We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
georgia115 Christchurch
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    55
    41
    20
    7
See reviews for
2
62
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Christchurch
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had such a good stay here! All the staff were super friendly and helpful and it is in such an ideal location. Would definitely recommend to backpackers or groups of friends travelling to Queenstown!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of long time guests at southern laughter. Kitchens were dirty, bed was dirty, room was smelly, no individual outlets or lights, small room, lots of belconies which is cool but not when people smoke on them and it drifts into your room. No a/c so it can be hot... Or I imagine pretty cold. Wifi is alright, people seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey! Surprised to hear from you after 6 months! seems like you visited us during the hottest time of year! Due to Queenstown having a predominantly alpine climate- (which means snow on the mountains for most months of the year brrr!) we find we generally don't need air con and that opening the windows generally gets enough fresh air through... More 

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place helpful staff. Good rooms very good location cause is quite when you want to sleep and very close to city center when you want enjoy has a good view of the mountains. The heating in my room wasnt so good. A fan heater that turn off automaticly and noise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is quite cheap for a twin room. This hostel also has free wifi unlimited and free international to call to landlines. The soup provided every night is the best and suit this cold winter weather. The location is in the city centre so it is easy to access. No bond is required. This hostel is the best choice for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No plugs near bed, so cant charge ur phone at night unless u can jump out of bed like a ninja to kill ur alarm before waking up all ur roommates. 1 bathroom (no seperate toilet) for 8 people is not very ideal. Soup everynight was nice, but the same every day. Other facilities were all good: kitchen, heatening in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thank you very much for your feedback. we always try to improve where possible and need reviews to do so- so thanks! we do have extra plug boards/extension leads for those rooms with less access- sorry if we did not make you aware of this during your stay- we have since popped one in the room you were in... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best budget place in Queenstown. Loved the spa pool, location and delicious hot soup on a cold winter evening. Staff was extremely nice and friendly. Very well maintained and managed. Will definitely go again when visiting Queenstown next!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! we are always happy to hear of people enjoying their stay! please come back any time you are in Queenstown. kind regards More 

Wellington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Half of the space is occupied by people that lives 'permanetly' in the hostel. It is really dirty and also very very noisy. I would only recomend this stay for very yound travellers looking for party.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, we apologise that you felt like this- we should point out that throughout the shoulder season we inevitably pick up a few longer-term guests- however we do remain a predominately "short stay" hostel- and we know are reinforcing our maximum stay policy. we are a fun friendly place but to be honest we encourage all of our guest... More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The small cottage we stayed on was cosy and cute, beds were comfy and everything was kept clean. Staff were also helpful but the heaters were broken and the bathroom and lounge room were like iceboxes ... So pack your winter woollies for the house .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I booked a twin room with single occupancy. Photos on booking.com showed 2 separate beds in room and advertised room as being 10sq mtrs. My room had a set of bunks a very small high window and was approx sq mtrs, very dark and dingy, handle fell off door when I went out. went to front desk , waited for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brent, As you can understand we are a busy hostel- and our staff are not always at the desk as we are busy helping out in other parts of the hostel. However we have a pager to get service at the desk as is common practice in many hostels. we are never more than 30 seconds away! we do... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

We had stayed in southern laughters sister hostel in Franz josef, which was excellent. Southern laughter fell far short of that. I have stayed in 40+ hostels and this was up there with the worst. The bedroom was tiny, draughty and pretty worn out looking. The kitchen was small, crowded and dirty. It looks as though there may be quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Well sadly we were a little shocked to read your review. I myself personally dealt with your partner and the situation regarding your refund and I was told rather a different story. Your partner informed me that you were in fact unwell . As a solution I tried to find a room for you with an en suite... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay