We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Dunedin hotels

Garden Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Garden Motel to your Saves list
Garden Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
83%
Ranked #34 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tane B Oamaru, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at Garden Motel when visiting a family member in hospital in Dunedin. They allowed us to check in earlier then their standard time since our room was ready, free wifi was offered on check in which was great to help let family know how things were going. The unit had lots of space (2 bedroom unit) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back when next you need to stay in Dunedin. More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are very unsatisfied and disappointed with the service and facilities of this motel. We originally booked a room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed. However, we were given a room with only 1 single bed and 1 double bed. In addition to that, the owners were rude and unhelpful when we informed them that there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our motel was your worst experience. You booked through booking .com and when you book through an agent your booking automatically selects the type of room you want -so we had no input into the unit you were put in by Booking.com. As we had no vacancies we could not change your unit - so... More

Riverton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife booked us a small studio as we were just staying one night. The unit had everything we needed, was clean and comfortable and nice and warm. It was a little noisy in the morning when the bin men came but that's not the motel's fault - nor was the noise our neighbours made when they left in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I don't know why the bin people need to clear bins so early in an area with travellers. Sorry about the guests next door to you who left early and were noisy - some people have no consideration for others - most of our early leaving... More

Worongary, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 1bedroom apartment with the queen bed in the living room.It was quite cramped with two adults and two children steping over suitcases in the lounge . The service was fantastic and so helpful with guiding us to family friendly restaurants and local attractions The motel was a long walking distance from the city but still enjoyable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Than you for your review. We are pleased you found us helpful. Yes with a lot of luggage the rooms can be cramped. Next time try a two bedroom unit - there is a lot more room and cupboard to store your luggage in. More

Riverton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were recommended this Hotel by an alternative establishment and it did not disappoint. My wife and I cannot praise the service and quality high enough, the owners took time and were quite focussed on there business to the point of changing a few future bookings around to get our business. Found info out that we needed, nothing was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us if you are back in Dunedin. More

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom unit while down for my son's graduation. Small unit for a one bedroom, but it was lovely and clean and well stocked. Situated at the north end of George Street, noise wasn't a problem although the motel is surrounded by student flats. Owner very accommodating and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on clean and tidy units and are pleased that you found your unit up to our standard. We hope you will stay with us when next you are in dunedin More

Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Motell for 2 nights and it was a very nice stay and definately good value for money. We were recieved warmly at arrival and got a room in the corner of the motel. Entering the room, there first was the kitchen which had everything you need. The motel has a policy of not allowing people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back when next you are in Dunedin More

Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. On the first night, we discovered the light in the bathroom was not working and we had to change room but the staff was very apologetic and helpful. The rooms are value for money. It offers free newspaper, wifi and milk and the room rate is very affordable. Both the rooms are very clean and well-kept.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Hi we are pleased you found our motel value for meney. We hope to see you back in Dunedin again soon. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean and tidy motel, allows pets to stay which is fantastic. Rooms not at all smelly from pets staying. Hosts very flexible and friendly, let us extend our stay without any issue. Good size units, quiet location, nothing was a problem for the hosts, even gave us a free paper in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found our motel comfortable and our staff friendly. We hope to welcome you to our motel next time you need accommodation in Dunedin More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Units were very clean. Cosy and good value. The room had a king size and single bed in the room. The bed was very comfortable :) Owners are very friendly and helpful. There is a BBQ available for usage. Our small dog was also allowed to stay. We had a very pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will book one of our units next time you need accommodation in Dunedin. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dunedin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garden Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer