We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppers Clearwater Resort

Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Clearwater Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    89
    46
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
121
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before booking, I saw lots of negative reviews. Actually, I thought there was valuable. It was low season and I booked two night here. If it was not in weekend, you can get good price. I got lake front room. It is kind of loft and have tub with lake view. Stunning!! I really recommend it. By the way, thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Ziluwang, Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort soon. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was absolutely beautiful. Enormous bed, gorgeous living area, huge windows, bright and peaceful, good bathroom. My stay was very brief - less than ten hours. Neither of the phones in my room worked, which means I didn't get a wake up call, and I couldn't get assistance when I needed it. This added considerable unnecessary stress. On the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and feedback. Please accept our apologies for your telephone not working during your stay. Thank you for also bringing this to our attention at the time of your checkout. Because of this we were able to address the problem immediately and resolve it. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our last pitstop of our holiday and it was the best accommodation we had stayed at in New Zealand. The villas that we were in were very modern and stylish, I loved the bathroom. And they gave us a humongous king size bed. They provided most of the necessities that we needed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a ten day stay due to a death in the family and would have cancelled this accommodation once we saw it if not for the ridiculous no refund cancellation policy. Our room was a fair distance from the reception area and there were way too many steps to negotiate with our heavy suitcases. The facilities inside were second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Tansta, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have discussed in detail and addressed the issues you have highlighted with our Reception, Housekeeping and Maintenance Teams as it was concerning that the information you have received was misleading. We have Maintenance staff on seven days per... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were really disappointed with our stay here. From the photos and prices, we expected something of a high standard - unfortunately the rooms are really tired and are in desperate need of a refurb. It’s a shame as the setting is lovely with the lake, it just needs a bit more attention to bring it back up to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Chloe, Thank you for your review and feedback. It is extremely disappointing to read of your experience and please accept our apologies for this. Noise is generally not a factor at our Resort with the majority of our guests being very considerate of others and also staying for a peaceful and relaxing time. Your comments have been noted... More 

wellington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently while driving from Dunedin to Picton as a last minute decision. We were very pleased with the standard of accommodation. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning in the sunny restuarant. All in all a most pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Bedoiun Family, Thank you for submitting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Terbbily disappointed. My husband and I got married around the road from here and stayed here the night of our wedding. Friends of ours found out where we were staying and redid the room. They were given keys to our room (no questions asked). My husband and I had to get up early the next morning to clean it all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Rachel, Thank you for submitting your review. Your experience is terribly disappointing and we do apologise for this. We did receive your e-mail via our website regarding this situation to which we have immediately replied with our apology. We are unsure as to why you did not receive this? In your reservation, we had detailed notes to advise... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

I stay here a lot. Nice and close to CHCH International ✈️. Beds are huge and the bath is a good size too. Usually stay in a Lakeview Suite which is perfect. Full kitchen set up, lounge etc. Really nice bathroom products too! I'll definitely be back 👌🏻

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Sam, Thank you for your review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager More 

Toowoomba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed in a delightful three bedroom apartment with everything you could ask for in it. The two main bedrooms featured king size beds and ensuites. A large dining room and lounge room with splendid views over the lakes and golf course. The Resort Dining Room has a great menu and the food was excellent. The Resort itself is on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Kayerob, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager Peppers Clearwater Resort More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We were extremely disappointed by our room, The furnishings were of good quality, but minimal - only one chair in our double room; very difficult to get to the wardrobe; exactly two cups (most hotels provide at least three or four, in a double room). We had a 'special' rate, and were very pleased - the rack rate would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and feedback. We value all feedback as this allows us to look at our operation and improve our services. We will take your comments into consideration so we can look into the alternative options. Again, thank you for your review. Kind Regards Aaron Winder Operations Manager Peppers... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#10 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#16 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#30 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#40 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay