We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    37
    44
    20
    12
See reviews for
19
64
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was so lost and confused this morning trying to contact my tour I was adding on to and needing to call people and find numbers. The reception staff were so helpful and willing to get me to where I need to go! So thankful. Very quaint well kept hotel. If I ever need to find a place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Teleahburton, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to help you out in what sounds like quite a stressful situation. Hopefully the rest of your trip was more relaxing after that. We would love to be able to welcome you... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for one night in July while backpacking. Hotel was basic and clean for what we needed. No parking available for hotel guests but managed to park up on the road near the hotel. Hotel staff were friendly. Unfortunately our room was next door to the lift shaft and was very loud and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Joey S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that the friendliness of our staff and location of the hotel lived up to your expectations, it is however unfortunate that we had no parking spaces left when you arrived, it is recommended to reserve one during... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was good and the general facilities fine. Staff service was great. We did not sample the bar or food so cannot comment. The parking at $15 a day off site is a bit steep. We just parked over the road since it was a weekend. Liverpool Street (opposite the hotel) usually has spaces. If you park after 5pm, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Matt T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am very happy to hear that aside from the internet challenges (I can completely understand your frustration) you found your stay to be great and would definitely stay again. I am very excited to announce that we have just... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has its upside and downside. Upside is: a good location, friendly staff, well designed hotel rooms and comfortable beds. Downside is: poor parking arrangements, pre-historic lift, thin walls, no free WIFI in rooms, poky bathroom/shower and second rate breakfast offer. Regarding the latter, when you opt for a $24 cooked breakfast you expect more than just overcooked poached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Smollett, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that you were happy with our location and customer service and that you found your bedroom to be comfortable. With regard to the areas of your stay which were more lacking, we will be installing complimentary unlimited wifi... More 

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Great location for hotel, walking distance to octagon. Got the rooms on special on the 6th floor and facing the back street. Lots of light and commodities. Only a bit noisy...they might have some machinery on roof and hear noise and some slight vibration, we did not feel it at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Eva F, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and that you found your room to be well lit with suitable amenities supplied. I am so sorry that you were disturbed by an external noise during... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Being in New Zealand for several months, we wanted to see the South Island. The culture in New Zealand is more to utilize storefront travel agencies and less online brokers, so we went to Flight Center (the fast food of travel agencies). They made arrangements for a night's stay in Dunedin at the Park Regis. Great name and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Don V, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Wain's Hotel Dunedin. I am sorry that your time with us did not live up to your expectations- we are a 3.5 star hotel and it has been independently assessed that we provide the services and product required of this. Flight Centre... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

when checking in we were greeted with a 15 dollar car park fee to a car park 200 meters away from the motel The room while clean was very old and worn. The leather chair had lost most of its leather from wear and tear. The old style lift where you have to open the door yourself, while quaint, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear garymcp, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is good to hear that you were assisted straight away when you were first checked into a room that did not suit your requirements, I was glad to read that you found the staff to be friendly and that you... More 

Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Close to Octagon, walking distance to a great variety of amenities. Daughter slept over & walked to lectures, met up for brunch - a great chance to catch up & purchase more winter woollies!! Especially welcome was the warm room on check in.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear 147amber, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is lovely to hear that our central location made it easy for you to spend some quality time with your daughter indulging in brunch and a shopping trip, it sounds like you had fun! We do like to pre-heat our... More 

Pukekohe, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The Park Regis is a lovely, reasonable priced Hotel to stay in, in a central location. The staff are lovely and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The rooms were serviced to our requirements and were very clean (even nothing under the bed, we looked) Would stay there again when next in Dunedin and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear s0nyar0sel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is always wonderful to hear about it when a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their time with us and moreover found the hotel to be reasonably priced in light of the services provided. Thanks again for your kind comments, I am... More 

Bathust
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

nice place to stay, clean facilities with the exception of the wet non-slip mat for the shower :S check in was a little slow but nothing to really get worked up over. parking on the street opposite to the hotel was cheap (when i was there) and safe enough. my only real issue would be the arrival of a cleaning... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear bronwynt108, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am glad that felt the standards of cleanliness at the hotel were high and you found your experience with us to be nice overall. We are so sorry that you were woken by a vehicle at the back entrance of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#22 of 56 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#2 of 56 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#48 of 56 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#38 of 56 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay