We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salerno Motel Apartments

148 Bealey Ave, Christchurch, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Salerno Motel Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights, room was clean and serviced daily, staff was extremely helpful and gave us lots advises. It located in city centre and handy to everywhere. Will stay again next year when we visited chch.

Helpful?
Thank King D
Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

modern building, well maintained, good facilities. nice terrace and outdoor chairs. good size room and spa bath. sliding doors to terrace. ta ble and 2 chairs with sockets and phone. 3 tub chairs and good tv

Helpful?
Thank TAtraveller141
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reasonably priced and clean, the staff are accommodating and pleasant. In a convenient location, right in the city. We will stay here next time we're in Christchurch. Bealey Ave is right on the fringe of the CBD. It's a 10 minute walk from the picturesque Hagley Park.

Helpful?
Thank Irene T
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For the low cost I was extremely impressed with the room which had a nice new kitchen, very comfortable bed, nice big spa bath which we used every night. The staff are lovely and went the extra mile for us a number of times throughout our stay: our room was cleaned even when we left our room considerably after 10.00am;... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks very much, we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Balmain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a frequent visitor to Christchurch for some 25 years now for family reasons (aka the "contractual obligation" tour) I have come to realise that short term accommodation is a bit of a hit or miss affair in this city. We finally found the perfect hotel then the 2010/2011 earthquakes intervened and rendered the building uninhabitable: sadly we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesfT823XQ
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

I believe we have suitcase rack in the room for your suitcase, if you need a big room with more space, the family unit (2 bedroom apartment) is the way you should go because you had 3 adults. All our rooms are double glazed, some times we had street noise because of the boy racers, however that is public issues... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Just finished our 3 nites stay here as part of our south island road trip around it . Most disappointed with this motel so far after staying in more then 9 already . Rooms are dirty and stuffy , carpets are so bad that don't even feel like walking on them , cobwebs around , daily cleaning service is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alokdhir
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Room service is on request, when you checked in we already informed you there is room service sign on the front door, if you need a room service and you need to put it up, otherwise our staff will not disturb you. We also had washed our carpets before you checked in. We have no idea when you say the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Rooms were clean and furniture was fine but no 5 star as boasts on Expedia Value for money yes 150 NZ so ok but glad I'm not staying for a long period of time Fine for one night and what most motels offer. Staff on check in pleasant Location is ok and have nothing much more to say

Helpful?
Thank Damorob
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, as we are Qualmark 5 star "Motel" not a "hotel", there are different standard compare to the 5 star hotels! Also as a 5 star motel but we are offering what most motels offer, price is very reasonable. Thanks More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

As a party of 3 adults we shared a 2 room apartment for 4 nights during mid- December. The decor is very shabby a needs updating. The chairs looked dirty and the cleanliness was average. This is supposedly a 5 star rated property (? self rated) and is very expensive for the state it is in. However we did find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glennis W
bpac, General Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, as we are Qualmark 5 star "Motel" not a "hotel", there are different standard compare to the 5 star hotels! Also as a 5 star motel but we are offering what most motels offer, price is very reasonable. WE ARE NOT SELF-RATED!This is certified by QUALMARK NZ with their standard. Maintenance are our daily jobs and... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Have stayed here many times before but this property has gone down hill. Although was promised a first floor room arrived to be put in bottom floor which was not only noisy but also not private at all. First night was OK but second night there was a large group of young people sitting right outside room drinking and partying.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwi1964
bpac, Manager at Salerno Motel Apartments, responded to this review

We sorry for what happened, however as you have stayed here many times before but you did not leave any review apart from this negative one? Actually there were 3 guys stayed on that night who set the fire alarm off, they were just having some drinks rather than partying and they finished before 9:30 pm, we sorry that they... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Loved our room number 12! Spa bath was a must to book! Relaxing and just the perfect accommodation for a relax! Have all the essentials from the fridge to a microwave and a toaster and all the kitchen utensils! Housekeeping friendly but she forgot to top our coffees and towels its wasn't an issue because reception was a phone call... More 

Helpful?
Thank 842nessat
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#9 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#7 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#16 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#46 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay