We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Christchurch

4.5 of 5 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Heritage Christchurch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Christchurch
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    91
    51
    7
    6
See reviews for
60
147
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked my fiancé and I into here for our last night in New Zealand after a very memorable 20 days travelling around both islands in a "Spaceship" camper van. We took a 1 bed suite/apartment and it was possibly one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Everything was catered for and Vic on reception was extremely helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in February. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us after a very memorable 20 days travelling around New Zealand and that you found your one bedroom suite one of the nicest you've stayed in. We do find that the large apartment style... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were unable to stay at the hotel due to cost but we thoroughly enjoyed our return breakfast. Tui was an excellent waitress who always took the time to check in and make sure we were all happy with our meals. Her customer service was excellent and we will continue to return for a great breakfast and excellent service. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear 36annej, Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you did not stay with us whilst in Christchurch. It was pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at Maddison’s - Heritage Christchurch. Thank you for your positive note highlighting Tui at the restaurant. Tui is indeed a valued member of our team;... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this beautiful hotel. It used to be one of the old Government buildings and they remodeled it into a hotel. The rooms are very spacious, excellent amenities and super comfortable beds. It was so nice and quiet we got very good sleep! The breakfast which was included at their restaurant downstairs was excellent. The receptionist and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Shar60750, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in January 2015. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly our spacious rooms with excellent amenities and super comfortable beds; furthermore it was great to know you had a very good sleep! We are also pleased to know that you found our staff to... More 

Country Victoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sure once Christchurch is rebuilt this accommodation will be out of our budget. The building is the old Government Cleric Building Offices and is located directly across from the damaged cathedral. It is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We caught a shuttle from the airport which cost $29 for two people and took about 30 mins. Because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Pennie00, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in October 2014. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room was huge with a comfy bed. We do find that the large apartment style Suites, with all of the facilities that we offer, are very popular for its large and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok visited Christchurch because marketing said that the city has now came back from the earthquake etc. city is a boom site. Sorry Christchurch residents. Hotel is great and room is very nice although no air con for a hot day is not ideal. Front desk was great, there is only one person and she went out of her way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Anothertraveller238, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in January 2015. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room was very nice. The Heritage Christchurch is a true testament to its builders. The Old Government Building is registered as a Category One Building on the Historic Places Trust register... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel to begin and end our Campervan holiday of the South Island and it was just beautiful. Gorgeous light rooms, spacious for a family of four (we stayed in a two bedroom suite), self contained, tastefully decorated and two bathrooms and a washing machine and dryer in the main bathroom. What's more the linen and lighting is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Petah-Jane, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in January 2015. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the start and end of your Camper-van holiday whilst staying with us. We are pleased to rad that you found our suites gorgeous, spacious, self-contained and tastefully decorated.Furthermore we are pleased to know you found our... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Recently stayed here for three nights (one at the start of our holiday and two at the end). This is a lovely old Government building, with high ceilings, which felt very sturdy, and had clearly survived the devastating recent earthquakes. The suite we stayed in was spacious, with a mezzanine bedroom, clean and modern bathroom, very comfortable beds and both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Maxfield, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in January 2015. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed both of your stays with us in the lovely Old Government Building. The Heritage Christchurch is a true testament to its builders. The Old Government Building is registered as a Category One Building on the Historic... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

This hotel is a beautifully renovated historic government building, with charming fittings and fixtures, in a great location of the city. The rooms are spacious and tastefully modern and well-appointed. Unfortunately, some of the services are not up to par - for example, the restaurant is only open for Breakfast, so consequentially the hotel offers a take-out Japanese menu in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Julian W, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in January. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel has been beautifully renovated, with charming fittings and fixtures, spacious and tastefully modern and well appointed, as well as in a great location of the city. We have acknowledged your preference for... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My husband and I stayed in a suite at the Heritage Christchurch - They only have the building with suites left, after the 2011 earthquake - but I must say - There is a different charm to staying there. The duplex-model suite we stayed in had all the modern facilities, and also gave the feel of staying in one's ancestral... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear MahimaS, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in December 2014. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel has a different charm and that you were able to feel in one’s ancestral home in one of our well-lit and quiet suites. We do find that the large apartment... More 

Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We stayed for a few nights in the Heritage during our NZ - AUS trip. Hotel was one of the few still upright buildings in the city. It was ruthless to watch out from the room windows to see abandoned buildings, curtains blowing solemnly in the wind from broken windows even now, three years after the Quake. Hotel itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Timppis, Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in December 2014 It is a pleasure to read that you were very happy with your time in the hotel and would easily recommend it to anyone. Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback on your experience. We look forward to welcome you back in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay