We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monarch Motel

633 Tay Street (State Highway 1), Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had no booking and did not know how long we would be staying for, we advised the owners on check in and they were great about the whole thing. Ended up staying three nights. Rooms were clean, warm, quiet, and parking was right outside the room, which was great because the weather was horrible on at least one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Southlander11
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Southlander11 for your positive comments and taking the time to review Monarch Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the Monarch Motel. We would love to see you back. Kind Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Spent 2 nights in ground floor one bedroom unit which appeared to have been recently renovated. The unit was huge with great kitchen - fridge, full cooktop with oven, microwave and lots of utensils, large bathroom, lounge area with couch to watch TV and a separate bedroom which was very roomy and spacious. It was raining during our stay so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. We appreciate it very much as we continue to upgrade & renovate our Guest Rooms at the Monarch Motel. It was our pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Kerry, Karl and the team at the Monarch More 

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Great service from helpfull and friendly hosts, Very tidy and clean units and nice and quiet rooms. A great motel to base your visit to Invercargill and district attractions. Would most definitely stay again and recommend the same to others. Chris G

Helpful?
Thank chris2872015
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Chris for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back. Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

We arrived at the motel and were allocated unit an old tired unit - there was certainly no ceramic cooker hob or work table and we were charged the top rate. We asked for a unit on the lower floor but were given one on the higher floor. We asked for some milk and were told we had to pay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Londonjin999
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Hi Londonjin999, thank you for taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. Unfortunately I do not agree with a lot of the content of your review. When you booked via booking.com you specifically booked a two bedroom unit and asked for asked for a unit with 4 beds. All of our two bedroom units are located on the first... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights at this motel and would definitely recommend it. From the initial phone call the staff were very helpful. It is a very clean tidy motel with everything for a comfortable stay. Would we stay again.... Definitely

Helpful?
Thank Faye B
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Faye for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and were pleased we were able meet your expectations and we hope you are able to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

The motel was very well appointed with good lighting. Within easy distance of restaurants and the CBD. Helpful staff. We were very pleasantly surprised at the value for money. Can recommend this motel.

Helpful?
Thank Keith-Helen
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Helen, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Monarch Motel. We are pleased that your unit had everything you wanted. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Best wishes, Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We were booked into this motel by I-site Invercargill, as a place to stay while visiting from the North Island to attend the Bluff Oyster Festival and were more than satisfied. Our stay was for five nights so a well equipped kitchen,including a full stove was much appreciated, along with the free Wifi. The unit was very clean and tidy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CKwalking
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the Bluff Oyster festival. We would love to see you back again. Best wishes Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

We were so, so pleasantly surprised by this motel! We were kind of just expecting a room to lay our head for the night but ended up disappointed we weren't staying longer! The room has been renovated and it is just super!! We walked in to new carpet, a lovely kitchenette with full stove top, oven, microwave and any thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lou G
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Lou for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and your stay at the Monarch Motel. We would love to see you back. Kind Regards Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Waikato
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Have just travelled from up in the north island to way down here in Invercargill and I have to say that this is the best so far by a long shot. From the friendly and informative check-in to the impressive rooms. Spacious, modern, clean, great facilities and excellent Internet. Quiet, good parking, A little way from centre of town

Helpful?
Thank crayfishWaikato
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that the staff & facilities were to a high standard. We love our wee town and hope you are able to return again. Best wishes Kerry, Karl & the team at the Monarch Motel. More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We had an enjoyable one night stay at this motel. The motel was quiet and easy to locate. The room was very clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Wifi was included. The staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. All round great value!

Helpful?
Thank Sylvie1113
monarchm, Manager at Monarch Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Sylvie for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you found the facilities to your liking. Our team work hard to ensure that everything is clean & that you are informed of what to see in the area. We wish you safe travels for the remainder of your visit to NZ. Kerry, Karl & the team at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.3 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#24 of 33 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
ASURE Townsman Motor Lodge
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay