We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Queenstown accommodations

Southern Laughter Lodge

3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Southern Laughter Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southern Laughter Lodge to your Saves list
64%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Alex H Coffs Harbour, Australia
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
38
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I arrived in Queenstown 3 weeks ago to start my working travels around New Zealand and tried to check into Southern Laughter as just a walk in but unfortunatley they were pretty full so i headed off to another hostel in town for a few nights! (my fault for not being organised!) but I cut my stop elsewhere short to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very noisey place. Could hear every noise and footstep loudly from the rooms/kitchen above our room. Got woken up at about 5am from a group of drunks just outside screaming laughing and chanting for a good hour. Only 1 toilet and 1 shower outside our room for so many people, they need more. Also a messy place, rubbish and dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hey Amy, thankyou for your feedback, we do hope that all of our guests have the best experience possible. Our kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned daily with a strict roster, unfortunately we do have guests who are not so considerate, which is why we do make continual checks. It's a shame we only had you with us for one night,... More

Maui, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hands down the best hostel we've stayed in! Friendly staff Upon arrival we were greeted with big smiles and happy faces. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local area and helped me and my friends book all our activities. The hostel itself is cozy, friendly and full of atmosphere, great kitchen and very clean bathrooms! Plus, the added... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was home far away from home. Doesn't metter if you're in Queenstown for long or not you have to stay here, although it might be hard to leave it :( rooms are cleaned daily, staff in very friendly and helpful, free wifi, hot tub and soup in the evening. I will always remember and miss this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is honestly the only place to stay in Queenstown! I have been living and working in queenstown for 5 months and within that I have stayed in a number of hostels and even a private house and this is the only place I would am will willing to stay for the rest of my time here (another 6 weeks)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Queenstown is supposed to be a beautiful place, but my visit was sour due to this hostel. When we arrived to this hostel the receptionist was high as the sky. I was with a group of five women and she thought there was seven of us and took a half an hour checking us in. In addition, we booked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Manager at Southern Laughter Lodge, responded to this review

Hey there Molly, first of all I would like to say how unfortunate it is to hear you did not have the experience here with us that we do want all of our guests to have. Our team here behind the desk are very upbeat and we do aim to satisfy our customers. The confusion with your booking came about... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel was about 5 minute walk from the centre. The beds were a little uncomfortable and the wifi didn't work very well in the dorm room we were in. However the hostel was social, had good free soup & a hot tub which was very clean! We stayed here after staying at the hostel under the same ownership in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This backpacker is located just few seconds (?) walking from Queenstown centre. It is very clean and the atmosphere is lovely. You will meet plenty of interesting people in the common space. It is sometimes pretty noisy at night because there are few pubs in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Overall is okay except kitchen. Me and my friend stayed in twin shared bedroom, pretty small but good heater. Very noisy at night,can hear people keep walking upstairs. Limited bathroom and toilet,and the bath map never change over the day, and floor is always wet and lots of hair. Overall, good heater but noisy and dirty kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It is the people that make the hostel! Jim, Cole, Justine, Kayleigh and Rachel! The full time staff not only are great people to run the hostel but are genuinely looking to help you as a backpacker! And became great friends throughout my stay! This is definitely the best hostel in Queenstown as it just allows people to be comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Laughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Lodge

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Laughter Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southern Laughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay