We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

4.5 of 5 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    166
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
59
147
26
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

I have been to the Southern Cross before and raved about it. This time the luxurious King sized bed with the FABULOUS overlay under the sheet made me crawl in and never come out! While the rain poured down outside - we stayed snug. Excellent value for money - we had a special with cooked breakfast and free parking included.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel was good but some staff at reception was bit rude... I had a small argument with duty manager Stacy Mcgregor.. But some staff in reception is very friendly like Marcelle, Supreet Singh..Thanks to Kanika Sudan for keeping our rooms neat n clean:)...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights as part of a large group and had a nice room in the older part of the building,looking out onto the main street.The beds were comfortable but the duvets were heavy duty,suitable for winter! We had tea making facilities,iron and board but no safe. The bathroom was spacious and had all the necessary toiletries.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverton NZ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed recently at this hotel. Our room was a suite. This hotel is a busy tourist bus hotel, be sure to book early. We were down in Dunedin for medical reasons returning to this hotel after the procedure was a blessing, our room was quiet and very comfortable. Aditya Sudan was a very kind compassionate staff member, he went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Located on the fringe of the CBD it is still very handy with only a few blocks walk to the octagon without having the noise. Room was pretty standard but had a very comfortable bed. Staff were very pleasant and obliging. Parking handy & reasonably priced. The NZ Cricket team were staying at the same time so had very interesting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy check in, we had our own car and valet parking was provided for $12 per day. We were there 4 nights for a conference, didn't spend much time in the hotel itself except to sleep, but it was certainly one of the most warm and comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Self-service laundry room very handy. One disappointment -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jungingen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I staid at the Southern cross for almost 2 weeks and it´s clean, everything is on its place, nothing to complain. Only the bed is very soft, so I had back pain after the second night. The free Wifi is the slow version,but still fast enough to do some work on the room. You can connect up to 4 devices.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We were delighted to have you stay with us for your extended visit and are glad you found the free WiFi accommodating. Kind regards Kate More 

Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
91 hotel reviews
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and it was a treat to stay in it - spacious rooms, comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom with an excellent shower. However, the hotel does cater to coach parties (we were on one of them) so breakfast was a bit of a zoo. Our group had the last sitting for dinner and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your recent review, we hope you enjoyed your tour. It certainly was a busy few days in the hotel at this time as we happened to have multiple tour groups staying in-house at once. However we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and it's amenities etc. Kind regards Kate More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no early check in at this hotel. Having arrived at 1030 we were forced to wait until 1430 to get a room. On check the hotel asked for credit card or if no credit card then NZ$100 per day to cover any "expenses". One of these expenses being the mini bar. We asked for the mini bar to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent review, we appreciate all your feedback and are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed a good stay with us. Thanks and regards Kate More 

Auckland, NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room gloomy, outdated. Wifi not easy to access. Bathroom particularly in need of upgrading. Shower inconveniently over the bath, felt unsafe and slippery. Toilet unpleasant smell and hard to flush. Room key did not work in lift and room door. Receptionist said they thought we'd checked out already. On the positives, plenty of hot water and helpful staff servicing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate your feedback and apologize that the service you received during your stay did not live up to our usual high standards. Kind regards Kate More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay