We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    444
    363
    201
    125
See reviews for
219
614
75
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1323)
  • Mar-May only
    (330)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (296)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (303)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (394)
All months
Cromwell, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed in this hotel many times and in nearly all their room types. They always deliver in that the beds are good, shower pressure same.If you are lucky enough to have a lake view it is a bonus. Hotel staff are always friendly. Bar and restaurant are good and light meals and snacks are available in the bar at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

No porter staff to help with suitcases, lack of customer service, extremely dated hotel, wife’s worst nightmare shower curtain over bath, housekeeping poor. Asked reception desk staff on details of ANZAC day ceremony and details, staff did not have a clue of what ANZAC day was about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After we got the keys to our room upon entry it was still dirty from the previous guests. No apology from reception just moved to another room. This wing had no lift and had to carry heavy bags up a big flight of stairs. Next room was tidy thank goodness except the bathroom tap leaked non stop and the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving late into Queenstown, I booked this hotel online as it was only $105 for a night. The room was great, two doubles, good shower and free WiFi. The view from the room balcony of Lake Wakatipu in the morning was an added benefit. Good value all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Kevinfrancis65, Thank you for your positive feedback, Great to read you enjoyed the stunning views of Lake Wakatipu & the Remarkables and overall our hospitality met your expectations. Regards, Vince More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was excited to get what I thought to be a bargain online price for a reputable hotel. Unfortunately the exterior of the hotel and international reputation did not reflect the quality of the room or experience. I stayed for two nights, a few days apart at the start and end of a hiking trip. The first night I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear BarbMNZ, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are concerned by your recent experience and appreciate you bringing your feedback to our attention. I do apologise for the inconvenience for the temporary relocation of our breakfast service. Overall I am disappointed we did not meet your expectations and our management team are currently reviewing the issues you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We loved our stay here and spend 3 nights in the hotel. We had lake views which were amazing and a big room, the only let down was the bathroom as it was quite outdated but all else was ok! Reception staff were lovely and assisted us with booking activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Bec G, I was pleased to read your stay with us was overall positive and you enjoyed our hospitality and the stunning views of the lake and mountains. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back in Queenstown soon! Regards, Vince More 

Naracoorte, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights booked into the budget rooms. We were happy with our stay although on first entry the room had not been aired and was very hot. I did book buget so it was nothing fancy but the beds were comfortable and everything worked. We were on the 9th level and the elevators to get you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Lou G, Thanks for your feedback, I was pleased to read (apart from some minor issues) overall your stay with us met with your approval and our location being just a short stroll to the town centre is a huge plus Regards, Vince More 

Hokitika, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel after extending our trip to Queenstown. Our mistake. We were put in a room in the back building. The corridors were in need of an update/paint. The room itself was small with ripped curtains and also in need of redecoration . If you take a hammer and chisel you might be able to access the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear swimwalkeatlaugh, Thanks for your review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear the condition of the hotel did not meet your expectations, however I am pleased to advise the hotel is marked for a refurbishment in the near future. Regards, Vince More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my family lived here for one night the rooms were terrible untidy and unclean! Everything just look so old and broken!Not enough car park spaces at back. We would never ever come back again!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Cc201590, Thank you for your feedback, I was disappointed to hear the budget room you chose did not meet your expectations, please feel free to contact myself should you wish to discuss further. Regards, Vince More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Queenstown in a one bedroom suite with lake view. The view of the lake and mountains was very lovely, we were able to stand out on the balcony and watch the jetboats, hydro attacks and parasailers. The location is fantastic, it is a 5 minute walk to town along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

328 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (315)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
View from room (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question