We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

4.5 of 5 Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    170
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
138
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (392)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a nice room over looking the street, but the sheets and towels were a bit worn. They seemed to be short staffed, only in the early day was there someone at the registration desk. If these things are ok, then the location is a bonus. We did ask for a fan and one was delivered that day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear BeachfunMissouri, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciated your great comments that you liked your room and our great location. Apologies that you found your linen to be a bit worn - this is quite unusual as we get lots of great comments about our... More 

North Willoughby, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel basically in the central location. Handy to the octagon, central station, cardbury tour and the first church. Every thing is in walking distance. I love the WiFi availability in the hotel, the room is very big and clean. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Djien D, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your great comments especially that you loved the free wifi and would recommend us to others - thanks again and hope you have safe travels back home. Kind regards. Greg. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Centrally located hotel with very spacious rooms, clean and well maintained. Only complaint was the air-conditioning control on the first night but after discovering that I was able to open the windows the problem was solved, our room faced west and received the afternoon sun. In my travels I had never seen a little bag provided to take away your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Ian P, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thanks also for all of your great comments and we are glad that you like our Eco-bag to take away any leftover used toiletries. Hopefully we can host you again one day and trust you had safe travels home. Kind... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located, reasonably priced valet parking ($12) - there is a 5 minute parking spot just outside to drop the car if you go around the corner at the lights if you are coming along princes st. Rooms were very large and we heard no street noise on the 3 rd floor. Good selection at breakfast and muffins and hash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thanks also for all of your great comments especially about good selection at breakfast and that you found us to be a very hospitable hotel and will try our Scenic brand again - just fantastic. Hopefully the remainder of your... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Standard single king size bedroom was clean, spacious and welcoming. However, when it came to personal services and standard breakfasts; full English breakfast, I was a bit disappointed. At $33, you get over-cooked bacons, that was very dry. Sausages that looked like it came straight out of frozen packets, and half-cooked boiled eggs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Brewmaster10, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your great comments regarding your room being clean, spacious and welcoming, and also that you rated our location to be very good - much appreciated. We do get many good comments about our breakfast so I apologise... More 

Western Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great sport in the centre of town. Very close to restaurants and bars. Also very close to the train station. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The room service food was excellent. All the tours I took picked me up at the front door. Needs aircon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear GregYeo, Thanks you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your great comments about our location, rooms spacious and very comfortable, and that your room service was excellent - much appreciated. We hope you had safe travels home and hope to host you again some... More 

Kaimiro
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just one block away from the Octagon square in Dunedin. The room was very clean and comfortable. Facilities to make your own coffee and tea, while there was also a mini-bar present. The room was very tidy and plenty of power points to recharge the mobile phone. Staff was very helpful. We were visiting my daughter and we will come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Peter T, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thanks also for all of your great positive comments, especially that you found our staff very helpful and that you will come back and stay with us again - the ultimate! - really appreciated. Kind regards. Greg. More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my family for one night at the last day of December 2014. The room was big and more than enough space even with two young kids. The location is very close to the city center and within walking distance to main attractions of the city. The restaurant served good breakfast meals. In new year's eve, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear herwanng, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your great comments especially about quality of your room and good breakfast meals. Hopefully we can host you again some day. Thanks again and kind regards. Greg. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in this beautiful hotel.I was in the room 104,my niece&her partner and kids in 105.The rooms were big and clean and staff were very friendly and helpful plus quality breakfast.I would like to thank to Miss Tamara Cromb for posting the IPhone headphones I left in the room.I hope to visit your hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear ukOnthe mOve, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your room to be big and clean, and enjoyed a quality breakfast with good staff all round. Also I will certainly pass on great feedback to Timara. Thanks again and kind... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very clean, modern and large rooms. Ours was a 2 queen and perfect for our family. We arrived mid evening and with tired kids instead of walking out for supper we opted to try their dining room and had an excellent meal. Melinda was our server and she did a great job. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear J R, Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read you found us to be a modern hotel in a great location with very clean, modern rooms. It was especially great to read your complimentary comments about Melinda and our Caesar Salad which Cory... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay