We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel on York

#20 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
47 York Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel on York
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    34
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
53
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in a studio unit on the ground floor overlooking the main street. Nice furnishings, large bathroom, well equipped kitchenette. Quite near to the city centre... about 10 mins walk. Only stayed there for a night to break our drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came down for business so didn't spend a lot of time in the room but it was in a very handy location to the city and it was reasonably quiet and very very clean. The owners are knowledgeable and friendly and I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Our cleaners are very diligent and we are pleased you appreciate that. Great that you were able to enjoy our hospitality and location. We look forward to seeing you again More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Second stay in this place. Booked by a colleague, so not exactly my choice. Got the executive suite with cooking facilities. Very spacious, and good for family stays. Not exactly recommended for business stays. Close to a lot of restaurants - sometimes there are loud patrons deep into the night - so be forewarned. Also, iif you have heavy luggage(s),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Being central city we cannot avoid some external noise, although all our rooms are fitted with Hush Glass to eliminate noise. We trust any noise did not disturb you. We are always happy to assist any guest with any bags they need taken up stairs. We trust you enjoyed your stay overall. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Motel is central but the furnishings and decor are faded. It is not value for money. It was clean but when we checked in found the receptionist not very pleasant or welcoming. We would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your experience and would be happy to host you again, and work with you around any issues you may feel. Thanks again. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Well appointed rooms, very clean and warm even with minus temperatures overnight! We had a studio apartment and spa suite. Easy 3 minute walk to the octagon and main shops, friendly hosts with helpful local knowledge / directions etc...Would stay here again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our great location, and enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Our unit was more like an apartment, with lots of room, a small kitchen, and a huge spa bath. Everything was clean, modern, and working. The manager was very helpful when I needed he with a package, and was very helpful with all my questions about local services. It was very helpful that thee is a guest laundry, as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and only to happy to have been able to help sort your parcel sending. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I have stayed here on two seperate occasions, and have been very impressed both times. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Beds very comfortable. Very close to the central city and no problems with noise. Reception staff also friendly and accommodating. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Ross on Wye UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Excellent standard of accommodation. Room was large and the kitchen area was spacious and very clean. Easy parking adjacent to the motel. The only problem was that there were no signs indicating where our room was. The location of the motel was excellent with a short walk to the centre of town and facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. As a rule we generally take guests to their rooms, so we must have dropped the ball there. Please accept our apologies. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our property and our great location. Thanks again. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I stay at Motel on York most times I visit Dunedin. Here's why: 1. Located in the middle of town means you can walk to most inner city of university appointments. 2. Convenient parking. Safe, secure and no additional fees. 3. The rooms are clean and toastie warm. The decor is nice and there are a variety of spacious room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments. We aim to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable and are pleased we achieved that. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks More 

Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We had a very clean and spacious one bedroom ground floor unit. Large, tiled bathroom and small private courtyard. Easy walk to the Octagon and other central city attractions. Recommended. Would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and it was good the weather stayed fine enough to be able to enjoy the outdoor courtyard. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#2 of 56 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#15 of 56 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#22 of 56 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#9 of 56 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay