We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Christchurch hotels

Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Save Saved
You added Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square to your Saves list
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
89%
Ranked #31 of 138 hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
iamjeremy78
  • Overview
  • Reviews (362)
  • Photos (85)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    165
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
163
29
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for business travelers. Clean rooms, good wifi speed, fantastic room service quality. The Lamb Tenderloin was beautifully done. The complementary Nespresso capsules did help with the caffeine boost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Hi Jeremy, Many thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the Lamb and our little Executive Room extra, the Nespresso.. yummm.. I think you were on business, so I hope you will be back to see us again! Kind regards Carl and the Team at Novotel Christchurch. More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family stayed here right after it opened - Dec 31 through Jan 2 2013/2014 It is the first hotel to open in downtown Christchurch post earthquake and is brand new. It is directly across from the Cathedral in the city center. Christchurch is still devastated from the earthquake, but this hotel is a nice addition to kick-start business and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Hi Brownies! Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Christchurch and the Novotel Hotel. Yes, as commented, the city is in the stage of re-creation after the earthquake and we agree with you, The Novotel is a good kick start to that..we were one of the 1st three major hotels to re-open. Believe... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 week upon arriving in Christchurch whilst looking for permanent accommodation. Very attentive staff. Lovely new hotel. Looks out onto the devasted city after the earthquake. Paid extra for wifi and movies. Only complaint would be lack of shelf or storage in bathroom and sink in bedroom, not bathroom. Needs either 2 sinks, or just in bathroom. Felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Hi Gill, Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. Glad we were your home for a week and that you enjoyed our staff. The bathroom was designed exactly for the purpose you mention, to create space. Every so often we go thru a re-design and that's where your comments contribute valuably, so thank you. We hope you'll come in from... More

Auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very impressed with the hospitality we received by the friendly staff at Novatel Cathedral Square in Christchurch, on a recent visit to this beautiful city. We had a very comfortable stay in what is obviously a very strong structure. The hotel survived the recent earthquakes without internal damage, and has been extensively renovated to a very high standard.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Dear AucklandHayden, Thank you for taking time to share your views. You are absolutely right, the hotel has been strengthened to a very high standard after the earthquakes and is a very safe building. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you again for sharing your views and we look forward... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very comfortable, friendly staff, no problem with our check-in after midnight. Quiet, which is good considering how much construction is going on around the area. Comfortable beds which is always important. Only suggestion would be that the staff, while very friendly, seemed a little less than knowledgeable about where to eat etc. But that could be because everything is changing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Dear HappyTraveller530, Thank you for sharing your views. As you said, the city is in a rebuild state and it is a challenge for all of us to keep up with the changes. However, I will make sure that staff is more up to date with the surroundings. Moving forward we are looking at making changes to our internet offering,... More

Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was several hour stay only and yet unforgettable. The room was super clean, fresh, new and just had everything we need. The staff was friendly to children. Theu have free wifi at lobby area. Location is good. Within walking distance to several restaurants and several minutes driving to town centre. Would stay again at this hotel if we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Dear Lime82, I am very glad to hear that you stay was unforgettable! I will share your comments with our team, especially our housekeeping team as they work hard to make sure the rooms are squeaky clean. Thank you so much for your encouraging comments and we look forward to welcoming again on your next visit to Christchurch. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in after a short flight from Australia. Nice new hotel, however it's location is right in the middle of the reconstruction zone. Staff are friendly, room was great, it's new, comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok, but dinner was good. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Hi Yoshi, Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor! Yes, we are right in the middle of Christchurch and it will be a while until all that reconstruction will be over..but WOW! What a city once it's finished..come back and watch it in stages and share with us the once in a lfetime experience of seeing such an effort. We... More

Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in after midnight following over 30 hours travelling. We had a nice checkin and got a nice room on 10th floor with comfortable bed and nice view. Bathroom was a little strange in that the wash hand basin was outside the toilet and it doubles up as a sink for tea and coffee preparation. I would prefer that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Dear Shane, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you received a nice check-in and a comfortable room on 10th floor. Our bathroom design is a bit different compared to other hotels. We are now experimenting by moving the tea and coffee facilities to a different place in the room. Moving forward are... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently while attending a conference in Christchurch - was amazed that this hotel is right next to Cathedral square - a bit of a shock to see the ruined cathedral up close. The Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room was clean and modern. Large TV and big windows with pretty amazing views of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Hi Dezza Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm glad you enjoyed our trip to our rebuilding city.It can look a bit daunting at first, but our Concirge Andrew knows all the cool rerstauarants around the hotel and it is a safe as anywhere to walk. Yes, we know our bathrooms seem a little odd, we're trying to be innovative... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very enjoyable stay. Pleasant design and décor in the foyer, restaurant and bar. Upgraded to room on 13th floor looking out over the Cathedral. Found the bed and pillows a little firm for my taste. Front of house staff were friendly and obliging. Great position in the center of the city from which to explore the earthquake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Grant, You're the second one today to say they found our beds firm! There has been a real turn around recently hasn't there - Everyone now wants a topper pad! I guess we'll have to join the race. But seriously, thanks for your kind comments on our hotel, we hope we will see you back again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christchurch with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#17 Business Hotel in Christchurch #23 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch #25 Family Hotel in Christchurch #28 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (Re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned along side the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star Hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star Hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square and other travelers.
1 question
25 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer