We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Check in was quick and efficient; the room was comfortable and overlooked the town and had all we needed for an overnight stop. They kindly allowed us to leave the car in their car park the following morning whilst we looked around the town. The restaurantt was quiet but the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank Ivan H
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is in good location despite some difficulties to park in a sloping carpark which is quite steep and difficult to push the luggages up/down. To our greatest dismay after a steep walk, the asian girl (her name suggests Myanmar) at the counter was the worst service staff we encountered throughout our journey. Worse than the grouchy old man on... More 

Helpful?
Thank PKReis
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on my wedding night Was pleasant enough and clean. Will always be a sentimental place for us Nice and quiet, good place for introverts. Their pens are amazing and were the main reason we chose to stay here.

Helpful?
Thank FranklinNZ2
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We hope to see you back at the hotel again soon. More 

Alexandra, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked on-line a deal where we were to have a studio queen suite and a food & beverage credit, however when checking in we discovered that we were put on the more budget floor of the hotel with 2 double beds. On phoning down to reception, they advised that the entire hotel was booked up and that they could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. Thank you also for bringing the issue regarding your room allocation to my attention. I apologise for the confusion over this and the time taken to remedy the situation. We have some new staff members and this has highlighted areas where further training is required and we are currently... More 

Level Contributor
223 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only a very standard hotel without anything particular. We found two small beds instead of a double bed despite they knew we were honeymooners. The car parking has very few places, we parked the car in the street. It was impossibile to connect to the free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Thank you Paolo for your feedback. All our standard rooms including the room you were staying in have two double beds, which is what was booked by your travel agent. Due to our location in the heart of the CBD, car parking can sometimes be tight when we are a full hotel unfortunately. I apologise that you had trouble with... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Central location and room was clean if a bit dated but the shower had plenty of power. Easy access to the bars, shops, cafes and cinema. There is some parking but not a great deal. Staff were cheerful and friendly

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Andrew W, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel in Dunedin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also the location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dunedin. Regards Andrew GM More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I have stayed here many times before as the price is usually ok and the location is handy to the central city bars and restaurants. However, despite some renovations and friendly staff I think it is time to look elsewhere. Two nights of a saggy bed and noisy neighboring sub station was too much!

Helpful?
Thank Suzie O
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Very old and outdated hotel, stayed in apartment, which was liveable, room. It the cleanest, bathroom old, towels hard, water pressure crap. Best part of hotel was it is in a good location close to Octagon and nightlife. Staff not helpful, had issues with maintenance which was not fixed. Will not be back

Helpful?
Thank ashbren85

Travelers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Berri, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on xmas day. Room was OK on arrival but then went down to dining room for dinner. Being xmas day, over expected a reasonable meal. Except for the roast lamb anpham, the rest of the servings appeared to be left over from lunch. They looked tired and were dried out. Lost my appetite straight away. Back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al P
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Got an upgrade and don't know why but who cares. Beautiful rooms at a great price. Walking distance to so much to be done. Great restaurant downstairs that had good priced breakfast. Service was awesome, would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ikg80
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#28 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#48 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay