We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Christchurch

5.0 of 5 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Christchurch
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    112
    39
    10
    0
See reviews for
48
306
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (534)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (174)
All months
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I enjoyed a 3-night stay at The George. It is a well-appointed facility with respectful staff and an excellent array of dining options - we sampled them all! Our room was very quiet and warm. The proximity to the beautiful park and botanical gardens were the main reason for our stay as we walked to and from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Could find no fault with our one night stay. Our arrival was met with a friendly concierge as was our departure. The room was fantastic and the service we received mirrored that. Would happily stay here again, hopefully for longer the next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear GStar1234, Thank you for your kind comments regarding our concierge, rooms and service. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The George in future. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at the george after 2 oclock and the rooms were not ready yet. The executive room was a let down for the price. The bathroom door didnt close properly, the bathroom tap hit the window and the bin was broken. The staff were friendly however but not a place i would be excited to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do regret that you were disappointed with your experience, this is certainly not how we want our guests to feel. I would like to apologise that your room wasn't ready for your arrival. We do certainly aim to have all our rooms ready by 2pm, and manage... More 

Welsh Borders, UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
91 hotel reviews
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The George, situated opposite a large park and on the edge of the shattered downtown area, looks quite ordinary as you arrive. But it is a classy hotel, with outstanding staff in all departments, well presented, quite large, rooms with free wifi and tea/coffee apparatus and good bathrooms. The lounge and bar area is lively without being loud. We met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Witshub, We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the ambiance, bistro, laundry and the service from our concierge. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the company of some of our other guests, it is always great to see our guests making new friends. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.... More 

Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I can make no bones about it, and pull no punches, this is the best hotel I have stayed at, and there have been a few. first the negatives , Christchurch the city has been through hell, and they seem to be still doing it a bit rough and the whole city almost is in recovery, bit it is coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Tartyone, We really appreciate your glowing review and are delighted that you enjoyed our location, rooms, service and bistro.We will share your comments with Paul who will be thrilled to see his efforts being acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George on a future visit. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here twice as part of a group on a NZ tour. Every aspect of what to expect in a hotel was excellent, especially so as groups are often treated as different (not in NZ but certainly in just about all other countries we have travelled to). We were certainly made to feel welcome and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Brian, We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are thrilled that you rank us as one of your best hotel experiences ever. It is reassuring to hear that our team welcomed you and the other members of your group as individuals and that you felt you received the same level of service as our other... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The George, as did all of Christchurch, exceeded our expectations. The rooms are elegant and the service is top-notch (Mark the concierge is the best!!). We were skeptical about including Christchurch in our month long visit to New Zealand, but are sure glad we did. The city is re-inventing itself and the George is the perfect base to explore the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jill, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We will pass on your kind comments to Mark and he will be thrilled that he was able to enhance your stay. We are pleased you also enjoyed our rooms and service levels. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendations. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a voucher that I had to use so made a special trip to Christchurch. Friendly checkin... our room wasn't ready just before 2pm (checkin is at 2) and we were invited to have a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited. I did like that when our room was ready the porter took our bags up to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear starrf1re, Thank you for kind comments regarding our service, staff, room facilities and breakfast. We are delighted you chose to return following your previous visit. Our staff certainly don't expect tips, as you say this is not the NZ way, but we are fortunate to have a team who delight in going the extra mile for our guests, anticipating... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service, Rooms, and location were all reasons why this was the best place we stayed in New Zealand! It was our last stop in New Zealand on our honeymoon, and they mad us feel like we were a King and Queen. We had amazing two room suit with a great view of the park. The room itself was incredible stylish,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Adam, We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly the Park Suite, the service from our team, the lunch in our 50 Bistro, and our location. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we would be very happy to welcome you back to The George should your travels bring you our way... More 

Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were delighted with this lovely hotel in Christchurch near but not in the city center. We attended a conference and stayed overnight in this unpretentious but luxurious hotel. The room was exceptional. It was modern with simple lines, but had luxury all over it. It was spacious, phenomenally well-appointed, heated floors & towel rack in the bathroom, They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear WatermarkEL, Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location, room facilities and the service from our team. You have summed up brilliantly the "vibe" we are going for - unpretentious but luxurious". We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to welcome you back to The George should business or leisure bring you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay