We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Queenstown accommodations

Southern Laughter Lodge

3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Southern Laughter Lodge to your Saves list
Southern Laughter Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
clelia93 Istanbul, Turkey
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
2
38
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This backpacker is located just few seconds (?) walking from Queenstown centre. It is very clean and the atmosphere is lovely. You will meet plenty of interesting people in the common space. It is sometimes pretty noisy at night because there are few pubs in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall is okay except kitchen. Me and my friend stayed in twin shared bedroom, pretty small but good heater. Very noisy at night,can hear people keep walking upstairs. Limited bathroom and toilet,and the bath map never change over the day, and floor is always wet and lots of hair. Overall, good heater but noisy and dirty kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It is the people that make the hostel! Jim, Cole, Justine, Kayleigh and Rachel! The full time staff not only are great people to run the hostel but are genuinely looking to help you as a backpacker! And became great friends throughout my stay! This is definitely the best hostel in Queenstown as it just allows people to be comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed for a weekend this August in a double room and i would have to stay if you pay that bit extra to get out of a dorm i would deff recommend getting a double room. they are just right for a solo traveller or for a couple and are located beside the main building on the 2nd floor.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Some of our bathrooms are being renovated over the coming off peak season to provide a better guest experience. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed here in April for around a week, I was in a outside cabin type dorm with our kitchen which was good however it did make it a little isolating for the solo traveller. The heater in my room wasn't working and it was absolutely freezing. I told the lady on reception after she told me it was indeed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Although we are not specifically a "long-term" hostel during off-peak season (April-June) some long-term guests are accommodated. Extra blankets and hot water bottles are offered free of charge at reception. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hostel was conveniently located, however our room was a let down due to a lack of privacy as the wall and door facing the hallway had double windows. The hallway light was left on all evening for the duration of our six night stay meaning that our room was always bright and it was more difficult to sleep. People... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. The switch for the light is located in the hallway. If you had any difficulties finding the switch one of our friendly staff would have been happy to assist you. More

Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Homely little place with a nice reception and staff. Rooms however were a let down. Heaters were half useless as they were tiny and switched off automatically every 30 minutes. Showers were absolutely terrible. The water was freezing cold, easily my worst showering experience in NZ. Living room of the bunk smelt absolutely horrible. On the plus side, staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had issues with the shower in your unit, If you made us aware of it something could have been done to rectify it, The bathroom in your unit had been recently renovated and the hot water runs off mains gas and should provide unlimited hot water, if this was faulty we were unaware of it. I... More

Auckland, NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

the location is amazing, only a couple of minutes walk into central Queenstown. It's also quite cheap which is great. Staff were friendly. We had a double room for a couple. Problems - a bit dirty - night-time noise (to be expected at backpackers) - it smells... like a toilet at times - pillows were terrible, twice the size and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Some of our bathrooms are currently under renovation. More

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Amazing staff, especially Kayleigh and Cole! Everyone was very accommodating and flexible, which was a HUGE help considering the hostel was very busy during my time there, and my travel plans were very up in the air. They always found a way to help fit me in to a room somewhere even when I had no reservations and was looking... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review! We were glad to have you stay with us. Thanks for adding a great vibe to the place :) More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff were friendlu and a definite positive yo our stay. Our room was just a bed and small tv in the corner which was all we were after (not the tv). There is so much going on in Qtwn I've never wanted to hang out in my bedroom. Facilities were sweet although one shower was crap but in all... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
C0le_SL, Front Office Staff at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you found your room comfortable and our facilities satisfactory. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand! More

Do you own or manage Southern Laughter Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Laughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Lodge

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Laughter Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Southern Laughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Southern Laughter Lodge