We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Dunedin hotels

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scenic Hotel Dunedin City to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Michelle L
  • Overview
  • Reviews (316)
  • Photos (52)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (69)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    130
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
60
112
15
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed with the family and booked two doubles for the room. Place was good also walking distance to shops and movie cinemas. Hairdresser was also in part of the building. Car parking was available which is handy. Only negatives was I should have booked queen size rooms as the double beds was quite small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Michelle L, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and hopefully can host you again some day. Kindest regards. Greg. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Two small disadvantages, otherwise very good hotel. Didn't think the full hot breakfast was very good value for money. Have had much better. And not very sound proof rooms - noise above and beside us kept us awake. But otherwise, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very large, clean, warm, with extra comfy beds and good facilities. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear TeddyRiva, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your wonderful comments regarding the staff being friendly and helpful, room being very large and clean with extra comfy beds and good facilities - also that our location was great and room service dinner very nice -... More

Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were fortunate to stay on the top floor with fabulous views across the city and towards the harbour. The team are fantastic with a special mention to housekeeping who take particular pride in their work. Had both dinner one night in the restaurant - the Blue Cod with Crayfish sauce was a stand out!! Also recommend breakfast - we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Jac B, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your great comments especially regarding the fantastic team with stand out mention of the housekeeping team - you have made their day! Also the kitchen team will be very happy with your lovely comments regarding... More

St. George, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this hotel to be well located and the reception staff friendly. The rooms were very clean and the views were indeed scenic. I was here for five nights. The two downsides were that I could hear the guests above me walking about as the building is older, and he lifts running also woke me up. I just put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Brian Head C, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your wonderful comments regarding our great location, friendly reception staff and that your room was very clean. We are sorry that our policy of not allowing guests to BYO their own beverage was not to... More

Te Anau, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean and warm rooms. Great sized rooms with very cosy beds. Friendly staff. A lovely breakfast for us all. A good handy location for all activities. We will be staying again for sure. Good to have the option to have the car safely parked away for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Sacha K, Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We were all very happy to read all your great positive comments, and the ultimate - that you will stay with us again. Thanks again and hope that you travels back home to beaufiful Te Anau went well -... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was staying here while at a debtong event at Otago University. Found the staff very friendly and housekeeping very efficient. Location was great. Room service was perhaps a bit out if my price range. Overall a great experience with the free wifi :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Azazzlenic, Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. The staff will be delighted to hear that you found them very friendly and housekeeping very efficient. It was just fantastic to read that overall you had a great experience so thanks very much for those wonderful comments. Kind regards. Greg. More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived very early in the day, having driven overnight from Christchurch. The manager was kind enough to give us some pillows before we got a room, and then checked us in to a room several hours before our reservation began. The room was clean and spacious. When we arrived back late at night, the night manager let us in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Nick717, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found your room clean and spacious and that you would stay again and recommend us to friends - we really appreciate your great comments so thank you very much and hope your travels home went well.... More

Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay, very well located with a restaurant in the hotel. Made us feel very welcome and a nice room to stay in. Lovely atmosphere and staff very helpful offering us advise on what to do, where to go etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Mcleods2011, Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for mentioning that there was a lovely atmosphere around the hotel and our staff made you feel welcome, and were very helpful in offering advice on what to do in our lovely city of Dunedin. We really appreciate all... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The late night staff insisted that I provide my booking confirmation which was sent to my wife's email. He just unable(or unwilling) to find me in his system but manage to confirm my booking later after I woke my wife up at the hospital near by to obtain details. Poor poor service-Speechless!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Teke T, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Naturally we were disappointed to read your comments and sincerely apologise for this situation. The only reason this would have happened is if a booking was not showing in our system because it may have been made for a... More

Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently and I have to say that the room was perfect. Very spacious with high ceilings and a large bed and the most luxurious goosedown bed accessories you can image. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Lynece P, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all your fantastic comments and especially that you would recommend us. I see you are from stunning Queenstown and so wish the snow may fall heavily and frequently on all of your fine skifields! Thanks again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Dunedin #4 Family Hotel in Dunedin #9 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin #19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
122

See which rooms travelers prefer