We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Queenstown accommodations

Bungi Backpackers

15 Sydney Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bungi Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bungi Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Meg-NZmoo Whangaroa, New Zealand
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
18
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Whangaroa, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few days in early july, and we loved the place so much we stayed until November. In the winter months we found it was the warmest hostel we stayed in, with radiators, and heaters and extra blankets if you needed. The atmosphere is homely and there's so much to do close by in the town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Meg-NZmoo, Thank you for this fantastic review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us throughout the winter season. We cannot add anything more to this, other than we are so glad that you had fun here and that it is a real shame you have gone. If you are ever back in Queenstown, you are more than... More 

Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice cosy hostel with a homely feel. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Short walk to the city (up a bit of a hill so expect a workout and maybe get a taxi the first day if you have a lot of luggage.) Room are pretty squashy and stuffy though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Adeline and thank you for this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Bungi. You're not wrong about the hill, and your tip of getting a taxi up if you have a lot of luggage is good. I apologise that you found the room squashy and stuffy. I have looked at your booking and... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Queestown and one of the main reasons was because we stayed at Bungi. Really nice staff and quite a few long stay residents who can all offer good advice on where to go and what is good to do. Free entertainment was put on for a couple of evening. Full BBQ one evening for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Rob C, What a nice review to read. We could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay here. We like to make people feel at home and comfortable, rather than feeling like you are being pushed through for money. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment. This is something we are wanting to implement more... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Originially was supposed to be staying at Base but that ended up being a distaster so found this place the same night and was quite lucky as only had two rooms left. Stayed with a great couple also from England so good company. Had firstly booked one night but then stayed for three (girl at reception even took a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kirstie135, Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Bungi. We like to think that Bungi is decorated in a friendly, homely way, so we are glad that you liked that as well. It was a pleasure looking after you and having you stay here and... More 

ramarama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Not just great prices, but friendly staff, free soup, lots of great advice, excellent facilities, close to everything, and quirky decor. Loved the funny pictures everywhere.we used bungi backpackers before and after walking the milford and routeburn tracks and it was comfortable, with great hot showers .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for your lovely review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed our lovely, little hostel and had a good time in Queenstown. Feel free to come back and stay with us at anytime. Thank you again, The Bungi Crew. More 

Waiheke Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I thought I'd be staying at the Hostel for about 10 days. Then 10 days became just about 5 months. The people there became like family to me. Takoha, Marley, Will, Robert, Jack, Chloe, and Tony are always offering a smile and happy converstaion. Needless to say the day I left Bungi, I didn't want to go! I would suggest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much Matt for your review. You were more than welcome here and it was always fun when you were around. We weren't happy either when you left. Enjoy your time back in Canada and you know that you are more than welcome here anytime. Regards, The Whole Of Bungi Backpackers. More 

Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

If you want to feel the wind on your Face while sleeping, perhaps sleep on a shelf, have poor wifi in your room, take the dishes for other people, feel the hut shake whenever you take a step, or visit a dirty and wet toilet - well then visit Bungi Backpackers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Camilla P and thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, negative or positive, but sometimes we feel that the reviews we receive are very inaccurate. This is once such case. I have looked back through your booking and seen that you stayed in the 'Gold Room', one of our double cabins at the rear of the property.... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The guys at Bungy Backpackers were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was tidy and kept warm throughout our stay. We were expecting it to be rowdy during the evenings but the noise was kept to a minimum past 10pm which was great when we wanted an early night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jemma L, Thank you for this very nice review. We are all very pleased that you found the hostel to be warm and friendly. That is exactly how we want our guests to feel. We are also glad that you got a good nights sleep. We have a night porter who starts at 10pm to make sure that people... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We couldn't find somewhere near Queenstown to stay overnight in our van for any cheaper than at Bungi. $15/night and we got to use the kitchen (awesome free vegetable soup at 6pm and teas etc), showers, common room and fast wifi (great for backing up pictures overnight). Everyone staying there was friendly and the staff were super helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mr W and thank you for your lovely review. We are all very pleased to hear that you like the facilities that we provide for vans, along with our soup and communal areas/facilities. If you are ever back in Queenstown again then please come and say hi. Thank you again from The Bungi Crew. More 

Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Best place to stay in qtown. not right in town so its not noisy at night, but only a two minute walk to the first bar :D Staff is awesome, Marley, Will, TK you guys are the best ( hope i didnt forget anybody..) The people and the vibe at bungi is very lovely and welcoming, theres always someone around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Will_P_Bungi, Manager at Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review 502lena. We are very happy that you found this the best place to stay in Queenstown. we like to think that too. You are definitely not the first person to mention our location. Like you said, it is quieter here, but only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre. Also, because we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bungi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungi Backpackers

Address: 15 Sydney Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bungi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay