We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ascot Park Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ascot Park Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights on the motel side and it was very good in relation to the price, our room was spacious with a good kitchen. Location was a bit off from the city centre but this is a good alternative if you're just looking for a place to stay on route to Steward Island or further in Otago.

Helpful?
Thank Vranki
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't know what me and my partner were expecting, but we were thoroughly impressed for the price we paid - we were almost disappointed we were just passing through Invercargill and only staying the night. The room was comfortable with handy outside parking, everything was clean and tidy and very welcoming. Hotel facilities also looked very good, we wish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

HI Morgan, thank you for choosing the Ascot Park Hotel, we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kind Regards Bryan & the team. More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 night here in the motel units. The 2 nights were three days apart as we went to Stewart Island inbetween. The service was excellent. We had a shuttle pick us up from the Air Port and then we used the shuttle several times for trips back and forth from the I-Site for bus drop offs and pickups.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for posting your review, no doubt you would have enjoyed your Stewart Island experience, thank you for visiting the South. Regards Bryan & Ascot team. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first time I stayed here, late in December and I have to say the experience was very nice. We had a little motel room, quite a way from the reception area, and to demonstrate what great staff are like, a lady by the name of Amber checked me in very efficiently (we arrived about 9pm), drew a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwioverseasexperien
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Happy New Year and thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I will pass on your comments to Amber, she is a star! Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and trust we may be of service again next time you visit Invercargill. Kind Regards Bryan & the Team More 

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the motel unit just beside the hotel complex. You have everything you need and expect from a motel plus all the benefits (e.g. restaurant, pool) from the hotel. The room/bathroom were very modern and clean. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful. I would for sure book this hotel again and recoend it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nico_Shearer
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nico Thanks for the review, wishing a great 2016 and trust we may be of service again. Kind Regards Bryan & Team More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in a motel unit - these are further away from the main hotel block but easy pathways to get to the Hotel in a minutes walk. The motel was good value for money, shower was a bit weak but the unit overall was clean and tidy, Bed was a bit firm for my liking but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jandal99
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and trust we may be of service again in the future. Regards Bryan & Team More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

My wife and 18 month old daughter stayed here, originally for one night but was having such a good time it ended up being two. There was no hassle in calling the reception to arrange this. It may not always be possible to do this when they are busier but always worth a try if you want to extend your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, very much appreciated, we trust we may be of service again in the future. Maintenance jobs have been noted! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We have stayed several times in the past, and were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of reburbishment of the motel units. Location very quiet and peaceful with lovely contoured landscaping and there is a service station & local takeaway shop only a 5 minute walk across the road Prefer staying here compared to motel venues closer to the town... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyes1955
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review. We are pleased that you have found the Motel refurbishment to you liking. We trust we may be of service again in the future. Kind Regards Bryan & the team. More 

Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Booked online for a short trip to Invercargill. We were placed in one of the motel units adjacent to the hotel, this had the huge plus of having a small kitchen with microwave, cooking top and fridge. The unit was very quite and very clean. The room was spacious with one queen and one large single bed. Bed was average... More 

Helpful?
Thank AllanOrewa
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us at the Ascot Park Hotel. Merry Christmas to you and your family we hope to be of service again in the future. More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

I returned to the Ascot Park despite a previous poor experience and was pleasantly surprised. Even though the hotel was full I did not have any issues with noise this time and had a great night's sleep. Although the décor could do with some refurbishment I enjoyed having the large spacious room and comfortable bed . I think having real... More 

Helpful?
Thank us2kiwis
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased to read that you experienced an enjoyable stay and that we were given another chance! Kind Regards Bryan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
1.6 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#24 of 33 in Invercargill
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#13 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay