We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ashley Hotel

3.0 of 5 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ashley Hotel
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
5
50
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night as we were traveeling through and this place was great. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and modern. The beds are so good-best ive ever slept on, would stay here again because of how much of a good sleep I got.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a little difficult to find and is in a strange location behind other buildings. It seemed virtually empty when we were there. Ten minute drive to town center. It was clean and comfortable. Free wifi. Plenty of parking. No elevator to second floor rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nacy1, Thank you for your review and for your positive comments relating to our clean and comfortable rooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Stayed one night as a stopover. Rooms were very clean and beds were really comfortable, really good value booked direct. Location was great right in the middle of Christchurch, lots of nearby restaurants and shopping. Would recommend for quick stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coulsdon, Chipstead, Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This is a motel in all but name! Given that our reservation was made by our travel agent several months in advance we were surprised to be given a room as far as geometrically possible from reception which we blame for the fact that the wifi was intermittent and weak. The good side was that in this location it meant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased with the positive comments regarding our location however we are disappointed in regards to housekeeping service and wireless internet service. We have spoken to our housekeeping team as this is not to our standard. We have also checked... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We spent one night at the Ashley Hotel at the end of our NZ tour. It was a bit of a let down. Rooms are motel style with access through a sliding door. They were clean and comfortable but nothing special. Location is OK - about 20 minutes to walk to Botanic Gardens. We had our farewell dinner at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuzyBSydney, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our clean and comfortable rooms. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night (first). The room was clean, comfortable and even had additional extras such as plates, microwave and toaster if needed. Price to stay was good. Walk into Christchurch is 40 minutes, drive is 5 minutes. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo_Casey10, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments relating to our clean and comfortable rooms and value. Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers. More 

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is more a Motel than a Hotel but none the less it is clean, comfortable , but has small rooms. We did find the bus garage and bus washer rather noisy first thing in the morning as they were just starting their day. The earthquake we experienced was unexpected and obviously beyond the hotels control. The staff were helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bazzalarkin, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your positive comments relating to our clean and comfortable rooms, location and friendly staff. We are sad to hear that we wont be your first choice and your next visit to Christchurch but however thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Was a little bit apprehensive about staying here with previous reviews, but i couldnt find any fault. The staff at reception were very pleasant, room nicely decorated, bathroom modern, bed very comfy, best thing was the great location. Good value for money and was everything I was after for a quick stopover. If in Christchurch again will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ashley Hotel during an APT coach tour of New Zealand. It is really not a hotel but a below average motel. The rooms are very small and crowded with two double beds. The bathroom is very small and claustrophobic. Some effort has been made to refurbish the motel rooms as the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations and will take on board your comments in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We do have other room types available with king beds for more room. As for the paintwork "hiding walls with gaps and limited strength" we do find... More 

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed only one night for business and glad it wasn't longer. Lovely young girl at reception who was very helpful, and nice, modern but very small room. Downhill from there! The bathroom was awful! Stained sink and shower silicone very moldy! If there were spare blankets I couldn't find them, and I wanted them. Main reason I chose here was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui T, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations and will work on ways to address your concerns raised. We are currently majority of the way through renovating our bathrooms to a much higher standard, unfortunately due to larger booking numbers there are a couple of rooms we have had to delay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay