We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Dunedin accommodations

Manor House Backpackers

28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Unlimited Free Wifi
Manor House Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manor House Backpackers to your Saves list
62%
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jnathan19958 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
9
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Manor House is very nice hostel under new management and very nice owner and manager. The owner uses a lot of heart to make the hostel a better and nicer place to stay. We really enjoyed our stay. The free unlimited WiFi and free DVDs just topped it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great comments, all the best with the rest of your trip. More

Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

refurbished manor house. The house we were in had 2 rooms downstairs with a kitchen and BR. Upstairs was another small kitchen and 2 Toilets. One shower and a bathtub. Driveway is very steep; our mazda demio couldn't make it up the hill. The unlimited free wifi is a bonus. You get a password for 1MB of data but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I will look into the issues you mentioned. The room is very large so we may need to look at adding a heat pump to the room. We do have spare blankets and heaters for all guests, just need to ask, yes unlimited free wifi, hope you made the most of it. Safe travels. More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed staying at this backpackers. It's an old house but reasonably priced. I booked a single room but got a room with a double and single bed all to myself. It was clean and cosy. The separate bathroom was nearby and was clean and had plenty of hot water. There was two kitchen areas that had lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. All the best with the rest of your trip. More

Los Angeles
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostal was a big old style house with all the facilities you need! Nice rooms with heaters, huge lounge room and kitchen with all you need! The staff are so friendly and nice and very very helpful!! we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it! Thanks guys for a pleasant stay xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and so pleased you enjoyed yourself at the Manor! More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived after hours, which was no problem at all. They sent us late arrival instructions beforehand. Nice old villa with great communal areas and nice rooms. Comfy beds and free wifi. Staff was really nice and helpful. The facilities were well maintained and clean. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Dunedin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice comments. Pleased you enjoyed all the facilities. More

Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our football team based itself here for a week and loved it. Fantastic building and really nice staff. We would happily use them again. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend Manor House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the positive comments about the staff and hostel. We are working hard to upgrade the hostel and make it a special place to stay. More

Siofok, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked in for 1 night, ended up staying for a week in one of the bigger dorms. I just felt so much at home at Manor House. The house is a characterful, beautiful old building (actually 2 buildings, both of them are awesome, I stayed at Manor House), has a very nice atmosphere and it the room was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. Pleased you enjoyed yourself, hope to see you again. More

Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good hostel with spacious room, kitchen is big enough and living room, has tv and dvd available and comfy couch. Staff is very friendly and helpful, specially the frenchies ! thank you, will def come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. So pleased you enjoyed yourself at Manor House, hope to see you again some time. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the Manor House backpackers for about a week, while I was looking for a job in Dunedin. The hostel is a gorgeous old villa, which means it is really nice to look at but unfortunately also pretty cold during winter. Radiators are all around and are doing a good job heating the place up as much as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We need plenty of feed back on the hostel and where we can improve. I will find out what mattress you were originally on and get it replaced. Comfy beds, cosy pillows and warm rooms are key! More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were here in July. It was cold outside but nice and warm inside. The room was good and so was the kitchen. There's enough space to park, a free computer, free Wi-Fi and the staff is really nice. You can really see the management is working on improving everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. All the best with the rest of your trip. More

Do you own or manage Manor House Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Manor House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, T4B, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay