laughter Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Leivsa
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
2
59
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked a twin room with single occupancy. Photos on booking.com showed 2 separate beds in room and advertised room as being 10sq mtrs. My room had a set of bunks a very small high window and was approx sq mtrs, very dark and dingy, handle fell off door when I went out. went to front desk , waited for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Brent, As you can understand we are a busy hostel- and our staff are not always at the desk as we are busy helping out in other parts of the hostel. However we have a pager to get service at the desk as is common practice in many hostels. we are never more than 30 seconds away! we do... More 

Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had stayed in southern laughters sister hostel in Franz josef, which was excellent. Southern laughter fell far short of that. I have stayed in 40+ hostels and this was up there with the worst. The bedroom was tiny, draughty and pretty worn out looking. The kitchen was small, crowded and dirty. It looks as though there may be quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Well sadly we were a little shocked to read your review. I myself personally dealt with your partner and the situation regarding your refund and I was told rather a different story. Your partner informed me that you were in fact unwell . As a solution I tried to find a room for you with an en suite... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful staff who gave us directions to various places and let us lend their telephone. The rooms were good with AC so that you could change the temperature in the room if you wanted. They have several kitchen which means that it's not stressful to be in the kitchen as there's only a few people there. The wi-fi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there! thank you so much for your review! we are glad to hear you had an awesome time at Southern Laughter ! and glad you took advantage of our free international calls!! all the best on your travels around Aotearoa!! hope to see you again if you are ever in QT! More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in twin room for 3 nights, then double for 2 nights Pros- Free popcorn Free soup Free BBQ (sausage sandwich) Heaters in room Cozy rooms,comfy beds Good location- right next to the main centre and near gondola Hot tub Cons- Main kitchen packed, no room to cook or sit down to eat. Found a 2nd kitchen in a different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was neat and clean. Communal kitchen was neat and sometimes dirty, i blame the backpackers who try all effort to keep the kitchen dirty with unwashed dishes in the kitchen and dirty tables. They provide free sugar, coffee powder, tea bags, popcorn, soup which is awesome. The lodge is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate all feedback! its great to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed Queenstown so much! on your negative points I'm sure you'll be glad to hear that we have upgrading work scheduled for our bathrooms shortly and the WiFi too! thanks for understanding that despite our best efforts... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here a few nights in March in two rooms - one was a double with shared bathroom; the other a double with en-suite bath. Location was good as it was at the foot of Skyline and was a 3-5 minute walk to the main strip. I loved the quirky sayings on the wall and the staff reflected this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feed back! Glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the vibe at Southern Laughter. We aim to provide all guests with the best value possible so thanks for saying so! We are just looking into extending the range of our free WiFi so this should provide more than adequate coverage throughout all rooms,... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

very noisy, even at 2 in the morning very dirty : stains on the sheets, dirty toilets, dirty kitchen, surroundings dirty, etc. room very small by comparison with other backpackers, location good and welcome correct

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a visit to QueensTown. The hostel has a pretty central position, only a 5 minute walk to amenities. Our room was a double which was in a little unit, it seem as if it was part of an apartment, there was a dorm and a very small kitchen and bathroom. Our stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feed back- we always appreciate honest reviews. We are in the process of upgrading the bathrooms and kitchens in the units currently but as you can imagine this work takes time, and its best for us to carry out renovations when its a bit quieter after the busy summer season. As you pointed out... More 

Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

look, it's a party hostel. it's loud, the rooms are accessed from the outside, things are rarely locked and it's all easy going. these are good things or bad things depending on what you're looking for. it's well located, close to the city center and the bottom of the skyline gondola. they have free soup and popcorn and sometimes things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feed back- we appreciate honest frank reviews like yours and we are glad that it seems you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole. we very much pride ourselves on the fact that we are a social interactive hostel designed with backpackers and travelers in mind. our larger dorms come with kitchenettes and... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

A good value stay which met well with its description. Staff were friendly and offered great advice. Little extras such as soup and popcorn were a nice touch. Place is in a perfect location to explore all that Queenstown has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks very much for your feed back- we love hearing that people enjoyed their stay with us and queenstown in general! come stay with us again anytime!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay