We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 75 Queenstown accommodations

Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Queenstown Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Mmnm123 Toronto
  • Overview
  • Reviews (322)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (59)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    94
    30
    18
    12
See reviews for
6
55
81
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is definitely the best hostile and nicer than some hotels ! I went in the winter so it feels like you're at a lodge. I got a private room and it was beautiful ! Everything was clean and there was a beautiful view of the mountains. There was also a tv in there if you just want to relax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We absolutely loved our 9 day stay here. If you're going to Queenstown, you HAVE to stay here. Remember to book as soon as you can, as it is impossible to find a room if you leave it until last minute! We left it a bit late and had to do a lot of room hopping, but every room we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Toilets shared and messy, safes broken, small room, not enough plugs but quiet, decent enough beds, nice balcony and decent location. "Free breakfast" of some bread and jam if you wake up early enough to grab some.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, glad you had a good time here in Queenstown. In our standard dorm rooms the bathrooms are communal however we do have ensuite dorms with bathrooms also. Our communal bathrooms are checked and cleaned every hour and our ensuite bathrooms are serviced every day. As we have been waiting for parts to repair our lockers some... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

good location, clean, big, nice kitchen and lounge area, offering free basic breakfast and dinner... compared to base and YHA hostels, Nomads was one of the best in New Zealand. Keep up the good work!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have had an excellent stay! We booked a private room with an ensuite and it is just like staying in a hotel. Fantastic location (right in the city centre) and great service. The Mad Travel desk were also fantastic! Most of our bookings were managed by Denny. We always received exceptional service. The crew also provided friendly tips about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So I stayed here for a week when I was in Queenstown. First off, really cool city. The hostel was clean, the people for the most part were pretty cool and the location was excellent. My only issue which is not the problem of the hostel is that because it is so large you don't get that family/communal feeling as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brunswick, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The facilities at this Nomads are so nice. The lounge area is huge and cozy with big couches, a pool table, balcony, and a fireplace. There's also a comfy cinema there with beanbags and movies available to choose from downstairs. Along with that, the kitchen is pretty spacious and they serve a free dinner every night! There is usually a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving at the hostel I was greeted by friendly staff and a nice warm atmosphere. Fast and easy check-in, room was great stayed in a private, this had TV, Fridge, En-suit, Wardrobe, Tea & Coffee. The bed was super comfy - didn't wanna get out of it..!!!! There was free breakfast and snack dinner. The kitchen was really well equipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although this hostel is on the pricey side- you do get what you pay for. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the kitchen/sofa area was a great place to chill out too. The staff were friendly as well. However they are extremely strict about alcohol- a bit too strict- and the staff often walk into your room unannounced to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location in the heart of Queenstown. We stayed in a Deluxe King Room, but to be honest for the price that we paid we weren't that impressed. The room was quite small and the shower fan was going continuously (very noisy). When we told the hotel staff they said that all of the fans are on most of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear you had a great time in Queenstown. We have had issues with the ventilation system within the property however have now changed this so the fan noise is very minimum as we received negative feedback from this, since changing several weeks ago we have had no mention of this so we're... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer