We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Christchurch

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Offers & Announcements
BOOK HERE NOW
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Christchurch
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    426
    141
    42
    14
    1
See reviews for
59
359
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (624)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (212)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were extremely happy with the George overall. Having found ourselves at short notice without a place to stay for the night, we breathed a sigh of relief when there was space available. We opted for a junior suite. It was nice and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom floor was heated, a nice touch as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear pandgny Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly appreciated the comfort and amenities of our Junior Suite and the friendly and helpful service provided by our Front Office and Housekeeping teams. We are however concerned to hear... More 

Timaru
Level Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am utterly amazed with the rave reviews that The George, Christchurch garnered here. It is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and so, I would have expected seamless and stress free experience upon checking-in to checking-out. Please be mindful that as a hotel is being graded as 5 stars, my expectation would have increased considering that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear wiredfrog Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have held discussions internally relating to the issues you experienced and would like to respond to a few of these. Our recollection of events is that despite our... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's an upscale hotel located opposite the Hagkeypadk and is pretty close to the city centre. You can actually walk to the cathedral etc in under twenty minutes. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially Adrian who helped us get to the whale watching tour in kaikoura which by the way is not in Christchurch as we thought. It's a two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Guruprasad We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent visit with us, in particular our location and the friendly, helpful service provided by Adrian and Mark from our Front Office team. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George should your travels bring you our way again. Kind... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this charming boutique hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was by far the nicest room during my whole New Zealand stay. Wish I could have stayed at The George longer than one night!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gregg G We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and are delighted you found the room to be the nicest you stayed in during your New Zealand trip. We do hope we might welcome you back should your travels bring you to Christchurch in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post this... More 

Malta
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were incredibly nice, the hotel is beautiful along with its rooms but I can't help but complain about the food. It is definitely delicious, but not value for money. The first day I was there I got a very small portion of rice for 23 dollars, but I let it pass as it was in the light meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear FoodAddict2231 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for the positive comments you have made about the hotel's facilities and our team. We are very sorry however to hear that the food you experienced, although tasting great, did not meet your expectations in terms of portion size and presentation. The” 50 Caesar” is one of... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was recommended this hotel by friends in Christchurch. Greeted by warn receptionist and the room was good size with comfortable bed. Was pleasantly surprised by the teddy bed and chocolates when I returned back to the rooms in the evening. The restaurant Pescatore in the hotel is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Szewee1968 We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly the warm welcome you received and the comfort of your room and bed. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at The George. Very comfortable room with lovely touches of service including complimentary cup of tea on arrival, quality bathroom products and a teddy on the bed with the chocolates when it was turned down in the evening. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed a great view over the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Diane H Thank you for the positive comments you have made following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the view and the amenities offered in your room. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner & I stayed here for the night of my 21st birthday whilst on holidays in New Zealand. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful and our room was spacious & clean. The heated floors in the bathroom were an added luxury and my partner marvelled at the touchpad lighting. The bed was comfortable and the little teddy bear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Lauren C We are delighted you chose to celebrate your special birthday with us and to hear you that it was such a memorable stay. It is very pleasing to hear that you appreciated the features in your room, and had an enjoyable dining experience in 50 Bistro. Thank you for taking the time to post this review Kind... More 

N.S.W
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The George is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. Great staff, huge rooms, lovely bar and Restuarant. Heated floors in the bathroom is something I don't think you see on many sub $1000 p/n hotels. The extra little touches that The George offers makes it a must visit for a luxury stay in Christchurch. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear lukesmith We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us. It is indeed pleasing to hear how much you appreciated facilities in your room, our location and the service you received from all our team. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to The George... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed one night at the hotel, but slept well. The room was a nice size with a comfortable bed and sheets, quiet. Closed to the park, so we enjoyed a nice walk. Hotel restaurant - not very exiting but since we went out for lunch and where very tied after traveling for 32 hours, it was ok. Didn't tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jane P Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to receive your positive comments relating to our location and the comfort and quality of our beds. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels around the South Island. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#18 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#43 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#71 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#28 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay