We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northcote Motor Lodge

309 Main North Road, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Northcote Motor Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015
DaniTheGirl Perth, Australia
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This is a very conveniently located hotel, and although on the older side has everything you need for a great stay in Christchurch. Our unit was spacious, the facilities great (with kitchen provided) and the owners are lovely and very accommodating. Unfortunately I can't give this review 5 stars as the bed was the worst I've slept in in ages,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Northcote. Check in was standard parking is high. We only had a Camry and if the hotel was full would have found it difficult to park. Room was clean and had a small kitchenette with enough to cook with. Room was clean and the beds good. The outlook was onto suburbia, petrol station one side homes to the other. Supermarkets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I stayed here while up in christchurch for a concert. I picked Northcote as it was pet friendly and I wanted to take my dog. I phoned to make my booking as I wanted to just ensure "Stella" would be okay coming to stay with them. Morag was great and told me where would be a good place to park.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Northcote Motor Lodge is a great example of a classic New Zealand motel - for all the right reasons. We were a group of two couples and booked a one night stay here prior to taking an long haul flight from Christchurch International Airport. The lady (manager/owner I think?) that checked us in was friendly and helpful and provided us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

attracted by the price but had misgivings about quite due to location of Caltex next door an it being right on the main drag. therefore very surprised to experience a couple of very quiet and peaceful nights. Bed was fine for me though a tad hard for the other half. room was very clean and well presented and cleaning staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were visiting Christchurch for a funeral and were there just one night. The unit was clean and tidy, and we were welcomed by a woman standing-in for the owners. The big disappointment was the bed - definitely past its use by date, and it would have benefited from a mattress topper if management not able to replace the mattress.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your stay with us. We try to accommodate everyone but tastes are different and most responses were favourable of the beds so didnt realise they could be hard. However, we have purchased some mattress toppers now and have them on some beds. I hope the rest of your... More 

Christchurch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My mother and I stayed here in april last year, and were not only impressed with the price of the studio room, but the quality and cleanliness of the room we had. The room smelt fresh, the beds were extremely comfy and the sky tv had a fantastic movie on that night which was good for us. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I cheeked out this motel before I booked and it showed some photos that made it look clean and roomy. I was not disappointed. The room was warm (someone had turned the heater on for me) it was very roomy and the facilities were clean. If I wanted, I could have cooked a meal on the small kitchen. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We appreciate all comments and try to improve on any problems. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked 2 nights as no vacancy for more but as soon as we arrived the owner promised to sort out for us another two mights and so he did. Don't expect view in such a city location but all the rest is just perfect. Comfi beds, flat screen TV with Sky , great modern shower , clean towels daily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice property which was comfortable with large well appointed rooms, fresh linen, heater etc. The kitchenette was ample with enough utensils, microwave, toaster, etc. that we found to be quite useful. It was a satisfying stay with all the required amenities. The location is a bit towards the outside of the city, but Christchurch is a large place. Good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay