We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Queenstown accommodations

Southern Laughter Lodge

4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Southern Laughter Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Laughter Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
PauloCarolo Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
2
48
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't really know what I can say about it as i'm more used to hotels but I was pleasantly surprised by this place. Seriously good location I thought, we weren't the most accomodating of guests as we were there for a stag but nevertheless it all worked out well without anyone telling us to shut up. Cleaned daily, our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kaunas County, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really missed it there, serene environment surrounded by loving people who are ready to assist you. Clean room, clean free water, Free soup everyday and barbecue at least once when I was there. Lots of nice people to meet there. Though my room 3 didnt have internet but overall, i would like to be there once more. close to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed in this hostel three times now. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned really well every day which is really good for a hostel. There is free WiFi and soup :). Also the free BBQ was cool. It is in a good location but far enough away to get some sleep if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was just a place to stay really, wifi did not have a good connection on my laptop, there is no atmosphere and they have cameras everywhere, I felt like I was being watched the whole time. Close to town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hey Chanelle, sorry that you didn't pick up on our friendly atmosphere whilst you stayed with us. As for the cameras we were shocked to find that you felt you were being watched as we have only one camera on the main entrance for security reasons as our reception is closed at night, and another on the driveway- thanks anyway... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nicely located close to the town center. staff is friendly and helpful. fun activities, there was a free bbq and pubcrawl which was a nice way to interact with the rest of the guests. Nice hot tub and free soup everyday from 18:00. Plenty of power points in the room, top bunk comes with own shelf and room has... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location about 5 min walk to the city center. Friendly staff. Free wifi and soup every evening. Bathroom was relatively clean when we were there. No a/c in the room but the cool air at night was thru the opened windows were good enough. Would recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accommodation is up the hill about 10min walk to the town. The accommodation has a good free breakfast. The downside is: Little cold in the lounge and there is no atmosphere there. The kitchen fridge is so small and so dirty you wouldn't want to put your food there! There was a leak in the kitchen covering half the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hey! thank you so much for reviewing us, but it looks like you may have mistakenly left us the wrong review! we were a bit confused that the title of your review didn't match the actual content- on further investigation the review left for us is the exact same as one you left for another queenstown property- a simple mistake... More 

Huntsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only bad thing about this place, If you must have wifi, I would not recommend staying here. The wifi never worked. Even when I went up to the kitchen and lounge area. Also, the parking in back was always full. So we would get back early because I did not want to park on the street. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

only stayed for one night as our hostel we stayed in for the first part of our trip was full on our last night in Queenstown. Good location, however reception staff were quite rude and made us feel like we were inturrupting their conversation between themselves when we came to check in, same thing again when checking out which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good Hostel, great free soup, free wifi, in the Kitchen is all you need, the room we stayed was a bit too small and a chair or something would have been nice, the staff was nice, everyday the kitchen and bathroom was cleaned up

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Laughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Lodge

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Laughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay