We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Dunedin hotels

Garden Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Garden Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014
magbillSingapore singapore
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is an older style basic motel with poor insulation (we had to keep the heater on whenever we were in the unit) and no double glazing, so noise was the major issue for us. Not only were we surprised by the amount of traffic noise (as we were in a unit at the back, well away from the road),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

When we (3 couples from the Lion City) arrived at Dunedin, we headed straight to George Street, where we knew lots of motels could be found. We went into some, and they were either full or they do not have 3 rooms. There were some with car parks on slopes. That made it hard to load and unload baggages. Some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. we hope you will stay with us next time you are in Dunedin. We pride ourselves on clean units and friendly service and there is so much to do within a 20min walk of the motel More

Christchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed with a sports team for 3 nights. Was perfectly adequate. Was clean and tidy. Free wifi was certainly appreciated. Price was fair. Location is handy enough to the town or the stadium. No complaints here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a lot of sports teams at the motel so we are now well set up for them.We hope you will stay with us next time you are in Dunedin. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

A small and cosy place but with big hearted and caring hosts. The unit was quite nice and clean and warm and had all the things that a solo person can ask for. The staff was also quite friendly and helped out in recommending the sight seeings. The vibes and layout of the place were quite homely like and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. we hope to host you again when next your are in dunedin. More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I can't give this place enough praises. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with everything and allowed us to view and choose out of three different rooms on arrival. The room we chose was an excellent size and very clean and tidy. Great location which is close to town but not in with the hustle,bustle and noise of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. we hope to host your again soon. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay good location nice host and couldet ask for enymore than that!!!! But the only thing was the price was a bit pricey for the 5 days we stayed but highly recommended otherwise thank you to the lady in the office she was very helpfull

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review of our motel. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to hosting you when next you are in Dunedin. More

Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I recently stayed at Garden Motel when visiting a family member in hospital in Dunedin. They allowed us to check in earlier then their standard time since our room was ready, free wifi was offered on check in which was great to help let family know how things were going. The unit had lots of space (2 bedroom unit) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back when next you need to stay in Dunedin. More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are very unsatisfied and disappointed with the service and facilities of this motel. We originally booked a room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed. However, we were given a room with only 1 single bed and 1 double bed. In addition to that, the owners were rude and unhelpful when we informed them that there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our motel was your worst experience. You booked through booking .com and when you book through an agent your booking automatically selects the type of room you want -so we had no input into the unit you were put in by Booking.com. As we had no vacancies we could not change your unit - so... More

Riverton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife booked us a small studio as we were just staying one night. The unit had everything we needed, was clean and comfortable and nice and warm. It was a little noisy in the morning when the bin men came but that's not the motel's fault - nor was the noise our neighbours made when they left in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I don't know why the bin people need to clear bins so early in an area with travellers. Sorry about the guests next door to you who left early and were noisy - some people have no consideration for others - most of our early leaving... More

Worongary, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 1bedroom apartment with the queen bed in the living room.It was quite cramped with two adults and two children steping over suitcases in the lounge . The service was fantastic and so helpful with guiding us to family friendly restaurants and local attractions The motel was a long walking distance from the city but still enjoyable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Than you for your review. We are pleased you found us helpful. Yes with a lot of luggage the rooms can be cramped. Next time try a two bedroom unit - there is a lot more room and cupboard to store your luggage in. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay