We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tower Lodge Motel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
119 Queens Drive, Invercargill, New Zealand
Special Price
free wifi & 10% discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tower Lodge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
105
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Liverpool
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopover on way to Te Anau. Ticked all the boxes, clean, tidy, large well appointed room with parking outside the door. Staff very helpful in recommendations for dining and places of interest. Easy to find, just look for the very tall water tower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here while working in Invercagill . Wonderful friendly hosts, Dawn and Ray. The units are modern, warm and so clean and well maintained. Location excellent. Would stay here again for sure. Excellent safe parking too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in a standard one bedroom motel unit. It was a bit disappointing. When we turned back the cover on the bed we found long dark hairs attached to the underside (yuk!). The bedding underneath was clean so it appears that the beds are made up with clean linen/duvet covers, but the top cover is reused. Having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TowerLodge, Owner at Tower Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed and we were shocked to read of you finding long dark hairs under the bedspread as we maintain a high standard of cleanliness which is apparent by previous reviews. We cannot comment on the clocks as they all have power cords attached and are close to plugs.... More 

Bristol, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two single night stays either side of a trip to the Rakiura Track. The motel is comfortable and the room we had was plenty spacious enough for us. I am sure there are many similar such motels around. The difference here are the owners, they are supremely friendly and helpful. WE have stayed in many places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We received a lovely warm welcome from Victoria on our arrival at the Tower Lodge Motel. She advised us of various sights & activities that may interest us while staying in Invercargill. She also recommended a local restaurant which we later discovered was every bit as good as she had said. Our unit was spacious with a separate bedroom, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. Very friendly helpful service, excellent rooms, clean and modern with all the facilities one could want. Situated very handy to the Queens Park and museum and even walking distance to town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Recently we stayed at this wonderful motel for two nights. We found our one bedroom motel unit perfect for all our needs. Clean, immaculately presented, kitchen and living area well fitted out, iron and ironing board, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows. There is a laundry supplied between units 5 and 6 and the hosts provide pegs and a clothes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights while working, very peaceful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Tip: short easy walk to the Saucy Chef restaurant. ( chowder + bread plate yummy entrees but enough for 2 do share, very full afterwards ) Tip 2 : short easy walk to Queens park (must do)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

If there is a blueprint for how an older motel is renovated and run then the Tower Lodge Motel is a wonderful example to follow. An enthusiastic, friendly welcome offering a genuine interest in how our stay in Invercargill could be enhanced was a great start. Our modestly priced room exceeded all our expectations. Spotless, tastefully decorated and newly renovated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed in this motel recently and found it very well furnished with nice beds. Walking distance to town and near the lovely park. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. We would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question