We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Christchurch

Travelers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Special Offer
BOOK HERE NOW
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    436
    144
    44
    14
    1
See reviews for
62
363
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (639)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (212)
All months
New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent all day at The George as the Conference venue from 8.30am to 5.30pm. Great facilities all self contained. We used one large room that had the ability to be divided into two smaller rooms. Seating arrangements, table clothes, all the accessories that complimented the tables. The bathrooms were clean and fresh with cloth hand towels and or paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room and ensuite were spacious. The bed was one of the most comfortable amongst many 5 star hotels, more like a quality home bed in good shape without feeling like the bed has been used a lot. As Christchurch is still going through reconstructions, The George is a great option for the choices available. Great facilities in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two night stay recently .Well located hotel .Reception staff excellent and room very adequate clean , well arranged with very good bathroom Free parking and internet Dining room disappointing and service variable .Breakfast not worth staying in hotel for.Evening dinner good but expensive We enjoyed our stay - staff were exceptional , and we would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear newmarket18 Thank for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, the hotel’s facilities and particularly the service you received from all our staff. It is also nice to know you appreciated our environmental practices. We are however sorry to hear that your dining experiences, apart from dinner, did not meet... More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The George Christchurch is a small personal hotel. It offers upscale service, amenities, decor and atmosphere. Clean contemporary design with warmth. The room was very nicely done done in a neutral palette. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Karen L We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular the helpful and friendly service you received, our location, rooms and amenities, and the atmosphere of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

masterton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In Christchurch for weekend and took good friend out for dinner at The George,50 Bistro Warm and inviting reception and food was superb We had the pork belly,Angus sirloin and tiger prawns and they tasted as good as they looked Recommend the deserts- Bombe Alaska a must and the chocolate fondant Service and food great

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear zzdr Thank you for the positive comments you have made following your recent visit. We are delighted to hear you and your friend enjoyed your experience in 50 Bistro and that the food and service you received made such an impression. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overrated! Believe in value for money - not what you get at The George! Reception weren't overly helpful. Room was adequate, bathroom could use a renovation (poor shower head, curtains were nasty) and a thorough clean. Strongly recommend you pass on the breakfast. Basically, there are better options out there! Won't be staying again, at any price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Luke R We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations and that you experienced a number of issues in the room you were allocated. We will certainly take all your comments on board and address those areas that require immediate attention. Thank you for taking the time to post your... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second time at the George & we weren't disappointed. Efficient friendly check in. Very bright & comfortable room with good bathroom. Housekeeping do a great job & our room & bathroom were always neat & tidy. Continental breakfast was disappointing, but the Pescatory restaurant was amazing. Excellent staff & amazing & tasty food. Pricey, but worth it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Vernon J We are delighted you chose to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for the positive comments you have made on your check-in, the comfort and cleanliness of your room, the service you received from all our team and the meal you enjoyed in Pescatore. We are however sorry to hear of your disappointment relating... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I were traveling through New Zealand and stayed at The George during our time in Christchurch. We were a little surprised, though not disappointed, when we drove up to The George. It felt like you were in the middle of the suburbs vs. a big city. Parking at the hotel was very easy. Upon entering we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Byugal Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to receive your positive comments relating to our location, the ease of your check-in and our rooms. We are however very sorry to hear that your in room dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments on board and will certainly... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was amazing how quiet the centre of Christchurch was and a little sad but you could see things sprouting again after the Earthquake The hotel was great the rooms are clean and well set out the staff are excellent and we pretty much propped the bar up until we went out to eat. There is a restaurant next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Doessound Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your room, our Bar and the service you received from our team. Our city centre will certainly be a different and unique place once the rebuild is complete and it is good you have noticed how things are moving along. This... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our first time in NZ. We set our agent high expectations and he well and truly delivered with our first accommodation at The George in Christchurch. From the receptionist to the concierge to the 'turn down' to the bar staff - wow, we have never had such an amazing experience of so many good staff in the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Michael K We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your glowing review of our facilities. It is wonderful that the friendly, helpful and professional service you received from all our team left such an impression on you and we thank you for your recommendation to other travellers. Thank you for taking the time to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#16 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#42 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#34 of 143 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#73 of 143 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay