We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton

280 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #79 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
happycamper231 Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
14
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this motel during our South Island trip. Great location to explore this great city.thanks Bob for all your recommendations of where to go and what to see and thanks for driving us to the restaurant we really appreciated it Greg and Julie

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Greg and Julie, Thank you so much for your time in leaving us such a great review and kind comments based on your recent stay at our motel. We're so pleased you had a great time exploring the beautiful South Island and found the recommendations helpful. It was great to have you stay with us and hope to welcome... More 

Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed unit for 2 nights. The downstairs room was huge with one bed and 2 arm chairs in it. The downstairs bathroom is more of a powder room with a shower and toilet. Upstairs had a bed in the landing and a separate bedroom which was again huge. There was a full bathroom up here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I stayed for the night for some time out we live locally and can highly recommend the spa suite great value for money and was so good to relax in the huge spa bath everything worked well and was very clean will definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear ktgreen82, Thank you for your time in leaving us a wonderful review based on your recent stay at our motel. We very much appreciate your kind feedback regarding our our spa suite, we're so pleased that you were both able to relax and enjoy your night. We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I had a fantastic experience at this motel. The couple running the place were wonderful and would give their shirt off their back to help you out. The place was in great shape, and everything was tidy! Free Wifi was awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear happym0nkey, many thanks for your kind feedback. My wife and I take great pride in making our guests feel welcome and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, services and hospitality. We would love to have you stay again on your next visit to Christchurch. All the best. More 

claremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Great experience at this motel. Room was in gret shape, everything was clean and working, Staff was helpful with their suggestions. Candy at reception was good. Location convient to town, central Christchurch, and the Botanical garden.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Raymond G, it was great to have you stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you so much for the excellent score and feedback! Our team works hard to maintain the highest standard of quality and cleanliness so hearing positive feedback is very rewarding. It’s good to hear that you found... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We forgot to tell them about our late arrival, but they left our room ready and a note at the reception - it was good to arrive and have a place to rest. But the bed sheets were not clean and towels very old and with a bad appearance. Free wi-fi available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Christiane Z, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our handling of your unexpected late arrival and also our free WiFi. We do our very best to ensure every guest has a great experience while staying with us but are disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied. Please note that... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed a night recently to break our drive home. Our booking was mucked up but the owners did everything in their power to rectify this. The units were ok, a little dated and could do with a spruce up. The bathroom needed a good spring clean, little things like grey linen instead of white, dirty window frames and skirting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Love2create, thank you for booking with us and leaving a review of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and are pleased to receive your compliments concerning our hospitality, quality beds and central location. We have also noted the specific issues you have raised and have included these as part of our ingoing commitment to improving our product and... More 

Haderslev
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We came straight from Denmark after 40 hours of traveling. We were received with kindness and smiles and had a wonderful start in New Zealand with two days on Best Western in Christchurch. I like to use the same hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear 30moses, it was lovely to have you stay with us and thanks so much for the kind feedback. Glad to hear you would stay with us again and we do hope to see you in Christchurch again soon. Safe travels back to Denmark. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The rooms were very clean and tidy, though a little dated. The manageress was very friendly and helpful. In a good location around 10 mins drive from the airport and is on main bus routes so its easy to get into the CBD by bus. I walked into the CBD and it took me around 45 mins, with a flat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear john683, it was great to meet you and thanks for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us while working in Christchurch. Many business travellers find our hotel the ideal place to base themselves while on business in Christchurch. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

While the decor may be dated, the rooms are warm, clean, very quiet, wonderfully located and the beds extremely comfortable. Excellent professional, good humoured, helpful staff. Would definitely stay at again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question