We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

4.5 of 5 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    158
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
56
139
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last month (December) i proposed to my long term girlfriend and had decided to book two nights accommodation in celebration of such a monumental moment in our lives. I shared this information with the food and beverage manager and without my knowledge the staff had decorated the room with sweet and romantic wee tokens e.g. roses in the shape of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Timaru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Over the years we have stayed at the Southern Cross Hotel in Dunedin and without doubt it is always our choice when in Dunedin. The service has always been the same - friendly, efficient and helpful. However, being one who rarely has a night's sleep away from home the bed & bedding are the best I've encountered in many years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Checked in room 577. The Location, Service, Amenities, Bedding, Sky TV, Toiletries everything was A+. The only downside is customer parking is not free. There is an extra charge of $12 per night, To find a car park outside may be a task. Apart from this all good. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived with a double booking. I showed the hotel I can canceled on booking although it was a double booking on their records. They were very kind, let us go to our room and they worked to cancel the booking. For breakfast you can order from the menu or elect the buffet. The dinner menu was also quite varied.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hotels our family stayed at in NZ. Rooms were large, well laid out for traveler, clean, everything worked really well apart from Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi best to buy extra Gigs. Then it's a lot more powerful. Food in the bar was great, tasty, healthy and quick. Good coffee, which is important for me. Kids friendly place. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you very much for your recent feed back of the Southern Cross. It was so great to read that you and your family thought ours to be one of the best hotels you have stayed at; Wow that is fantastic! The whole team will be delighted to hear how great you found the food and service so... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night this month, in room 606. The hotel incorporates the casino. Its location is ideal, as it is within walking distance of the city centre. From the outside the complex looks fairly old but inside, whilst somewhat dated, it is well maintained. The room I had was very clean, with all amenities, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it enables us to look at our business from an outside perspective and provide our guests with the best possible services and facilities we can. Thanks again and kind regards Kate More 

Wellington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for a month and it became our home away from home. Our first room was relatively small but we spent most of our visit in a much grander upper level room. This hotel is close to everything, including easy access to State Highway One, the beds were amazingly comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for your great review. It was so nice having you stay with us for such an extended period of time and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope you'll be able to visit us again sometime in the future. Kind regards Kate More 

Alexandra, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a scenic weekend which included a superior king room, parking and 2 for 1 breakfast. The room was very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was great that parking was included in this deal. The breakfast was excellent, and had a great variety. The weekend that we visited, the 2 for 1 breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you kindly for your recent review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away with us and enjoyed the services and facilities on offer. My apologies that you did not feel this may have been the best deal you could have gotten due to the 2 for 1 breakfast being on offer that weekend however... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice spacious rooms, good customer service, in the city center so most things are in walking distance. However, the internet was terrible, would not even connect. Even after calling the help number nothing improved. Nice for just casual stay, but if you need to be online often then I don't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent post and your comments regarding our spacious rooms and the good level of customer service you received while you were here. Our apologies regarding the issue you had with the Wi-Fi, as you can see from previous posts we do not usually have a problem with our connectivity so I'm sorry to hear... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is very central with a short walk to the central hub of the city. Our room was nice and ticked all the boxes - clean/tidy and well stocked. Internet works well anywhere in the Hotel. My wife loved the bathroom products(Earths Botanics) and actually purchased some hand creams to take home. Staff at the front desk are friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guests So glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and found the location of the Southern Cross central for your needs. We get a lot of comments about our Earths Botanics range and we're delighted to hear you loved it too and enjoyed a good breakfast and overall pleasant stay with us while you were here. We hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay