We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Hotel website
137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
36
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely large rooms very clean and neat bathrooms plenty to do around the city everything walking distant. Ben was very friendly and eager to help with what's on and directions . We had a great time and would come here again to stay friendly atmosphere cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived here Christchurch. We were greeted with a warm welcome and this is where it went wrong. Apparently they had received an email from me stating we would be arriving one day later than our due date of the Monday for our 2 day stay, to this date I do not know who sent this email wasn't me. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Stephen It was such a mystery that we had received an email confirmation about the date change of your booking with us and resulted in this awkward situation. We understood that there was no other accommodation available in Dunedin for that evening and you would definitely need some place to stay for the night. I was glad that we... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently spent a night at the Victoria Hotel. The location is fantastic as it is within two blocks of George street, across the road from New World supermarket. Onsite parking. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious with two queen beds. Good sized bathroom, shower over bath. Staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Deb I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We will certainly continue our best effort to ensure the best quality service provided to our guests and are looking forward to your next visit in the future. Kind regards Leo Pan More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Dunedin and at the Victoria Hotel. It was easy to find driving in and there was good parking. It's central location meant that we could park our car and walk to all sights/restaurants etc. The room was very comfortable and quiet - the rates reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Alan Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review for us and it's encouraging to see the positive points of our services and the good feedbacks. We will certainly continue our best effort to ensure the best quality service provided to our guests and are looking forward to your next visit in the future.... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

A well situated city motel with parking. Pleasant reception staff. Good sized room (studio) with ample kitchen facilities. The central location meant walking to the city centre was easy, but it meant that it was really noisy. Throughout the night I heard traffic and pedestrians, so I would recommend taking ear plugs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the noise from the street, we normally do not get this kind of complaint much, but I found that the room you stayed was the first floor room that is the closest room... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Stayed here with my partner March 19th. Perfect for sleep found it very quiet, room was warm great laundry facilities. Will recommend to friends and family. Car park was full but man at reception said we could use nandos no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review for us and it's encouraging to see the positive points of our services and the good feedbacks. We will certainly continue our best effort to ensure the best quality service provided to our guests and are looking forward to your next visit in the future.... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I was unable to get into my normal accommodation; due to events in the City; but my travel agent found this place. I was very pleasantly surprised. Only 3 stories of rooms on a main road out of the city BUT was very quiet, still only a 2minute walk to the Octagon. The rooms were large, clean (and think recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear guest I am glad to hear that we had surprised you in the good ways, and you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly continue to maintain our quality of services and as well as upgrading our facilities to provide the best accommodation experience possible. I will be looking forward to seeing you again in the near... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Staff were wonderful- helpful & friendly. Room was disappointing, quite shabby. Sky TV channels extremely limited, as was room service menu and times. Average food, although no extra charge for delivery. Small bath. No air conditioning, just a fan. If you're a smoker, a skinny chair on the tiny balcony would be helpful. Too expensive for what was offered! Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to know that you were not satisfy with your stay with us. We offer 12 channels from both the Freeviews and Sky, which includes the most popular channels of Sky Sport 1 & 2 and the movies channel. Our room service actually covers from 7am till 9pm with both the Nandos menu and the hotel... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

The room was clean and well maintained; as was the hotel in general. The room was very spacious with a very large, comfortable bed, a coffee table and two chairs, from which we were able to enjoy the view through the large windows. It is easy to walk to the centre, as well as the train station and Settlers Museum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review for us and it's encouraging to see the positive points of our services and the good feedbacks. We will certainly continue our best effort to ensure the best quality service provided to our guests and are looking forward to your next visit in the future.... More 

Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
84 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Not the nicest looking hotel, but good value, centrally located and has free car parking. Staff were friendly and the room was more than adequate for the price. Breakfast did not look very enticing so we gave it a miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VictoriaHotelDunedin, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Leo Pan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question