We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

The George Christchurch

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
Ranked #4 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Gary H Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    93
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
36
252
22
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our one and only night stay in Christchurch on our tour of the South Island en route for Franz Josef via Graymouth tomorrow which we reach by train via Arthur's Pass. The George is a pretty modern hotel set close to the Botanic Gardens and within walking distance of the still devastated city centre. More on this in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gary H Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted to hear that our team were able to have your rooms ready earlier for you and that you were well looked after during your stay. We take on board your comments regarding the bathroom in your room but are pleased that overall you enjoyed... More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The George was a great place to stay for our visit to Christchurch. It's central location makes it easy to walk around the city and the only transportation we needed was one cab from the train station to the hotel and one cab from the hotel to the car rental place when we were moving on. The concierge and lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Katie G We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our location, Wi-Fi, room and restaurant facilities. It is also pleasing to receive your positive comments on the service you received from our front office team, particularly in the unfortunate circumstances of being disturbed in the middle of the night by the fire alarm.... More

Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstandingly warm and friendly service from the reception and concierge staff. The room we were given was on the ground floor at the rear. These have a poor outlook onto scrubby grounds. The bathroom in our room had a wet room shower floor. Whilst this gives lots of space to shower in the major disadvantage is that water reaches across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Aitku We appreciate your positive comments on the service you received from our front office team, your breakfast and our location. We are sorry however to hear that the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations. The feedback request you mention is our online survey and unfortunately the survey only stays live for about 10 days. We... More

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In February 2014 we toured North and South Islands of New Zealand. We asked our travel agent to find a top quality hotel for our final days in NZ before returning to the UK. The George Hotel fit the bill exactly! Our room was very modern and extremely comfortable. We had enjoyed warm welcomes throughout our holiday and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Lowcross8 Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your kind comments. We are delighted you found your room comfortable and that our team welcomed you so warmly. It is also very pleasing to hear you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in our restaurant. We hope we may have another opportunity to welcome you back... More

Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great room, great service, great meal - great in every way, but you have to pay a lot for it. Set amongst the ruins of Christchurch, the hotel was untouched and splendid in its survival. Lovely afternoon and evening at the hotel and in the city, triumphed by a splendid meal. A wonderful place to finish a three week holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Michaelbristol Thank you for your praise of our rooms and the service you received during your stay. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and dinner with us and that you chose to end your vacation in Christchurch. We hope we may be able to welcome you back to The George if your travels bring you... More

Oak Park, IL, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked one night at the George in a package that included a 5 course tasting menu at Pescatore, a great room, and breakfast the next day. The dinner was fabulous. We added the wine pairings and tasted the best wines of our trip. The server was wonderful. Located across from the main park, we were able to walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Sarah W Thank you for your positive feedback on our friendly staff, room facilities and location. We are delighted that you took advantage of the accommodation and dinner package we have available and that you enjoyed such a memorable dinner in our signature restaurant, Pescatore. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce... More

Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I sit here in the lobby, departing Christchurch, I want to be sure to write this positive review of The George. The service here is beyond fantastic! The rooms are extremely comfortable and extremely well thought out. After traveling for three weeks and staying in lots of hotels, this one was the perfect ahhhhhhhh way to end our trip.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear in2details Thank you for your positive feedback on the comfort of our rooms, Wi-Fi, television channels and service you received from our team. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our offer of a complimentary drink after you had settled in to your room and that you took George Bear on your... More

Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic stay with the quickest check-in we have ever come across which was such a relief after a long flight. Also the Turndown service ladies were so nice & polite. Only downside was we couldn't get a table at the Bistro which was a shame but the room service was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Edwerido Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the service you received from both our front of house and Housekeeping teams. We are so pleased that after your long flight we were able to check you into your room so promptly. We do apologise that you were unable to secure a table in our restaurant but are pleased that... More

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was recently treated to two nights at The George for a birthday surprise, What a beautiful place! the staff are outstanding, the rooms are lovely, The breakfast in the mornings is just wonderful, the high light for me was dinning at Pescatore for my birthday......... I really cant even put into words how brilliant this restaurant is , each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Ange B Dear Ange B We are very glad you enjoyed your “surprise” stay with us along with our facilities and staff. We were pleased to be such a wonderful birthday treat for you. Thank you for your kind comments regarding both your breakfast and your special birthday dinner in Pescatore. Samantha will be thrilled to see this review... More

Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the George for 2 nights to bookend our self-drive holiday to New Zealand and would recommend it to anyone visiting Christchurch. It was far and away the best accommodation we stayed at during our trip. From the minute we arrived on the first day the service was exceptional. Our flight into Christchurch arrived at 5:00am and although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear giyomymo Thank you for your extremely positive feedback and praise of our facilities and staff. We are delighted we were able to offer you a room to freshen up in before your check-in time and that you appreciated the upgrade we extended to you on your first stay. We are also very pleased you enjoyed both your breakfasts and... More

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Christchurch Hotel
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.