We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Queenstown accommodations

Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Queenstown Backpackers to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ALEXsansDrap Auckland, New Zealand
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    124
    34
    20
    13
See reviews for
12
65
109
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel will stay on my top 3hostel In the world! Super friendly staff, the hostel helper was a real social family for me and everyone! Free breakfast is ok but the free dinner is amazing! First arrive first serve but most of the time everybody is serve and we get the chance to get more food! (We can choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Kings room during the stay. The location was excellent and close to EVERYTHING! The room was spacious and quiet and felt like a standard hotel room. However, the basin is too small and you should bring your own shower/shampoo gel as they only provide a small shampoo gel that is not refilled for you when it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to give nomads another go at Queenstown because it was a last minute booking and Queenstown was pretty full This time was an enjoyable stay - parking was easy, the check in was smooth and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable Great people in the rooms too And a great location

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I looked around at check in and thought I wasn't going to enjoy it here. But in the end I was very happy with it. We had a private room which came with a balcony with a view of the mountains. We were on level 3. The room was very comfortable,clean, spacious. Had tea and coffee, ironing board and TV.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to nomads queenstown 5 years ago and had one of the best weeks of my life. Great accommodating hostel with vibrant atmosphere and a social scene to meet countless travellers. Unfortunately, no longer. For anyone who has been here before and is looking to return, nomads is now a dry hostel - there is 0 atmosphere. This seemed like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much as previous years. New Years does bring a different crowd to town and due to this the entire CBD is dry to minimise issues from intoxication. We have been dry ourselves for several years due to the many issues we have had and the amount... More 

Heyfield, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a little late, as I visited in early October, but... better late than never, right? I booked my accommodation for Queenstown well before I left Australia as I knew it was the last place I was going on my NZ adventure. I checked in at the same time as a group of about 20 Kiwi Experience people checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay at Nomads was random. I was going for affordability since I was enroute to Wanaka. My experience with backpackers wasn't great so I wasn't holding my breath. The only thing I wanted was my own bathroom so I paid a bit more for an ensuite room. The room was clean, fresh and modern. The room had big glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for 3 nights, never had any problems with noise. We had booked a 8 bed dorm but for some reason they upgraded us to a 6 bed dorm with a balcony and a view of the mountains, definitely not bad! The balcony is shared with the room next to you but that isn't a problem, you can lock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and I'm really stoked to hear you had a great stay with us overall. I am really sorry to hear about your kitchen experience however. As our kitchen is small for the overall size of the property we put in place free nightly meals to reduce the impact of use as we know how frustrating this... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Need a bed to sleep? Being over 20? Expecting value for money? Than find another place to stay well in advance. Nomads is seemingly new, huge and impersonal. For it's size the incompetence of all staff encountered was stunning. 1. Waiting line for reservation which than was not taken because there are plenty of free beds 2. Very rude at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We recall your stay very well as the two staff on the time and the night reception who changed your mattress also let me know of your complaint : 1. Waiting line for reservation which than was not taken because there are plenty of... More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly - it's a hostel. If you were expecting hotel amenities, you will be disappointed. The prices are commensurate with the type of lodging. I stayed in both the female-only 4-person dorm with ensuite bathroom and also in a private room. Both were more than adequate, and the private room was very hotel-like. My private room was on the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aimee J, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lisa Thanks so much for your feedback - we are so happy you had a great stay. As we are located in the centre of Queenstown some of our dorms are noisier than others and we offer free earplugs for all guests who may need them :) Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate it. All the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay