We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Christchurch hotels

Pavilions Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Room Upgrade
Save Saved
You added Pavilions Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilions Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #50 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ariwijayanto27 Yogyakarta, Indonesia
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    38
    22
    13
See reviews for
39
72
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to this hotel for business purpose last year. The staff were friendly and responsive to our requests. We did a group checked in 7-8 people and they handled our luggage quickly and none of our luggage was swapped. The room was clean and comfortable enough for two people. However, the heater did not work very well. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taranaki NZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had one night while passing thru, room was ok, but of a pain lugging suitcases up external stairs in the wet, car parking was tight glad our rental car was small. Didn't have a very good sleep, bed linen wasn't that great and kept slipping off all night. The room had a heater wired into the wall but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have been out of our house for EQC repairs for six weeks. The management and staff at the Pavilions were absolutely fantastic. the cleaners, reception and restaurant staff were very friendly. It was a stressful time for us with shifting and getting repairs done but we felt fantastic with the service we got at Pavilions. I would recommend them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Many of the people of Christchurch have enjoyed staying with us during the EQC period and have found it to be their home away from home as you say. I am really glad you enjoyed our staff and cleanliness of the property. I hope you are happy to be back... More

Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very impressed, stayed on Business and will stay again, next time for pleasure, beautiful warm comfortable rooms and spa bath was fantastic, Awesome food and all staff were very helpful and Friendly, Thanks for a lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you were so impressed with your stay and noticed our staff, fantastic food and our friendliness - as a team we strive to impress and have our clients walk away feeling just as you have. Thank you for your feedback and I am sure we will see you again soon. More

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Pavilions Hotel has become our chosen accommodation venue in Christchurch. The accommodation is brilliant, the food at their restaurant is very good and the service outstanding. Thank you, we will certainly be using your Hotel on a regular basis for all of our business travel in Christchurch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased to be your chosen accommodation venue in Christchurch. We do have a large corporate clientele and strive to meet the needs of the traveller that is often away from home. Its also fantastic you have noticed our outstanding service and amazing food. We will see you and your colleagues again on your next stay. Thank you. More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed with the staff - both reception and restaurant - and the standard of service. Room was adequate and clean - all we needed for a one night stay on our way back to Australia after a NZ holiday. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to see you were impressed with our staff, they make every effort for all customers to enjoy their experience with us. Love to see you back again to stay with us whenever you get the chance. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Always enjoy staying here. With the Horncastle family and the fantastic team they have there it is very much like visiting family. The rooms have been made even more comfortable with new TV's, Heaters, Beds and other accessories. The staff there are always helpful and the bar and restaurant team always happy to engage in a chat if you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor. Its great that you recognise just what we are trying to achieve with our customers - a warm family environment, so you feel like you are visiting home. Its also pleasing to see you notice the little things in the rooms, the staff attitude and of course our fantastic food. We... More

Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Pavilions Hotel Christchurch is our preferred hotel to stay at, when we visit Christchurch, usually twice a year. We have stayed a total of 4 times now, and looking forward to returning back there in a couple of weeks time. The staff are warm and friendly, eager to help to ensure our stay is always one to remember. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post comment. Many of our guests are returning guests and we like to take the time to make sure we are there to help each guests individual needs. Our food sure is fantastic and our rooms do vary greatly catering for one and up to six people. We do look forward... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Actually thought the rooms were tired and dated, especially the bathroom. Food was mediocre. Woman on reception not that friendly. I wouldn't want to stay here again. Guess the group of drunk sports mates didn't help either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your room, perhaps if you did choose to stay again you may wish to book a Superior or Executive room which would suit you better - these rooms are larger, Executive rooms have spa baths and also kitchenettes. You must of chosen a rare night as drunken sports teams... More

Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having stayed in several motels & hotels in Christchurch Pavillions is my accommodation of choice. It is conveniently located in very pleasant surroundings with a restaurant that provides excellent food at reasonable prices. Being family owned and managed it has a great atmosphere and the friendly staff go out of their way to assist. I have always found them all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recognising our family owned and managed hotel - it is a point of difference as we are extremely passionate about our property, guests and staff. I am glad you also enjoy our food as we do strive for excellence in the kitchen and our chefs produce fantastic meals. We look forward to welcoming you back again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pavilions Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#26 Business Hotel in Christchurch #37 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer