We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Dunedin accommodations

Manor House Backpackers

28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Unlimited Free Wifi
Save Saved
You added Manor House Backpackers to your Saves list
Manor House Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty lodging in Dunedin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
linda_eberth Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
8
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Manor House backpackers for about a week, while I was looking for a job in Dunedin. The hostel is a gorgeous old villa, which means it is really nice to look at but unfortunately also pretty cold during winter. Radiators are all around and are doing a good job heating the place up as much as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We need plenty of feed back on the hostel and where we can improve. I will find out what mattress you were originally on and get it replaced. Comfy beds, cosy pillows and warm rooms are key! More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were here in July. It was cold outside but nice and warm inside. The room was good and so was the kitchen. There's enough space to park, a free computer, free Wi-Fi and the staff is really nice. You can really see the management is working on improving everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. All the best with the rest of your trip. More

Poelkapelle, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's a lovely old-style house with a very good atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and the owner was really understanding and helpful! I felt so much at home because of the cosy and loose atmosphere. Everything is very clean, free wifi, fluffy pillows (very important!!), a big garden, and close from the bus station. I would have loved to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your stay. All the best with your trip. More

Klang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I lodged in a 8-pax mix dorm here for two nights. Helpful and lovely staffs.I liked the ambiance of Manor House, with the classic, a-bit old-fashion interior design that I usually could only watch from TV/movies. It is not far from The Octagon, central of Dunedin town. I will surely back here again! Interesting point: The narrow, steep slope in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review, I see you stayed in 2013, a few changes have been made in the last couple of months. Call in If you are ever back in Dunedin. More

Methven, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love the character, warmth and waking up to sound of bellbirds. Lots of fun people and always something cool to do in Dunedin - staff are helpful and so good at finding the answer to tricky questions. Really appreciated the location and price - rent the bikes they are fun to ride too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, appreciate your comments. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the 12 bed dorm which is a huge big room with comfy chairs, great value for money and surprisingly cosy/warm. The hostel manager is a lovely, welcoming guy and offered a dry, secure place for my bicycle and trailer. It was very clean with unlimited wifi and a nice atmosphere. The staff are lovely and helpful too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your excellent review, all the best with the rest of your trip. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice, clean and quiet. Room had a heater which kept it warm. Staff were very friendly. Easy walk to city centre. Drive way is quiet steep but lots of on road parking. Would stay again if return to Dunedin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. More

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visit Manor House in 2013. Helpfull and welcoming staff but very cold room and lounge !!!! Dormitory and cleaning as usual for that kind of accomodation. A little bit far from city center but a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Manager at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi your review is well before we took over management. There are heaters in all the dorms, new duvets, pillows and free unlimited wifi! The hostel has had a huge makeover and looking very clean and tidy, hope to see you back there again one day. More

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have never stayed in a hostel like it. Manor House by name, Manor house by nature. The old, rustic feel of place is unique and transports you back in time. It still has a lot of the old features such as service shafts and an old piano. The place has been recently taken over and the new management team... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we appreciate you taking the time to rate us. Hope to see you again one day. More

Plymouth
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

One of the friendliest hostels ever! Lovely people! It has recently been taken over by new owners, who are doing everything in their power to improve and tidy the place up, great effort by their team! Good wifi, room sizes and good beds. It is cold, but the new heaters definitely help. I stayed In Tonkinson House, which is set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review, worth all the hard work. All the best with your travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Manor House Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Manor House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This hostel is under NEW MANAGEMENT. BIG changes have been made. New pillows, duvets and heaters in all the rooms and dorms. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE WIFI - UNLIMITED FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel, our driveway is a bit like climbing Mt Everest so be careful when driving up. Once you're up hand break on and enjoy the sights! We are just around the corner from the Naked bus depot and only 5 minutes from the Purple Rain cafe that we highly recommend checking out, or a short 10 minute walk into town. Our staff are working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer