We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Christchurch

3.5 of 5 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Christchurch
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    265
    134
    27
    10
See reviews for
82
228
63
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (550)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (200)
All months
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a centrally located, new hotel with an industrial/minimalist style. Very utilitarian. However, considering the utter devastation in Christchurch four years ago from the earthquake, this is an excellent addition to the city. I believe that there are many long term residents who are working to rebuild the city. The rooms are small, but very clean and functional. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is my third visit to the IBIS Christhchurch. It is clean, tidy and modern decor. The bathroom and linen have always been clean. I have always missed a proper overnight room service when working late. The restaurant food is fair but not great. Breakfast has all the standards for a buffet again good but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Unless you are a high end traveler Ibis is a good place to stay. We would have preferred a King bed but 2 Doubles were fine for one night. the standard room was on the smallish side but clean & tidy. Would have had a great view of central Christchurch except for the big building being constructed next door. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we chose this as it was clear that it was one of only a few hotels still operating in what is left of the centre of Christchurch. We had a room with two double beds, which was modern and clean with a fridge and kettle. It was a busy and of a good standard that is expected from this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamshedpur, India
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Ibis is typical of business hotels. Good location, small but well maintained rooms and efficient service. The area still has signs of rebuilding after the devastating earthquake of some years ago. The hotel is around the corner from Cathedral Square housing several eateries and shops. A large supermarket is a walk away as is the tourist Information centre (I.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in January 2015. The hotel is comfortable and centrally located. The staff were friendly and efficient. Easy access to restaurants and the main sights of central Christchurch. Very good for short stays in Christchurch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Seenabit1961, Thank you for your extremely positive review and for complimenting our staff. We trust that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ibis Christchurch is a clean, comfortable motel in a central part of Christchurch. Bear in mind that Christchurch is still in the process of rebuilding after earthquakes. We felt a bit ripped off we had to pay for parking - $18 to park in the vacant lot next door to the motel. Price of continental breakfast was exorbitant however we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for posting your positive review. You mentioned about having to pay for parking. Can I point out that we lease that land from the land owner so we need to charge to recoup our costs. May I also point out that our breakfast charges compare favourably with other hotels in the city. We trust that... More 

Menai, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I flew into Christchurch for a three week NZ holiday and this was our first night's stay. I had no idea of the continuing state of devastation of the inner city region. The hotel I surrounded by open demolition sites and buildings waiting their turn. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was OK. This was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gary L, Thank you for posting your review and we trust that you enjoy your New Zealand holiday. The rebuild of Christchurch is happening at a pace that is quite amazing considering how much damage was caused by the major earthquake but not fast enough to satisfy everyone. Meanwhile we will continue to offer the best service that we... More 

Napier
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ibis Christchurch Great wee hotel on the back of the square, right on the verge of the rebuilding cbd and a block over from the ReStart container shopping mall. If you're wondering what that is, after the big 2011 February quake most of the cbd was in lock down, horribly damaged, a place of death and destruction. I was here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Keri M, Thank you for your very extensive review of the Ibis Christchurch. You raised some really good points and the main one was the television sets in the rooms. I am pleased to advise that they are being replaced this year and this is definitely a positive for us. I really appreciate you mentioning our friendly and efficient... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the IBIS as it was really one of the only hotels left in Christchurch, looked to me the build that after the 2011 Earthquake. If you have your own car, its a mess right now with streets blocked every day somewhere else. The hotel offers for a reasonable price ( 25$/night) underground parking, but its not much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Rudi844, Thank you for posting your review and for highlighting our very central location and service. Our restaurant prices are very similar to those in other city hotel restaurants and as the leading 3 Star + hotel in the city, Ibis is definitely priced at a lower level than the 4 star + hotel restaurants. Thank you for coming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay