We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Christchurch hotels

Northcote Motor Lodge

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   309 Main North Road, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Northcote Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Northcote Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
80%
Ranked #85 of 138 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014
nzcaygills Nelson
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were visiting Christchurch for a funeral and were there just one night. The unit was clean and tidy, and we were welcomed by a woman standing-in for the owners. The big disappointment was the bed - definitely past its use by date, and it would have benefited from a mattress topper if management not able to replace the mattress.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your stay with us. We try to accommodate everyone but tastes are different and most responses were favourable of the beds so didnt realise they could be hard. However, we have purchased some mattress toppers now and have them on some beds. I hope the rest of your... More

Christchurch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My mother and I stayed here in april last year, and were not only impressed with the price of the studio room, but the quality and cleanliness of the room we had. The room smelt fresh, the beds were extremely comfy and the sky tv had a fantastic movie on that night which was good for us. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I cheeked out this motel before I booked and it showed some photos that made it look clean and roomy. I was not disappointed. The room was warm (someone had turned the heater on for me) it was very roomy and the facilities were clean. If I wanted, I could have cooked a meal on the small kitchen. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We appreciate all comments and try to improve on any problems. Look forward to seeing you again. More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked 2 nights as no vacancy for more but as soon as we arrived the owner promised to sort out for us another two mights and so he did. Don't expect view in such a city location but all the rest is just perfect. Comfi beds, flat screen TV with Sky , great modern shower , clean towels daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice property which was comfortable with large well appointed rooms, fresh linen, heater etc. The kitchenette was ample with enough utensils, microwave, toaster, etc. that we found to be quite useful. It was a satisfying stay with all the required amenities. The location is a bit towards the outside of the city, but Christchurch is a large place. Good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed a night at this motel and as soon as we arrived the hosts were rude and remained that way until departure. The room was dark, not very clean and was abit over priced for what we recieved. Overall a disappointing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the reveiw. We obviously offended you by charging you for the extra person who was not included in your reservation or declared on arrival. As explained at the time, we do need to be aware of all guests staying at the property in case of any emergency procedures we may need to put in place. The charge... More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a night here and found it comfortable and clean. Main bedroom was open plan which worked well but was a bit cold. Bed very comfortable and shower generously pressurized and nice and hot. Motel owner pleasant and friendly. Teas and coffees plain but acceptable - cups a bit skimpy - could do with nice mugs

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at Northcote Motor Lodge late after a long drive up the South Island, it was cold and pouring rain, but the friendly owner quickly got us into our room without hassel. The room had a very cosy feel, but it was spacious enough to fit a Super King sized bed. It also had a separate kitchen and bathroom/toilet,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lower Hutt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Northcote Motor Lodge for a week and were surprised to find that we did not get the room service that we are normally accustomed to - just a fresh towel and the rubbish bin emptied each day. Parking was definitely tight and if you arrived back late in the evening that was tough. The bed was comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I just wanted a bed for the night in the Northern side of Christchurch and this motel I would definately recommend. Good value for money, clean and tidy. Would stay there again if I needed to stay on this side of town. Close to some cafes and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to Northlands Mall and plenty more bars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Northcote Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Northcote Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Motor Lodge

Address: 309 Main North Road, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northcote Motor Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Northcote Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christchurch with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy our comfortable, warm and very quiet units. We have 16 rooms with something to suit all budgets. There is a mix of Standard or Deluxe 1 bedroom units and Studios. We also have a large spacious 2 bedroom unit which can cater for a max of 7-8 guests. Some Deluxe Units are upstairs and one of the Studios has a spa bath. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northcote Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer