We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton

280 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Being booked by the travel agent, I wasn't sure what to expect here; I haven't stayed at or even seen a Best Western for ages. It sounds like this one is independently owned and operated, not that that has anything to do with the experience, which was very pleasant. The reception was very friendly and hassle-free. They have a charge... More 

Helpful?
Thank johobu
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear johobu, Thank you so much for giving us full marks. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and our clean and tidy rooms, we're glad to hear that you also enjoyed our shower and it helped you to getting a good nights rest. We appreciate the fantastic... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a great Warm friendly welcome . The staff we extremely helpful the large room was extremely clean with great pressure in the shower. We liked the shower dome. We are looking forward to returning to stay on our next visit. Happy to recommend to others

Helpful?
Thank country_bunkin280
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear country_bunkin280, Thank you for taking the time out in leaving a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our friendly team who go out of their way to make our guest's feel welcomed and at home, it's wonderful to read that they had a positive impact. We... More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delightfully warm welcome that continued throughout the stay. They were exceptionally helpful. Very clean & comfortable room & OMG - the shower & plush bed alone could have made my trip. They arranged the absolute best all-day tour that picked me up at the hotel, and the city bus stops right in front of hotel. Wonderful visit. Highly recommended. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mysistahgirl
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Mysistahgirl, Wow! Thank you soo much for leaving a perfect review! We're soo happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff who strive to accomodate all guests requests, and we're glad that they contributed to making your stay enjoyable. Thank you also for mentioning our clean and comfortable... More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. It included a good kitchenette and pots and pans. At Best Western Clyde on Riccarton Motel is a great location with easy walk distance to supermarket and a variety of restaurants. A short drive or bus ride to the centre city Christchurch Biotanic Gardens and the Muesum.... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert_kay60
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear robert_kay60, Thank you for taking the time in leaving a fantastic review! We're so pleased to hear about your experiences, and delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and our clean and comfortable rooms, we're happy to know that you felt welcomed and treated like family. We... More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent staff, front desk give you loads of information, fast speed Internet in a extremely clean and well presented room. Spacious car park and in walking distance of Restaurants and Supermarket. Thoroughly recommend to others for the friendly personal experience I received.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Sam P, Thank you for taking the time in leaving a 5/5 review! We're excited to hear that you had fabulous stay at our motel, and that you particularly enjoyed our immaculate rooms and our convenient location. Many guests choose to return and stay with us regularly due to our quality, value and location. Thank you also for mentioning... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bed linen was so dirty, there were 3 yellow spots on the bed linen and very smelly. Feels like they didn't change the bed linen from the previous customers before we arrived. After sleeping one night, I feel very itch on my skin. Very bad experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lina G
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Lina G, Thank you for your time in leaving a review. We are however disappointed to learn that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. Concerning the quality of our linen, please be assured that our guest rooms are cleaned and serviced before every arrival and all of our linen is professionally cleaned to the highest standard. We... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, close to airport, uni, Riccarton Mall & Church Corner. But bed linen wasn't quite clean, a few yellow spots that looked like urine stain; got itchy skin after one night sleep. The toilet flush didn't work properly; have to press the button a few time to stop the water leaking. And it's a bit odd to have a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Eric Z, Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving a review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to all of Christchurch's main attractions. Many guests choose to return and stay with us regularly due to our value and location. However we are disappointed that you were not totally satisfied with... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The motel is located a short drive from the airport and a convenient 10 minute walk from the university and the Bush Inn shopping centre (restaurants). While it is located on a busy road, there was very little traffic noise in my room, which was located furthest from the road. I stayed in a spacious one bedroom apartment for three... More 

Helpful?
Thank quassia
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear quassia, Thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be located close to the airport and that it was conveniently close to the University. Thank you also for commenting on our one bedroom apartments, we're thrilled to hear that it was spacious and comfortable. Thank you once... More 

Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

I am a repeat customer and have been very happy at the hotel. The price is appropriate and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and have gone out of their way to accommodate special requests.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Reuven N
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Reuven N, Thank you very much for wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at our motel as a regular guest. We're happy that you find our rooms to be clean and comfortable, thank you also for commenting on our exceptional staff who will go out of their way to make our guest's stay rememberable. We... More 

New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Great Friendly Staff in prime location to shopping mall. only walking distance to many great places to eat. The room layout was excellent and mixed grill breakfast was fantastic will definitely stay there again when I get back to Christchurch

Helpful?
Thank wayne h
Clydemotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear wayne h, Thank you for your time in leaving us a perfect review on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you enjoyed our prime location to the mall and restaurants. We appreciate your comments toward our friendly staff and our clean and comfortable rooms. Thank you also for mentioning our delicious mixed grill breaky, we're happy you enjoyed it. Thank you once... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#72 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
2.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#64 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay