We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Christchurch hotels

The Ashley Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
The Ashley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
48%
Ranked #87 of 138 Hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Jacqui T Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
4
46
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed only one night for business and glad it wasn't longer. Lovely young girl at reception who was very helpful, and nice, modern but very small room. Downhill from there! The bathroom was awful! Stained sink and shower silicone very moldy! If there were spare blankets I couldn't find them, and I wanted them. Main reason I chose here was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui T, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations and will work on ways to address your concerns raised. We are currently majority of the way through renovating our bathrooms to a much higher standard, unfortunately due to larger booking numbers there are a couple of rooms we have had to delay... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights before my bus trip back down to Queenstown. This Hotel was great! The beds were extremely comfortable, the showers and sinks and toilets were spotless and it wasn't too far from the bars or restaurants and town centre. There is also a very large car park area, which was great for our rented car. Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your time taken to post your feedback. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our fantastic location and clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to seeing you again shortly. More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel had all that I needed. I was in Christchurch for one night and this hotel catered very well for my needs. Located within walking distance of Riccarton Mall and public transport stops it was great. The room was clean and well maintained and very comfortable and light.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words relating to our great location and clean, comfortable rooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well located hotel within walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants and takeaway. Many activities can be accessed from here via local transport. The rooms were clean and well maintained although I was concerned about lack of privacy due to large door/window access to the room. Dinner and breakfast choices were limited and very basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments relating to our great location and clean rooms. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on next visit to Christchurch. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had one night on our arrival into NZ. The service and smile on arrival was excellent. Rooms for price were also excellent. Very comfortable bed and grassy shower. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on food quality. Would recommend as an overnighter or maybe a couple of nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular our friendly service, great value and comfortable beds. We are however a little confused in the way you refer to our shower as "grassy", we hope this is positive, but please do not hesitate to contact us if there was any issue. Once... More

Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our travel agent booked us in here on two separate occasions, once when joining the transalpine railway and another when we were flying out of Christchurch. Staff on both occasions couldn't have been better, especially Suzanne. To call The Ashley a hotel is slightly misleading, as the glass fronted rooms gives the distinct impression of being in the 'Red Light'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words relating to our levels of customer service and also your time taken to leave your comments. We immediately investigated your concern relating and have spoken to our staff in better ways in dealing with that type of situation. We apologize that this made you feel uncomfortable during and have taken... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights while I was down for a conference. It's clean and tidy, handy to the CBD and restaurants, but there was a boiler room or something next to my rom which made a bit of noise during the night. For a short stay, when you're out all day, this is just the sort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words regarding our clean and tidy rooms and convenient location. We are surprised with the noise coming from the boiler room and are currently looking into this to see if there is anything we can do to improve this.... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here on recommendation from partner hotels and did not disappoint. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location and friendly staff. Good value to for Christchurch would definitely recommend for an overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our clean and comfortable rooms, convenient location and friendly staff. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch. More

Albany, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here in April 2013 and found this property to be excellent. We only stayed for one night as we were hopping onto the TranzAlpine the next morning. The room I was in was good and comfortable and I loved receiving the welcome cupcake in our room it was a lovely touch. The breakfast the next morning was hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay with us. More

Noosa, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Ashley Hotel has seen better days but it's clean, comfortable and provides all the basics. Our stay was overnight so the floor-to-ceiling front windows were not an issue but as there are facing hotel wings 15 metres apart it would be an understandable privacy issue for long stays. Room features a large wall mounted TV, electric jug and plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and your comments go a long way in our strive to provide the best service for our guests. Thank you for your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and convenient location. The fridges are located under the desk in the rooms. Once again thank you for your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christchurch with
any amenities