We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Christchurch accommodations

Point Break Backpackers

6 union street, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Point Break Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Point Break Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kilmo1981 Kilkenny, Ireland
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
1
16
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second night in the Christchurch, we arrived at Point Break to a warm and friendly welcome from the girl behind the reception. The cafe downstairs looked cool and clean, and the food sounded inviting (though we didn't get round to trying any). The location is close to the beach, though New Brighton seemed a bit dead at the time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well run hostel, Great location three mins walk to beach.Very friendly staff. Always pleasant and helpful.Had a twin room and slept well. Well equipped kitchen got very busy at times we picked out time so that it wasn't too busy. Free use of computer and internet which was good 'cause we didn't have our own devise. Free use of phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm staying in a two person shared room because the rest of Christchurch is booked out for some cricket thing. I put my estimated time of arrival as 9pm. I got there not long after 9:30, the guy gave me a smiling hard time about being late. The bus took longer to get there than I thought. I was exhausted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that the receptionist was talkative upon your arrival. We do like to offer the option of buying the wifi from reception before we close as online it is much more expensive and he would have thought it would be helpful for you. Sorry you had to sleep... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ive stayed in a wide variety of backpackers around the world and NEVER go with luxury but this place was very unimpressive. Put it this way, i had booked 2 nights and after being there only 4hours i decided to book somewhere else. I didnt even bother to get my money back. Ive never walked into a hostel room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your short time here and you decided not to stay with us. We do clean our rooms every day and put fresh sheets on all beds in the dorms when guests check out so there are always fresh sheets for the guests that are checking in. Sometimes if we have a guest... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I arrived I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The helpful staff and the friendly people made my stay for a night pleasurable. Handy to the bus stops, the beach and New Brighton central as well as 20 mins from Christchurch Central. Maybe it was the sea air that made everything peaceful. I defiantly will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the future. Sfae Travels More 

Biel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not really clean, especially the kitchen who is dirty. Wifi quite expensive, please stop it.... in 21 century a wifi have to be free. Otherwise the breackfast is OK The rooms are a bit small but OK The biggest problem is that it far from the city...

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you did not find the kitchen in a clean state. We do our best to keep it tidy however it is hard to achieve this all the time unless the guests are participating by cleaning and putting away the dishes they use. It is cleaned daily along with general tidy up during the by staff when... More 

Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I staying two days at Point Break Backpackers. perfect located just 2 min walk from pedestrian street of new brighton with lot of shops, bars and restaurants. You are from 4 minutes to the beach and the pier. Staff is very nice, rooms are clean and there is a little cafe bar very pleasant. I recommend this adress for everybody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again if you are ever in Christchurch! Safe Travels! More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We really enjoyed our night here. It is really close to the beach and by bus 20 mins to the central station and the bus is only 3.50. They have a cafe in the hostel which we thought was for a backpackers rather expensive especially the food. But for new Zealand probably standard prices. We had a twin room so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel! We do try to keep our cafe prices as affordable as possible, and we give all guests 10% off all the food and cooked menu too! We are constantly looking to improve our hostel and all comments help us to do this! Hopefully we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

I had a good time here , Su was helpful. The rooms could use a revamp but you can't expect too much from a backpackers. The location is good close yo the beach and on a good day it's a great place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked location! We are slowly managing to give all our rooms a revamp! It seems to be a long process! Safe Travels, Point Break Crew More 

Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Point Break Backpackers and it really isn't that bad. The kitchen is a litte out-dated but you can find everything you need in there, there's a microwave, an oven and even two table ovens which were really useful. They first give you 20mb of free wifi, if you need more you can buy some from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your response! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We think it is lovely out here by the beach also! Hope to see you again if your ever back in Christchurch! Safe travels, Point Break Crew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Point Break Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Break Backpackers

Address: 6 union street, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Point Break Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay