We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bumbles Backpackers

Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bumbles Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kadowoo Taipei, Taiwan
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    47
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
42
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

員工很友善、和藹和親。房間很乾淨,他沒有公共衛浴,所有的衛浴設備都在房間裡面,大概10個人共用ㄧ套衛浴設備。有提供桌上電腦可以使用,廚房不大,但還算齊全,該有的東西都有。wifi正常,不算慢還算流暢。距離是鎮上中心徒步5分鐘距離,門前有提供免費停車位。nothing really special, but the staff is pretty friendly and nice. The kitchen is a bit small otherwise everything is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

So reasonably priced. Very clean well maintained rooms. Women on reception very friendly and accommodating. I arrived at 9am in Queenstown and although the cleaner was still busy with the room I was able to leave all my stuff in the locked storage. Nice communal area including many bean bags, TV and well equipped kitchen. Very close to central Queenstown.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Only bad experience was the people I shared the dorm room with. German students but the rudest people ever!!! only had to out up with them for two nights but that was enough. Good location not to far from downtown Queenstown and a great view of the lake that is right on the doorstep. Book your own room is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Apologies on behalf of your roommates. Glad I could be of help during your stay at Bumbles, Fiona More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

So the first night we stayed in a hostel elsewhere in queenstown, however this is rated #1 for a reason. The hostel is in the perfect location, on the lake, and on the edge of the small downtown region. The views from the common area and most rooms are outstanding. The shared bathroom facilities are clean, and very nice. Nicer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us :-) More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We booked a double room and a twin room. The twin room was great, separated from the noise of the dorms and with a great view. However the double room (which cost more) was located right next to the dorm (you have to walk through the dorm to get there). We didn't get any sleep that night as the noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the set up of the private rooms. Please note that you were informed of this prior to your arrival (4 of our 6 private rooms must be accessed by coming through the adjoining dorm). I understand that it can be frustrating to have noisy neighbours and it is unfortunate that this affected... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I've stayed in tons of hostels, and Bumbles was definitely one of the best!! More of an older crowd, so perhaps not best for partiers. The views were spectacular from our dorm (#8) and it felt like a hotel! Highly recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend knew nothing about Queenstown before going there, so i contacted Bumbles for a bit of information. Fiona was so informative and helpful I decided to book with Bumbles and asked about what she would recommend I do. She ended up replying to me with such a good itinerary that I booked everything through them and got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BumblesQT, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. I was delighted to be of help. Really glad you both enjoyed your stay at Bumbles and your time in Queenstown and NZ. Thanks again, Fiona More 

Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

the beds here are sooo comfortable, although I'm not sure if that's because I went camping east coast australia for 4 days before staying here! hostel is quaint and quiet, wonderful views of the wakitapu lake and mountain range in front via ceiling-to-floor windows. free wifi which is always great, although can be temperamental. the receptionist fiona is lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This is a cute modern hostel in a great location, in walking distance of central Queenstown. Stayed for 1 night in a twin room (all other beds were taken)! Nice room, even had a decent view of the lake. Good clean facilities including luggage storage. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This backpacker hostel is 5-10 minutes from the airport and in such a great location. It is right across of Lake Wakatipu and a short walk to Queenstown. We stayed in a twin room, which was just a private room with a bunk bed & closet. There was also a heater in the room. We stayed at this hostel twice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BumblesTeam, Manager at Bumbles Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. Would be great to see you at Bumbles next time you come back to Queensotwn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#28 of 82 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#19 of 82 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#13 of 82 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
#11 of 82 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#46 of 82 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#7 of 82 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay