We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Christchurch hotels

The George Christchurch

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend escape
Save Saved
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
91%
Ranked #3 of 138 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Cherryl C Hamilton, New Zealand
  • Reviews (492)
  • Photos (134)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (92)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    102
    35
    8
    0
See reviews for
42
279
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband organised the Christchurch leg of our work/holiday so when we pulled up to the George I started with "did you check this on trip advisor before booking" as the outside is not what I would call 'inspiring'. Also for $500 a night I was expecting more from the exterior. THE ROOM :- Once inside it got a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Cherryl, We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, rooms and all the extra touches we provide. Hopefully you're still trusting your husband with at least some of your travel arrangements as a result. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George for future visits. Kind regards,... More

San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved our recent visit to Christchurch, and spent a couple of gorgeous, sunny days walking the city, taking in the recovering infrastructure and all the British charm of the gardens, river, museums and cafes. Our appreciation of this resilient and hopeful city was enhanced by the gracious hospitality at The George, where they always seemed delighted to help and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the location, rooms, amenities, food and service from our team. I will ensure all the team members you have mentioned get to read your comments and I know they will be very appreciative to see their efforts acknowledged. Thank you again for taking the time to post... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
173 hotel reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We used to live in Christchurch and were aware the the great reputation that the hotel has. This was our first time staying there and we loved every minute of our stay. From the moment we checked in until we left we felt very welcome. Our room was stunning, very spacious, comfortable and quiet. As I was not well we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear bevchris, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy that we were able to deliver a great hotel experience for you on your return visit to Christchurch. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms and food. Hopefully you are feeling better now and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George on... More

Altrincham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is absolutely charming. Great staff, great atmosphere, lovely spacious rooms with all mod cons, and a lovely restaurant with a fabulous menu. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk away from the cathedral and on the Penguin bus route to the Arctic Centre. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The George in Christchurch and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie, We are thrilled you enjoyed the atmosphere, rooms, restaurant, location and our staff and we are delighted you enjoyed your overall visit. It is great to know that George Bear is being well looked after. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to welcome you back to The George one day. Kind... More

penrith
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first pulled up to the George I was a bit disappointed. In my mind I had imagined a kind of British aristocratic hotel, while this was a more modern american looking hotel. However I wasnt disappointed for long! This is a wonderful hotel, its not a knock you over with luxury type place, but everything is just right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Tricia, I am glad that we were able to quickly offset your initial disappointment. Yes our exterior is kind of understated and certainly not a grandiose manor house. However you quickly identified that our focus is on delivering a quality guest experience with friendly, attentive staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for sharing some examples... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband had organised a night at The George. We have dined there several times but never stayed(its our home town). We now have first hand experience as to why this hotel is so highly regarded. The Park suite was amazing and although the sun was out on a cool winters day, we could not resist putting the gas fire on.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Micsgirl, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and in particular the room, food and service. We have passed your comments on to Jenna along who was thrilled to see her service acknowledged. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your kind recommendation to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the friendliest hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. Lovely food and in a great location for walking into the city and surrounding parks and gardens. The teddy bear as a parting gift was a sweet touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Junevelyn, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our team, our food and location. We are very pleased you enjoyed our gift of George Bear. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Little competition unfortunately.any hotel with a shower curtain cannot be highly rated.Our food order at the bar was lost and had to be served in our room.Their signature restaurant ,highly recommended not open Sun/Mon.Why would any hotel give you a Teddy Bear?Put your effort into service and accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Russell, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Yes, one of our two restaurants is closed on the two quietest days of the week and we do try to make this clear on our website and all booking confirmations where... More

Penrith, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For my partner and I, this was our last stop before heading home and deciding to use the last of our holiday money in The George's Park Suite, was the best decision. the facilities were first class the layout was perfect the view was picturesque and relaxing. the staff service and complimentary "George" bear made our stay complete. Standout was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Mitchell, Thank you for your kind comments on our facilities, view, service and George Bear. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to cap your holiday off on a high note. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to welcome you back to The George should... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The George hotel in an executive room. It was lovely for a nights getaway from the kids. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was beautiful - nice big bed, and good bathroom. A great location for a stroll through the gardens. The breakfast was delicious, and it was wonderful to eat dinner at Pescatore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, We are delighted you enjoyed the room, location, food and service and that we were able to provide a lovely haven for your night away. Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The George next time you need another night away. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Christchurch with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch #2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch #2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch #7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer