We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Point Break Backpackers

6 union street, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Point Break Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015
haggis90
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
1
17
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Sorbiers, Rhone-Alpes, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've only spent one night in one the shabbiest backpackers on planet earth; dirty kitchen, absolutely non welcoming staff. Toilets and showers are very dodgy too. This is the worst place we've been to in years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

French guy at reception is one of the rudest & unhelpful person I have ever come across in my life, should really find a new line of work as he clearly is not made out for this line of work and certainly not people person! Paper thin walls meant you could hear everything that was going on during the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Nice wee hostel out of the 'city' next to a small beach. I like the sofa area downstairs its chill and they have a pool table wooo. Staff were all friendly and they have free breakfast tea and toast :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Our second night in the Christchurch, we arrived at Point Break to a warm and friendly welcome from the girl behind the reception. The cafe downstairs looked cool and clean, and the food sounded inviting (though we didn't get round to trying any). The location is close to the beach, though New Brighton seemed a bit dead at the time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Well run hostel, Great location three mins walk to beach.Very friendly staff. Always pleasant and helpful.Had a twin room and slept well. Well equipped kitchen got very busy at times we picked out time so that it wasn't too busy. Free use of computer and internet which was good 'cause we didn't have our own devise. Free use of phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I'm staying in a two person shared room because the rest of Christchurch is booked out for some cricket thing. I put my estimated time of arrival as 9pm. I got there not long after 9:30, the guy gave me a smiling hard time about being late. The bus took longer to get there than I thought. I was exhausted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that the receptionist was talkative upon your arrival. We do like to offer the option of buying the wifi from reception before we close as online it is much more expensive and he would have thought it would be helpful for you. Sorry you had to sleep... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Ive stayed in a wide variety of backpackers around the world and NEVER go with luxury but this place was very unimpressive. Put it this way, i had booked 2 nights and after being there only 4hours i decided to book somewhere else. I didnt even bother to get my money back. Ive never walked into a hostel room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your short time here and you decided not to stay with us. We do clean our rooms every day and put fresh sheets on all beds in the dorms when guests check out so there are always fresh sheets for the guests that are checking in. Sometimes if we have a guest... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

When I arrived I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The helpful staff and the friendly people made my stay for a night pleasurable. Handy to the bus stops, the beach and New Brighton central as well as 20 mins from Christchurch Central. Maybe it was the sea air that made everything peaceful. I defiantly will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the future. Sfae Travels More 

Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Not really clean, especially the kitchen who is dirty. Wifi quite expensive, please stop it.... in 21 century a wifi have to be free. Otherwise the breackfast is OK The rooms are a bit small but OK The biggest problem is that it far from the city...

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you did not find the kitchen in a clean state. We do our best to keep it tidy however it is hard to achieve this all the time unless the guests are participating by cleaning and putting away the dishes they use. It is cleaned daily along with general tidy up during the by staff when... More 

Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I staying two days at Point Break Backpackers. perfect located just 2 min walk from pedestrian street of new brighton with lot of shops, bars and restaurants. You are from 4 minutes to the beach and the pier. Staff is very nice, rooms are clean and there is a little cafe bar very pleasant. I recommend this adress for everybody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pointbreakbp, Manager at Point Break Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again if you are ever in Christchurch! Safe Travels! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question