We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Queenstown accommodations

Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Queenstown Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
83%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
AlpineResortRiceLake Cobourg, Canada
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    79
    23
    17
    11
See reviews for
6
45
71
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a few nights firstly in a good dorm room with a balcony but when i asked to extend my stay was told that i could not stay in the same room which is fair enough but then they charged me $5 a night extra only to be put in a tiny room with no window or balcony.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in many hostels during a recent trip to Australia and New Zealand and this was one of the better ones. It's quite new, clean and the room was very comfortable with more room than your average hostel room. We even had a very small balcony and a rack to dry clothes on when we did laundry. The kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ended up to this hostel for a couple of nights because the one I liked was already full. The dorm I was put into was disgusting, I could hardly walk to my bed. It is the best hostel to stay if you are a party animal, you dont need to sleep, you dont mind dirty room and showers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! Staff should always be proactive in making sure any issues you have are solved for you straight away while you are staying at the hostel. I apologise if you feel this was not the case. Unfortunately other guests behaviour we can't control but if you had advised the staff on reception at... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights in a double ensuite room Little did I know that there no windows in the room. No sunlight or fresh air. The staff was anything but helpful. Figure out stuff on your own in the hostel as the staff is too busy indulging in fun themselves! Specifically ask for rooms that have windows else please STAY... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We understand that feedback is an important part of improving our services for our guests. I only wish that staff were advised on reception at the time so we could have fixed the problem while you were still here. The taff do have fun, but they also work very hard for all... More

Regina, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great hostel, it was better then any hotel we had stayed in during our backpacking trip. All the rooms and common areas are new and well kept. The location is perfect being right next to the park and a short walk to shopping, restaurants, ect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown More

Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a place that will have a good location to the town center and fare fees. So I decide to stay at the Nomads and I have to say that it was a the best decision, the room was clean and nice, the staff friendly and very helpful. Everything is just in a waking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nomads was a great hostel! Perfect location to anywhere you wanted to go in Queenstown. The room was unbelievably clean, and cleaned every day. The only downside was that the doona covers were not changed after people would sleep in them. However, the sheets were and pillow case was changed along with vacuuming everyday. The staff were very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Unfortunately it can be a hassle to show your card each time after hours, but it is also for the security of all staying in the hostel. Look forward to having you back again one... More

Taupo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting Queenstown is always a pleasure, but when I walked into my room here it got just a little bit more - well, comfortable to say the least ! Wickedly funny staff and easily the most amazing hostel I`ve stayed in in NZ - right in town - great bars , restaurants and cafe's just on the doorstep and if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. close to everything you need. free breakfast great for those who want it. great activities to keep people involved that are free or very cheap. We had an ensuite room which was like a hotel but not sure re the dorms.. good staff except Mr grumpy pants on the night shift but i understand the paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you all the best for your future travels. Look forward to having you back again one day :) Kind regards Management @ Nomads Queenstown More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

First of all I have to say the location is great and the design of the hotel is beautiful. But we paid 110$ for a room with no window it contains air conditioning but the only way to control it is to get down 3 floors to the reception and ask them to change the temperature (after standing in line... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate all positive and negative feedback and use this to improve our business at all times. We would of loved the opportunity to fix the issues you have while you were in house. Unfortunately to change the room teparture you do need to see reception, this is how the system is... More

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel
Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.