We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    264
    154
    40
    28
    16
See reviews for
12
80
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (502)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (121)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved it here. Stayed in a 6 female dorm with my friend. All the other girls where lovely and thoughtful of everyone in the room. Beds are comfy. Bunkbeds don't squeak or rock when moving about. Lots of plugs, balcony. It has an on suite which one side is a shower and sink. And the other side is a toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford Sound, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nomads absolutely is my 1st choice hostel every-time I go to Queenstown! The location is great which is nearly to the city centre, nice & cozy lounge, 24 hours front desk staff, they are friendly and helpful. They also provide FREE morning basic breakfast and dinner everyday! So I just need to headache my lunch only and saved for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good place of you want to party, not so good if you wish to sleep and ski the next day. The rooms have no sound proofing and are over the pubs so sleep was impossible until they close in the early hours of the morning . Was like a party in your room. We did ask to be moved after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No parking (can run and pay the meter or pay to park somewhere and walk). Wifi costs extra which can be a bit of a pain since it's already an expensive hostel. Showers were very clean. Beds were incredibly comfortable. I found the sheets and duvet so comfortable and soft. This was a nice centrally located hostel but that means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I stayed here last week and had a great time! Location is very central, close to everything! Monday night pub crawl is a must if you are young and looking to socialize! Staff were very friendly and amenities were in good condition!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With a nightly rate considerably higher than other places in town, many would fairly expect some things to be included in that price, as I did. I paid the cost of my reservation then kept leaking money from my back pocket for wifi access, a towel, somewhere to park my car, breakfast. Other Queenstown hostels have roomier facilities, more included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Nomads for 5 nights , couldn't have asked for a nicer place. Excellent facilities and a wonderful mix of people. The staff are very courteous and are always eager to help . They made my Queenstown experience a little more sweet A special mention for CHRIS at the travel desk. If you are travelling for the first time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is as centrally located as you can imagine and a stone throw away from the beautiful lakes. The hostel is up-kept exceptionally and the staff were super friendly and helpful in all my endeavors. A very social atmosphere and a lot of fun for single travelers wanting to meet others. I spent an amazing week here and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the king deluxe room on level 3 at Nomads Queenstown. During our stay we had some problems with noise from the bars in the alley on the town centre side of the hostel. The weekends are the worst so I wouldn't worry if you are just staying during the week. Luckily the fantastic staff at the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a group of 12 people on this holiday all between 20-27 so nomads was perfect. Don't be fooled by the word backpackers as it's quite luxury for the name. There is a cinema room, lounge room, pool table area, huge kitchen and sauna. They split the levels up so the dorms are away from private rooms which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam J, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we are so stoked to hear you had an awesome time with us while you were in Queenie. We are working on getting our internet quick and free - bare with us, its a work in progress ;) Our chill out areas are awesome, especially with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 2,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay