We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Dunedin accommodations

On Top Backpackers

Corner Filleul Street & Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added On Top Backpackers to your Saves list
On Top Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
40%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
TheweecountyFiddle Galway, Ireland
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
12
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the hostel for a week and liked it very much. The buidling is quite modern and quite original (everything is on the top floor, above a huge bar/pool tables area). The dorm I stayed in was clean and bright. Same with the bathrooms even though you might have to wait for a shower at busy times. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great comments! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the feedback. Thanks Again More

Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've stayed in several backpacker hostels and know not to expect much but this one fell way below the low expectations I had. The location was good, and the check-in guy in the bar was cool, but these are my only positive comments. The beds, linens, and pillows were disgusting. There wasn't a table, lamp, dresser or any furniture/amenities in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for making the effort to comment on this Hostel I will pass on to the 'Cool dude' downstairs your appreciative comment although there are two young blokes down there they can decide which of them you are referring. The beds have Hotel Style quality mattresses and in fact that is what the name is on the mattress.... More

North Shore City, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had an ensuite room which was basic as we expected for the price but had everything we needed including tv, linen and towels. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfy with a nice soft duvet. There was free breakfast in the kitchen with bread for toast, spreads, cornflakes, milk, etc all provided. You just had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we really appreciate them and we look forward to seeing you again More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed for one night in an ensuite room. I liked the fact that it was very central, and it was clean and comfortable enough, but there are certainly no frills. The deluxe ensuite rooms are geared towards the backpacker end of the market, but then it is essentially a backpacker hostel. I was surprised that there seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments More

Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Checked in at the bar, a big thank you to the lovely staff, a young guy who was the nicest part of our experience staying here! He was very nice, helpful and we were happy when we left the reception. That's where the fun times ended. Too expensive ($28 per person during low season!!), small real dodgy rooms with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had a booking made through hostelworld.com and my reason for choosing this hostel was the 24h reception since I knew I would be arriving later. When I arrived to the hostel I found out that my room was double booked couple hours earlier. Quite disappointing news after a long travel and to top this off it was my bday.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

We were sorry we double booked your private room and offered you a 6 bed dorm to yourselves as well as the difference in price back We were sorry this was not suitable to you . When you advised us it was your Birthday we offered you a $40 bottle of wine as well but you chose to just walk... More

Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent a few nights at this backpackers, fantastic rooms, very clean and comfortable, fantastic staff with great tips on parking etc. My daughter and I were made to feel so welcome during our stay Cheers Owen Stephens

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

We our very thankful for all your positive comments, thank you More

Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The place is in the middle of the town, you have nice rooms, with windows on top. The kitchen is very stylish and the couches very comfortable. Downstairs you have good music, free wifi from the library or the hostel, great coffee or beer, and billard. In fact, it was hard to move on!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate it. The pictures are fantastic! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay. Located in the heart of town and with local beers on tap downstairs. Recommend a double room with ensuite. Staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and safe. Bonus is the free breakfast!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As the title says the On Top Backpackers was a great place to stay, the atmosphere was very good. It's as close as you can get to the centre of town and has nice food places walking distance away. the room and bathroom/shower area were very clean. the kitchen had everything you'd need if you wanted to cook your own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Been to On Top Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On Top Backpackers

Address: Corner Filleul Street & Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your On Top Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On Top Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.