We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    58
    45
    22
    7
See reviews for
2
65
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was tiny and my television didn't work - which was a little annoying. The bed was okay and the room stayed very warm - which was a big plus whilst staying in Queenstown in the Winter. There were some rather large problems however - the curtains were paper thin so didn't block out much light, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there Kat! We were shocked to see that you had so many issues whilst staying with us. had any of these been brought to our attention at any point during your stay our friendly staff would have been able to assist you! since reading your review we have looked into the points you raised and everything was an easy... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a double room just for one night. It was quiet, clean, and comfy. It was our first destination after our long flight from the U.S., so the warm room and warm shower was much needed and very nice. Price was great! I am also very happy with the free soup.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to greet people as they arrive in our beautiful town for the first time! and glad we could provide with a place to rest your your tired- traveler heads! come back anytime for some homemade soup!! More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of six of us recently stayed in Southern Laughter for four nights. I stayed in a double bedroom with my partner called the "love shack" which was absolutely perfect for weekend away. The room was warm, clean and comfortable with a small fridge, television, heater and own private bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! So glad to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of Southern Laughter and the love shack. We totally agree that our spa is an awesome way to round up the day and are glad you took advantage of it! Always a pleasure to hear that our staff's friendly attitude is appreciated. Please come back and stay any time... More 

Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was disappointed with the stay! Booked based on previous reviews. It was what it was. Not the cleanest, spent as little time as I needed to in there! Staff were really nice and helpful on the plus side. Would I stay again? Prob not! Really good location though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter was good value for money. I stayed in a private room with a double bed and although the room was small it was warm and clean. The bathrooms were shared so not always the cleanest but they were definitely cleaned regularly. The staff were friendly and helpful. The soup every night is ok if you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for staying with and reviewing us! Very glad to hear that you would recommend us to your friends, and always nice to hear that our guests are getting value for money in a very competitive town! Come back any time to stay! More 

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want to start by saying this is no reflection on management, the staff we came across were helpful & quick to apologise in the morning & refund us for the nights we prepaid as we refused to continue on staying there. Having said that...we were placed in a room in the share house next door. Given the price we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! We are disappointed to hear that Southern Laughter didn't live up to your expectations. As you pointed out the staff did try and deal with your noise issue promptly and with minimal fuss. We can assure you that the noise-makers were dealt with accordingly and we have taken steps to ensure that this wont be an issue for... More 

Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing staff - extremely helpful. Helped us book everything and even organised a coach to and from milford sound on alternate days at an amazing price (which is uncomon and usually costly during winter). I also left some items which they happily posted back to Australia for me. The rooms themselves were very clean and suprisingly warm. Our room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review- very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our free homemade Vegetable Soup! Always happy to reunite our guests with their items where possible. feel free to come and stay next season if you are back in town! More 

Singleton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay in Queenstown. Would stay there again. Cleanliness was A+ Good location, great kitchen facilities. Could've done with new towels each day as they wouldn't dry. Can't really fault it though!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Spa was AMAZING, free soup was good, and the staff were super helpful and accommodating. I injured my knee and it was no trouble for the staff to help get us a second mattress as we couldn't share the bed. Will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Ives Chase
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Stayed in a homely cottage along with another couple. Staff were friendly and helpful to get us on buses to treble cone and cardrona ski slopes. The room was fine for the price paid, although they could have sprung for nicer pillows and the walls are thin which made sleeping tricky on a couple of nights when the group upstairs... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
#5 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#22 of 81 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#43 of 81 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#21 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bumbles Backpackers
Bumbles Backpackers
#33 of 81 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#11 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay