We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    196
    64
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
166
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (446)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were very comfortable. Our first room (7th floor) was next to the elevator so we asked to change the next day and did but that room was also on the street side so somewhat noisy at night. Both rooms were comfortable if not the latest thing. The free wifi worked fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear tvmovielover50, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. Thanks also for staying with us for 4 nights (!!) and making mention that you found your room comfortable, and enjoyed our free Wifi and great location. We hope the rest of your travels in NZ were wonderful and that you... More 

Haldwani, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel is situated in the Centre of the City. One can just walk to the Market of Dunedin that has all the restaurants and showrooms! It was a really convenient Hotel! Our Hotel Room was also nice, spacious and comfortable. The Hotel Staff was courteous. When we came by car here for the first time, we were confused as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Nuravamrev, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your great comments regarding our location, room and hotel staff - it has certainly made their day! Thanks again and kind regards. Greg. More 

Bath
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having a two night break in Dunedin and needed a central hotel to leave the car at realistic price. The Scenic hotel has a great location offering excellent rooms with very good facilities, great staff and on site parking. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and the hotel extremely comfortable bar area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Keithbath D, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you rated our location, rooms and staff very highly - we really appreciate that and hope the rest of your travels in NZ went well. Thank you again and kind regards. Greg. More 

Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a challenging time finding the entry to the hotel in busy afternoon traffic. The check in staff were very formal and not welcoming. We were told a staff member would park the car for us (which was in a 5 minute park). We waited with the car for the staff member to arrive as my partner had observed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Ruth B, Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I apologise about your bad start in regards to customer service - this is very uncharacteristic and I will be following this up. it was good to read that things became much better during your stay. Thanks again and kind... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on two occasions for a total of 3 nights on a tour of NZ. The positives are the location, as you can walk into the centre in just a couple of minutes, and to the station in about 10 minutes. Free good speed wifi is also available. The rest of the hotel rates average to poor for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear 224David224, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your great comments regarding our location and 24 hour free wifi - much appreciated. We do get many many positive comments about our rooms, cleanliness and food and beverage operations, however it looks like we did not... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to stay here so that it would be central for our needs over a holiday weekend. Twelve us booked to share some rooms and be together after attending Dunedin Teachers Homecraft Division 50 yrs ago. We thought we would all be at least on the same floor but were spread over 3. How ever the rooms were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Elinor W, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found our rooms of good size and that the beds were super comfy - we have goose feather underlays and toppers which most guests really seem to enjoy. Apologies about the room allocations... More 

Christchurch
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I struggled to know where to land the rating for this hotel. The positives - great central location, good view (from 7th floor room, harbour side), efficient and friendly staff, reasonably spacious room, good value (king standard room), quiet, clean. The negatives - one of the saggiest beds we've ever had the misfortune to sleep in, that basically led to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear whattosay, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious room, and found our staff to be efficient and friendly - they will get a buzz out of your great mention here. We are sorry that you did not find... More 

Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is modern and clean, bathrooms are a little dated though. Great service from front desk staff. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the cbd of Dunedin. Everything is close by for walking. Airport is a long way out of town though. Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Bob d, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your great comments, especially that you received great service from front desk staff and that you would definitely recommend us - the ultimate comment! Thanks again and kind regards. Greg. More 

Westlake Village, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 406 and it was a great room with view of the city. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel on Princess Street was central and close to restaurants. The Dunedin Railway Station (We were told that it is the most photographed building in New Zealand) and Cadbury’s Chocolate Factory is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear intrepidtrvlr, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, enjoyed our inner city location close to many iconic sightseeing treats, liked our 24hr free wifi, and that you would recommend us to others - the ultimate... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 lovely nights in Dunedin at this hotel. The staff were lovely and the rooms were really nice and welcoming. It has a great location within the city as it is in the heart of all the action. It is great to see they have a valet system for the cars but maybe they need to organise more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Amanda L, Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciated your positive comments - especially that you found our staff lovely - and we hope to host you again when you may be in Dunedin. Thanks again and kind regards. Greg. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities