We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Queenstown accommodations

BreakFree The Waterfront

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   109 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BreakFree The Waterfront to your Saves list
BreakFree The Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
85%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kelly H Cairns, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (96)
  • Photos (79)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant apartment. Tastefully furnished, so close to the centre of Queenstown with amazing views to the Remarkables and right across the road from the lake. We had 2 apartments, the penthouse and apartment 11. Both were wonderful. This was our 3rd visit to Queenstown and by far the best place/location we have ever stayed at. Would recommend this to everyone.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad your stay with us at The waterfront was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind regards Jiri L More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect apartments for a group or family. Great location, apartments are modern with great facilities and free wifi. Apartments are clean and staff are helpful. Apartments also have a great view of the lake and you can walk 500 meters down the road to some great restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Carleigh, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the resorts location, facilities, and that our staff looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again when next in Queenstown. Kind regards Jiri L More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in 4a, level 5 studio apartment with balcony.Well appointed, clean, double shower, heated tiles, good heating, queen comfy bed, cable TV all appreciated. Although it was winter we used the BBQ on verandah whilst taking in the views. Lift to level 5 but there are stairs up to 4a if u have a mobility issue. No road noise in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Caz B, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable and I look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind regards Jiri L More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Short story is, stay here now! Just click book. Totally amazing place. I will definitely stay again! Rooms were amazing. Bathroom was to die for. Views are spectacular! Over all service was just tops. And very close to town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your great review. I happy to hear your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and I look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Kind regards Jiri Langer More

Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent 7 days holidaying in Queenstown. I needed to find accommodation for 4 adults and this apartment ticked all the boxes. The two bathrooms, clean modern décor, central location and great view from the (small) balcony were exactly what we were looking for. We definitely recommend this apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear CMAX66, Thank you for your kind comments regarding to your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Waterfront. It was a pleasure to host yourself and the others in your party. We look froward to seeing you back at Breakfree the Waterfront Kind regards Jiri L More

Geelong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel and were a little worried by the outside appearance (a little tired), the entry down slippery stairs to a small reception. There were no problems with check-in & we made our way to the lift that takes you through the car park. We arrived at room & were very pleasantly surprised by a large, clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at BreakFree The Waterfront. It is great to read you enjoyed your time at the resort. We would love to welcome you back to the resort soon for another enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Jiri L More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had as usual , did my research on trip advisor ...and found this hotel in terms of totally free Internet . Proximity to city , price , free parking ( according to previous review a bit tight ) but it was usual ( unless you had a Lamborghini ) most important the views ,,,, it did not disappoint me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Kia ora Robin, Thank you for taking the time to post this great review on your recent stay with us at The Waterfront. I am so pleased that you had a great stay with our resort and that you found it to be the right place for your holiday needs. Thank you again for your king review and I look... More

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in June 2014, 2 x adults, 2 x kids 7 & 5. We were in room 3 on level 5. Quality 2 bedroom apartment, clean, and most importantly WARM. Heated flooring and heated towel rails. Washing machine and dryer in room was handy. Full kitchen with everything you could need. Location was great. Basically IN town, and very easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Nathan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your kind words are very much appreciated as we continue to drive to be our guest's favorite accommodation provider. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback about our apartment, friendly team members and convenient location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree... More

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at Breakfree Waterfront for two nights during the Winter Festival, but managed to get a great winter rate as I booked in advance. What a bargain at less than US$120 per night! The studio was large, light-filled, stylish, and spotlessly clean; had incredible unobstructed views of Lake Wakitipu and the Remarkables; and its own huge private terrace. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Kia ora PassarinhoAZUL, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay at BreakFree The Waterfront I was delighted to read your comments on the great location and our studio room. Thank you again for your kind review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jiri Langer More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We (family of 4 adults and 1 child) stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment at Breakfree the Waterfront. The best apartment hotel I have stayed so far. Everything was brand spanking new and done very tastefully right in front of the Wakatipu lake. Spacious, modern, practical and user friendly. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices. Couldn't ask for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jiri L, Front Office Manager at BreakFree The Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Yogi, Thank you for choosing BreakFree The Waterfront for your recent visit to Queenstown. It was wonderful to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Jiri Langer More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BreakFree The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BreakFree The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Waterfront

Address: 109 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Waterfront 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BreakFree The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Waterfront Hotel Queenstown

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Queenstown with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BreakFree The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake.BeakFree The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ.From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees.Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, BreakFree The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree The Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer