We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bumbles Backpackers

Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bumbles Backpackers
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Rebecca1991_12 Cardiff, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    48
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
43
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hostel is in a great location, just minutes from the town center. Our room had the most beautiful view of the lake. The rooms itself was spacious and had it's own bathroom. It was clean and tidy as well so all we really needed, (it's not like you spend much time there). It also had free WIFI that actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great parking. Staff was very nice and accommodating. The lay out is poor. The dorm rooms for 6 people also share a bathroom with the private rooms. People in the private rooms have to walk through the dorms in order to get to their room. We had very inconsiderate guests in the private rooms where they walked through at 3am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cute little hostel had it all. Character, good staff, fab location, heaters!! And lovely rooms. Me and my partner stayed here in a double room then in a twin. I love the fact the bedding was funky and the walls were stickered with big orange world maps or cute decor. The kitchen was immaculate. And the tv room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

It's super to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Queenstown. Cheers for taking time to write about how much you enjoyed your stay at Bumbles :) - Fiona More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

員工很友善、和藹和親。房間很乾淨,他沒有公共衛浴,所有的衛浴設備都在房間裡面,大概10個人共用ㄧ套衛浴設備。有提供桌上電腦可以使用,廚房不大,但還算齊全,該有的東西都有。wifi正常,不算慢還算流暢。距離是鎮上中心徒步5分鐘距離,門前有提供免費停車位。nothing really special, but the staff is pretty friendly and nice. The kitchen is a bit small otherwise everything is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

So reasonably priced. Very clean well maintained rooms. Women on reception very friendly and accommodating. I arrived at 9am in Queenstown and although the cleaner was still busy with the room I was able to leave all my stuff in the locked storage. Nice communal area including many bean bags, TV and well equipped kitchen. Very close to central Queenstown.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Only bad experience was the people I shared the dorm room with. German students but the rudest people ever!!! only had to out up with them for two nights but that was enough. Good location not to far from downtown Queenstown and a great view of the lake that is right on the doorstep. Book your own room is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Apologies on behalf of your roommates. Glad I could be of help during your stay at Bumbles, Fiona More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

So the first night we stayed in a hostel elsewhere in queenstown, however this is rated #1 for a reason. The hostel is in the perfect location, on the lake, and on the edge of the small downtown region. The views from the common area and most rooms are outstanding. The shared bathroom facilities are clean, and very nice. Nicer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us :-) More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We booked a double room and a twin room. The twin room was great, separated from the noise of the dorms and with a great view. However the double room (which cost more) was located right next to the dorm (you have to walk through the dorm to get there). We didn't get any sleep that night as the noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the set up of the private rooms. Please note that you were informed of this prior to your arrival (4 of our 6 private rooms must be accessed by coming through the adjoining dorm). I understand that it can be frustrating to have noisy neighbours and it is unfortunate that this affected... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I've stayed in tons of hostels, and Bumbles was definitely one of the best!! More of an older crowd, so perhaps not best for partiers. The views were spectacular from our dorm (#8) and it felt like a hotel! Highly recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend knew nothing about Queenstown before going there, so i contacted Bumbles for a bit of information. Fiona was so informative and helpful I decided to book with Bumbles and asked about what she would recommend I do. She ended up replying to me with such a good itinerary that I booked everything through them and got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. I was delighted to be of help. Really glad you both enjoyed your stay at Bumbles and your time in Queenstown and NZ. Thanks again, Fiona More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#20 of 81 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#21 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#13 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
#6 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#44 of 81 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#12 of 81 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay