We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

Heritage Christchurch

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heritage Christchurch to your Saves list
Heritage Christchurch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
83%
Ranked #29 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SLPY Brooklyn, New York
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
123
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed the Heritage. An amazing building with true historic significance. Located directly in th center of Christchurch, it is ideal for whatever type of trip you are on. The duplex rooms are well equipped and extremely comfortable. The staff was exceptional an helped in ny way they could. My only grip is that the street noise was unbearable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear SLPY, Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Suite during your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch. We do find that the large apartment style Suites, with all of the facilities that we offer, are very popular. Thank you for your positive comments about our team and... More

Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good accommodation, lovely sitting area and great mezzanine bed and bathroom. Location fine for us but maybe not so good for business these days. A beautiful heritage building quiet and rooms are suites. Had a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear pamelao Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the Suite style accommodation that our hotel offers. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch. Kindest Regards Marcus. More

San Jose, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off, this hotel is in a really grand old building with high ceilings, stained glass, and an amazing staircase. It survived the earthquakes when the buildings around it didn’t. Unfortunately a lot of places around it are still closed, but it’s still a good base for exploring downtown Christchurch. Each apartment was originally just a room with a high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear travelerfromsj Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch. We do find that the large apartment style Suites receive a lot of positive feedback, especially with the high ceilings, cooking facilities, mezzanine bedrooms and having a washer/dryer available in every Suite.... More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a restored old building, which is really grand and beautiful. The room was beautifully furnished and really comfortable. Staff was helpful and attentive. Location is great, too. It surely didn't disappoint. Perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear val m Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay earlier in March. It is always pleasing to read positive feedback about the hotel and our team. Kindest Regards Marcus. More

Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here after campervanning around New Zealand for 3 weeks and what a beautiful way to round off a brilliant holiday !we walked up the steps of this gorgeous old building and were overwhelmed by the beauty of it as soon as we entered! To make it even better we were upgraded to a suite as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear JacquiO32 Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is really pleasing to read that you found staying at Heritage Christchurch to be a brilliant way end to your holiday in New Zealand. We are glad that you enjoyed your Suite, they are very comfortable and do allow you an opportunity to unwind and... More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the pros: beautifully restored building. Absolutely magnificent. Nice toiletries. Very spacious. Cons: No restaurant, no bar, a half stocked "vending machine" in the health club offered as an alternative. Us this a $400 a night hostel?????Beautiful decor in the rooms in keeping with the feel of the hotel just spectacular, but very dated in terms of the cabinet ware,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jeneye11111111111, Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read your feedback in relation to your stay at Heritage Christchurch during February. I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the way in which we have restored the building itself and I’m pleased that you enjoyed the room... More

Edinburgh
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visiting Christchurch is a humbling experience. Since moving to New Zealand we've visited twice and in the most recent visit we've seen really big progress. But there's a long way to go. I assume that the heritage was damaged in the earthquake but you can't really notice it. It's an old Victorian style government building that you rarely see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear CarlEdinburgh Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. The Hotel is situated in a beautiful building as you've noted, the hotel wasn't really damaged, other than cornicing popping and cracking to gib walls in some Suites. These areas were repaired once we were allowed access to the hotel, in mid 2013; it’s a testament to the great work and... More

Luxembourg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

When we arrived in Christchurch we understood why it had been difficult to find a hotel room. Many of the bigger hotels in the city centre were still cordoned off. We were then surprised that this old landmark building was still standing, but we learned it had previously been renovated to earth quake standards and recently converted into a hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Luxotraveller Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor, subsequent to your stay in December. It is pleasing to read positive feedback about the hotel and our team. Kindest Regards Marcus. More

Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful building with high ceilings and grandiose features. The suites are very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The bedroom is on a mezzanine. The staff is very professional and helpful. We're very impressed by their customer service and willingness to solve issues. The hotel location is in the most devastated area of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Laetiha Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. It is always pleasing to read positive comments about both the hotel and our team. We do have a strong focus on ensuring that all of our guests are comfortable, and solving any issues that arise is critical to this focus; I’m sorry... More

Chongqing, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First, if you don't have to go to downtown Christchurch, don't. The city is struggling to rebuild itself after 2011 earthquakes, and they have a long way to go. The Heritage hotel has huge loft-style long-term stay suites, with new decor and nice big beds. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the hotel has no food or bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear PeterS Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate receiving ideas and suggestions from our guests about how we can improve our services and overall guest experience. I will look at your suggestion around offering more convenience items. It would be great if you could contact me directly (marcusk@heritagehotels.co.nz) to advise the... More

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch Hotel
Christchurch Heritage Hotel
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Old Government Building with Old World charm and all Suite accommodation. Located centrally in Cathedral Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.