We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    39
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
19
66
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice, clean and comfortable in good location and lovely staff BUT we had three rooms and NONE had a window (two had high frosted panes of no use and one had a view of metalwork and pipes and the noise from a kitchen fan from 6:30 am). Some rooms apparently DO have windows and acceptable views - if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear thereandbackagainnz, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am sorry that you only felt your stay with us warranted such a poor score even though you judged the hotel to be very nice, clean and comfortable, well located and with lovely staff. We are incidentally a 3.5 star... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Wains on our first night in New Zealand. It was a lovely building and perfect room, overlooking the water. It was within close walking distance to the octagon and lovely bars and restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear julieg1964bne, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Wains Hotel Dunedin. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us as your first port of call in New Zealand and that you had such a marvellous time at the hotel and in our city. I hope that the rest of... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Smaller room, but with a King bed. Extremely clean and comfortable. Though I was near the lift there was very little noise transfer. The property could be a New York boutique style hotel...... Reception staff were very helpful - and the continental breakfast was good as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Guy S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is wonderful to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. We have actually been working on the quality of our continental breakfast buffet and the variety of items on offer recently and it is good... More 

Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived late on Friday night after a long drive from Christchurch. We had upgraded to a king room as we were celebrating my birthday and 2 years of travelling. Our room was next to the manual lift which instantly was a no for me. The receptionist was fantastic and moved us straight away to a superior twin room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear teamhottie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much. All Tripadvisor comments are shared with the team and we are always very happy to read that we have done a good job in looking after our guests.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I was so lost and confused this morning trying to contact my tour I was adding on to and needing to call people and find numbers. The reception staff were so helpful and willing to get me to where I need to go! So thankful. Very quaint well kept hotel. If I ever need to find a place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Teleahburton, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to help you out in what sounds like quite a stressful situation. Hopefully the rest of your trip was more relaxing after that. We would love to be able to welcome you... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for one night in July while backpacking. Hotel was basic and clean for what we needed. No parking available for hotel guests but managed to park up on the road near the hotel. Hotel staff were friendly. Unfortunately our room was next door to the lift shaft and was very loud and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Joey S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that the friendliness of our staff and location of the hotel lived up to your expectations, it is however unfortunate that we had no parking spaces left when you arrived, it is recommended to reserve one during... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Location was good and the general facilities fine. Staff service was great. We did not sample the bar or food so cannot comment. The parking at $15 a day off site is a bit steep. We just parked over the road since it was a weekend. Liverpool Street (opposite the hotel) usually has spaces. If you park after 5pm, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Matt T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am very happy to hear that aside from the internet challenges (I can completely understand your frustration) you found your stay to be great and would definitely stay again. I am very excited to announce that we have just... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

This hotel has its upside and downside. Upside is: a good location, friendly staff, well designed hotel rooms and comfortable beds. Downside is: poor parking arrangements, pre-historic lift, thin walls, no free WIFI in rooms, poky bathroom/shower and second rate breakfast offer. Regarding the latter, when you opt for a $24 cooked breakfast you expect more than just overcooked poached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Smollett, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased that you were happy with our location and customer service and that you found your bedroom to be comfortable. With regard to the areas of your stay which were more lacking, we will be installing complimentary unlimited wifi... More 

Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Great location for hotel, walking distance to octagon. Got the rooms on special on the 6th floor and facing the back street. Lots of light and commodities. Only a bit noisy...they might have some machinery on roof and hear noise and some slight vibration, we did not feel it at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Eva F, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and that you found your room to be well lit with suitable amenities supplied. I am so sorry that you were disturbed by an external noise during... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Being in New Zealand for several months, we wanted to see the South Island. The culture in New Zealand is more to utilize storefront travel agencies and less online brokers, so we went to Flight Center (the fast food of travel agencies). They made arrangements for a night's stay in Dunedin at the Park Regis. Great name and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Don V, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Wain's Hotel Dunedin. I am sorry that your time with us did not live up to your expectations- we are a 3.5 star hotel and it has been independently assessed that we provide the services and product required of this. Flight Centre... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#22 of 56 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#48 of 56 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#2 of 56 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#38 of 56 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay