We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Christchurch

GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Christchurch
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    127
    285
    148
    32
    11
See reviews for
88
246
74
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (603)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (200)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While the room was compact, it was very comfortable, clean and clean. The staff was very friendly and the location was good. The only thing I did not like was that I had to pay for parking or park on the street which I was not comfortable doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently for work. The hotel has everything you need but without the frills. The reception staff were friendly and also helpful in suggesting restaurants where we could have dinner. The room was clean and cosy but quite functional. Wifi was free as I am an Accor member. The bathroom was small and it was difficult to turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear nesbitevans, Thank you for your awesome review and it was great to see that you really enjoyed your stay. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our scrambled eggs as I have always maintained that ours are as good as any in the city. We hope to see you again. Best regards More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never stayed in an ibis hotel before but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Beds were comfy, plenty of extra pillows, blankets if needed. Everything you need in a compact space but not too small as to make it uncomfortable. Rooms were warm for the middle of winter....had to turn it off and was still cosy. Bathrooms clean and shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Kasey20, Thanks for posting your positive review. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to your liking. We will mention to Housekeeping about the need to change the towels and cups. Should this ever happen to you again in any hotel you stay in please pick up the phone and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I recently stated 2 nights at the ibis in Christchurch it is very central in the town however when we got to our room there were two beds, I would just rather one bigger one to be honest. The rooms are clean however it was cold until we figured out how to use the heating. Only very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Chloe J, Thank you for your review and for pointing out some areas where we can improve. We do offer free WiFi in the rooms to our "Le Club" Accor loyalty customers. It is free to join and only takes a minute to sign up on check in. We do have rooms with 1 King size bed in them... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Ibis hotels before and found them quite basic and good value . This one however is a big step up from previous experiences. Spotlessly clean , magnificent meals in the restaurant, great service from all the staff I encountered -- very good, I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Seamunkee, Thanks for posting your great review. It was pleasing to see your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this Hotel because it seemed to be fairly central and we had already had experience of Ibis in Auckland. Excellent hotel. Our room was comfortable, warm and had a view of what is left of the City. The service was excellent and because it was my birthday, we were given two free drinks - nice touch! Meal was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Joan, Thank you for your review and it was great to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that the carrots with your dinner were not easy to eat and I will discuss that with the chef. I know that you found the damage in the city disturbing but by coming to stay you... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in many Ibis Hotels over the years and they are perfectly OK average sorts of place with all the basic provisions one expects from a big chain. The Ibis in Christchurch stood out for me though because of the extremely high standard of service. I have to say I stayed after the main season but I was given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Wary1, Thank you for posting your really great review and for highlighting our high standard of service. We do work hard on this so it is really nice to see that it is appreciated by our guests. I trust that you enjoyed your New Zealand holiday and took some good memories home with you. You will always be welcome... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my favourite hotel on a 2 week holiday around New Zealand. The girls at the front desk on arrival were so friendly and helpful and continued to be throughout my stay. The kitchen staff produced some amazing food. The rooms were very neat & clean & modern. Fantastic central location. I stayed here twice on my trip and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Tess, Thank you for posting such a wonderful review and especially for complimenting our staff. It is so good to get this kind of feedback and it helps them realise that their hard work is appreciated by our guests. We are sure that you would have taken some wonderful memories of your New Zealand visit home with you to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival at the Ibis Hotel Christchurch last week after a long day of travel and work I was told there was no WiFi available. With 2 further days of conference meetings ahead I knew I could not stay there. The manager stepped in and relocated me to a nearby hotel and actually drove me there. Amazing understanding and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Lyn, Thank you for posting your review and I was really proud that we responded so well to the issue that you had. The internet server for the hotel failed about 10 minutes before you arrived and had to actually be replaced (luckily that same day so no lasting issues). The fact that one of our key staff took... More 

Twizel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here at the end of May. I booked directly with the hotel and explained that this was a special weekend it was my friends birthday. Reservation was for accommodation and breakfast. On checkin we had to wait a while to be served as the receptionist was on his own. To my sirprise it was a room only tariff there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Dawn G, Thank you for your review and I was pleased to see that even though we initially got the details of your booking wrong, that we did resolve it as soon as we could. I am sorry that you were not offered a free sign up to our loyalty programme Le Club which then includes free Wifi and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay