We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Travelers' Choice award winner
377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Add Photo Write a Review

1,275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    894
    264
    77
    27
    13
See reviews for
281
700
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1275)
  • Mar-May only
    (358)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (262)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (409)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at the Rees Hotel for three nights over two different periods last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The view from our Lake View room was spectacular. The rooms themselves, we stayed in a standard lake view and also a one bedroom lake view, are very comfortable, clean and well set up with everything you need. All very modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rolling Hills Estates
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were really looking forward to our last 2 nights in NZ at this hotel, and had booked ourselves into a luxury apartment at $770 total. Unfortunately the huge storm that swept NZ this week shut the Haast Pass so instead of a scenic 3 1/2 hour drive we were faced with an unfeasible 1000+km detour. We called the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
colander, General Manager at The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Peta Your review is interesting in that when you booked your stay with us via Booking.com the cancellation policy was clearly stated and made up part of the contract. Just in case you have forgotten it I have copied it below for your records: "If cancelled up to 7 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife. The view we had from our apartment was amazing. Being able to wake up with the lake and the backdrop of the mountains was fantastic. The service was good and the view of the lobby was nice. Did get to see anything else and wasn't able to try the restaurant. The best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The views from our very comfortable room were magnificent. The hotel is not in the heart of Queenstown, which is actually nice. There is a free shuttle into and out of town, which is convenient. Loved our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in the apartments at this hotel as part of a group of 16. The apartments were exceptionally well appointed and presented. The staff at the hotel were as attentive as any that I have experienced in other luxury resorts with abundance of courtesy and nothing being to much trouble for myself or our group. Its a short drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for an apartment for a week then this is the place to book. I was only here for one night and it was great. They hay a free do it yourself laundry was a bonus! There is a track lakeside of the Hotel which takes you in to the Center of Queenstown, great for a run or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were blown away when we were shown our room. It was very spacious and the views were stunning. The room was very well equipped with everything we needed. We even had some friends around and it was perfect for entertaining. It was no problem that it was 5 minutes drive out of Queenstown. We caught the minibus one time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my 4th stay at The Rees and it only gets better. Unfortuntately just one night this year as a group had hired a 7 bedroom house with Spa and Views - not as good as being pampered at The Rees. I won't ever stay anywhere else in Queenstown. The staff are awesome and super helpful, the accomodation and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the staff. I was a little bit disappointed to see we were on level 1 of a seven level complex but be assured this is no disadvantage. Even level 1 is elevated way above the tree lines looking out over the lake. The view from our room and main bedroom is absolutely stunning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I saved the best for last when booking this hotel I wanted to treat my partner and for a 5 star experience and we definitely got that. The room is so nice that you don't want to leave it. The views are stunning the service is fantastic. would definitely stay here again when I visit queenstown

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (540)
Viewed
View from room (128)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (148)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay