We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 Christchurch accommodations

Point Break Backpackers

6 union street, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Point Break Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Point Break Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Remi F Tahiti, French Polynesia
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
14
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I staying two days at Point Break Backpackers. perfect located just 2 min walk from pedestrian street of new brighton with lot of shops, bars and restaurants. You are from 4 minutes to the beach and the pier. Staff is very nice, rooms are clean and there is a little cafe bar very pleasant. I recommend this adress for everybody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our night here. It is really close to the beach and by bus 20 mins to the central station and the bus is only 3.50. They have a cafe in the hostel which we thought was for a backpackers rather expensive especially the food. But for new Zealand probably standard prices. We had a twin room so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel! We do try to keep our cafe prices as affordable as possible, and we give all guests 10% off all the food and cooked menu too! We are constantly looking to improve our hostel and all comments help us to do this! Hopefully we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a good time here , Su was helpful. The rooms could use a revamp but you can't expect too much from a backpackers. The location is good close yo the beach and on a good day it's a great place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked location! We are slowly managing to give all our rooms a revamp! It seems to be a long process! Safe Travels, Point Break Crew More 

Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Point Break Backpackers and it really isn't that bad. The kitchen is a litte out-dated but you can find everything you need in there, there's a microwave, an oven and even two table ovens which were really useful. They first give you 20mb of free wifi, if you need more you can buy some from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We think it is lovely out here by the beach also! Hope to see you again if your ever back in Christchurch! Safe travels, Point Break Crew More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This hostel was the worst stay we have had in New Zealand, and we have stayed in many. The place is filthy, I wouldn't cook in the kitchen and certainly wouldn't walk around barefoot. The whole place stank of sick and our dorm smelt of wet dog. The beds were uncomfortable, people staying there were rude and the hostel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for response! We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us! We have recently had our carpets cleaned, and this is a regular occurance. In regards to the kitchen, we do our best to keep this clean and tidy, it is however hard if other guests are not cleaning up after themselves. We are... More 

Noosa, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I stayed at Point Break Backpackers a year ago even when it had only "average" comments on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Hostel was great, really friendly. One night (They had a movie night), nobody wanted to watch a movie with me, but the manager offered me to lent a movie for myself from the local movie-store for free. That... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again if you are ever back in Christchurch! We wish you safe travels! Cheers, Point Break Crew More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed here for just one night, before flying back to Singapore. We were a bit disappointed as it is really off the beaten track--about 25 minutes from the town, but just 15 min from the airport. A bit pricey for where it's located. NZD60 for 2 adults. It's a shame as the town around is a bit run-down. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I really enjoyed our group's stay at Point Break Backpackers. The facilities were clean and comfortable, and the nearby areas are fun for exploring on foot. It is an easy bus ride away from Christchurch and a nice respite from the city lifestyle. The woman in charge, Susan, was lovely, informative, and patient, and I felt she went above and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Price is good for what you get. On the info site it says free wifi but when you get there it's only 20mb or 2 hours. You have to pay for more. Showers have good pressure. Front desk is helpful. It's nice that prices are the same for a 6bed dorm or a 2 bed dorm. I'd really like to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Now i did 2 previously & 6 subsequently...& i would never wish to have that experience again! The staff were friendly...but ghosh..the dorms were terrible, thankfully we were able to stay in a double room!! The dorms smelt of sweat & cheesy feet....your feet actually stick to the carpet upstairs..the kitchen..well...your a brave person to cook a meal there &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Point Break Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Break Backpackers

Address: 6 union street, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Point Break Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay